• Your Trusted Usenet Provider
  • Secure, Private, Unlimited

Newsgroups Main » Newsgroups Directory » Computers - Non-OS » Databases

Sybase ( comp.databases.sybase )
 
From allen@geac.com Thu May 28 16:48:34 1992
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:2385 news.groups:51827 comp.databases:17449
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,comp.databases
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: allen@geac.com (Allen Septon)
Subject: RFD:  comp.databases.sybase
Message-ID: <1992May28.142302.11442@uunet.uu.net>
Followup-To: news.groups
Sender: tale@uunet.uu.net (David C Lawrence)
Organization: Geac Computer Corporation
Date: Thu, 28 May 1992 14:23:02 GMT
Approved: tale@uunet.uu.net
Lines: 33

To the users of usenet:

I have corresponded with several people via email about the creation
of a newsgroup called comp.databases.sybase.

SYBASE is a very popular and extremely powerful DBMS with a constantly
growing base of users.

There is functionality which is unique to SYBASE. There are
several issues which users would like to discuss which are specific to
SYBASE. SYBASE should have its own forum to discuss these issues just as INGRES
and ORACLE users have their own forum to discuss their issues.
This would be far superior to having to search through comp.databases
for any "net" traffic pertinent to SYBASE.

I am therefore submitting a request for discussion on the creation of a new
newsgroup called comp.databases.sybase.

The newsgroup should be unmoderated. It should be a fully open forum on
SYBASE issues.

The discussion on this proposal will take place in news.groups.

Please see the pertinent postings in news.answers and news.announce.newgroups 
for the rules that will be followed in creating a newsgroup.

If for any reason you can not get the posting of rules I can email them to you.
Thanks,

Allen
-- 
Allen Septon     allen@geac.com     416-475-7733
Geac Computer Corporation           Markham, Ontario

From allen@geac.com Tue Jul  7 14:29:18 1992
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:2499 news.groups:53812 comp.databases:18111
Path: uunet!uunet!bounce-back
From: allen@geac.com (Allen Septon)
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,comp.databases
Subject: CFV: comp.databases.sybase
Followup-To: poster
Date: 2 Jul 1992 14:31:24 -0400
Organization: Geac Computer Corporation
Lines: 39
Sender: tale@news.UU.NET (David C Lawrence)
Approved: tale@uunet.uu.net
Message-ID: <12vi1sINNorl@news.UU.NET>
NNTP-Posting-Host: news.uu.net

There has been an overwhelmingly positive response during the 
discussion period for the creation of comp.databases.sybase.

Therefore, I am calling for a vote.

Name:
	comp.databases.sybase

Status:
	unmoderated

Charter:

	An open forum to discuss topics relating to SQL Server. 
	Subscribers can discuss both the SYBASE and MICROSOFT
	implemenations of SQL Server. These topics will include issues 
	and technical questions are pertinent to the realm of SQL Server.

Please follow the following procedure for voting:

To cast a YES vote send email to yes@geac.com 

To cast a NO vote send email to no@geac.com 

DO NOT POST YOUR VOTE. IT WILL NOT BE COUNTED !!!
DO NOT SEND YOUR VOTE DIRECTLY TO ME !!!
DUPLICATE VOTES WILL BE DISCOUNTED !!!

The voting period will be from July 2 - August 1.

All votes will be acknowledged via email.

At the end of the voting period the vote tallies will be posted to
news.announce.newgroups.

Thanks,
-- 
Allen Septon     allen@geac.com     416-475-7733
Geac Computer Corporation           Markham, Ontario

From allen@geac.com Fri Aug  7 20:55:25 1992
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:2603 news.groups:55139 comp.databases:18616
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,comp.databases
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: allen@geac.com (Allen Septon)
Subject: RESULT: comp.databases.sybase passes 202: 13
Message-ID: <1992Aug7.233301.5606@uunet.uu.net>
Followup-To: news.groups
Sender: tale@uunet.uu.net (David C Lawrence)
Organization: Geac Computer Corporation
Date: Fri, 7 Aug 1992 23:33:01 GMT
Approved: tale@uunet.uu.net
Lines: 246

The vote for comp.databases.sybase was

202 YES
13  NO

Name:
	comp.databases.sybase

Status:
	unmoderated

Charter:

	An open forum to discuss topics relating to SQL Server. 
	Subscribers can discuss both the SYBASE and MICROSOFT
	implemenations of SQL Server. These topics will include issues 
	and technical questions are pertinent to the realm of SQL Server.

YES VOTES
----------

spe@cbqss1.att.com
rick@CRICK.SSCTR.BCM.TMC.EDU (Richard H. Miller)
tmhoff@oogoody.Corp.Sun.COM (Todd Hoff)
"John E. Babbitt Jr." <cutler!john@CS.ORST.EDU>
francis@monod.biol.mcgill.ca (Francis Ouellette)
Mark Bixby <markb@spock.dis.cccd.edu>
Manabu Shimohira <mana-s@ascii.co.jp>
bobc@applelink.apple.com (Bob Campbell)
bob@ipac.caltech.edu
prastogi@netcom.com (Parag Rastogi[Perugi] 408 996 0443)
pburry@cse.dnd.ca (Paul Burry)
prastogi@netcom.com (Parag Rastogi[Perugi] 408 996 0443)
reb@punch.EBay.Sun.COM (Bob Brown)
mpeppler@itf0.itf.CH (Michael Peppler)
Jan Diesel <jwd@rivm.nl>
root@fek4.bib.dk (Superuser)
Jon Haugsand <jonhaug@ifi.uio.no>
Stuart Pook <stuart@exogene.genethon.fr>
Carl Johnson <carlj@muppet.bt.co.uk>
cimarron@hermes.Berkeley.EDU (Cimarron D. Taylor <cimarron@hermes.Berkeley.EDU>)
Martin Tomes <mt00@eurotherm.co.uk>
Colin Winfield <cw01@eurotherm.co.uk>
<mark@wehi.edu.au>
Felix Schumann <schu@zellweger.CH>
chris@visionware.co.uk (Chris Davies)
justin@visionware.co.uk (Justin Carveley)
chas@visionware.co.uk (Charles Hirst)
Frank Buntschuh <Frank_Buntschuh@sat.mot.com>
"Lee D. Rothstein" <ldr@merrymeeting.MV.COM>
andy@homebase.vistachrome.com (Andy Finkenstadt)
Chris Wood <chrisw@march.co.uk>
<hpubvwa.nsr.hp.com!weycord!alert@relay.hp.com>
awful!akf@utacfd.uucp (Andrew Fullford)
Pat Nichols <nichols@ccu.UManitoba.CA>
Scott Sanbeg <ssanbeg@visual.spk.wa.us>
eric@jordan.desktalk.com (Eric Lieber)
dmarshal@Stars.Reston.Unisys.COM (David Marshall - Paramax)
Ramesh Dodamani <ramesh@veda.ESYS.CWRU.Edu>
enm@paris.hep.anl.gov (Ed May)
tpoindex@isis.cs.du.edu (Tom Poindexter)
Li-Chung Chang <lcc5@shira.cs.columbia.edu>
linj@Texaco.COM (Jeff Lin)
"Mark Anderson" <FSMPA%ALASKA.BITNET@CORNELLC.cit.cornell.edu>
stefan@stefki.toppoint.de (Stefan Krause)
Michael Perry <map@sequent.com>
<bgalli!bgalli!bga@heifetz.msen.com>
Michael Curtis <mikec@badger.dosli.govt.nz>
daves@assip.csasyd.oz.AU
daves@assip.csasyd.oz.au (David Smart)
Steve Wertheimer <swerthei@us.oracle.com>
Ingo.Gringer@Informatik.TU-Chemnitz.DE (Ingo Gringer)
Lawrence E Bertolini <lbertoli@magnus.acs.ohio-state.edu>
chris@imsi.com (Chris Payne)
chris@egg-em.COM (Chris Greve)
ken@welchgate.welch.jhu.edu (Ken Fasman)
wolpert@ppgfr.uucp (Florian Wolpert)
jsblau@panix.com (Jonathan Blau)
John Van Voorhis <john@chsun1.spc.uchicago.edu>
ravi@wwtc.timeplex.com (ravikumar)
ralphh@cs.athabascau.ca (Ralph Hand)
"Spencer W. Thomas" <Spencer.W.Thomas@med.umich.edu>
Mark.McIntosh@engr.UVic.CA
Cynthia.Beckett@EBay.Sun.COM (Cynthia Beckett)
Russ.Engle@EBay.Sun.COM (Russell Engle)
murren@oceana.crd.ge.com (Brian Murren)
Bill Masters <bmasters%catfish@catfish.uswest.com>
uvmark!michael@merk.uucp (Michael Cooperman)
"Emde David K." <demde@beach.csulb.edu>
kpt@fig.citib.com (Kevin P. Tyson)
Lawrence Byrd <lawrence@quintus.com>
8900431@SSCvax.CIS.McMaster.CA
mis@seiden.com (Mark Seiden)
John Barton <ASJSB@ASUVM.INRE.ASU.EDU>
elinden@diana.cair.du.edu (Elwood Blues)
gus@wet.sbi.com (Gus Fraser)
jemday@wet.sbi.com (Jeremy Day)
mn81364@su_53_7.sbi.com (Mehrdad Noorani)
MUCCI@stsci.edu
allen@geac.com (Allen Septon)
Monty Solomon <monty@proponent.com>
bpirenne@eso.org
wfinnert@shearson.com (Warren Finnerty)
leo@enlil.premenos.sf.ca.us (Leo C.P. Leung)
jordan@warped.pnl.gov (Randy Jordan)
brent@spss.com
edsr!jem@uunet.UU.NET (John E. Mendenhall)
patrick@tangerine (Patrick Lau )
jay@ait.com (Jay Subramanian)
yeo@SEAS.UCLA.EDU (Simon Yeo)
unknown-user@wet.sbi.com (Chris Lee)
csfb1!phantom!tbain@uunet.uu.net (Tom Bain)
atirone@srg.af.mil (Angel Tirone x4982)
peder@peki.toppoint.de (Peter Karstens)
arthur%marley@[137.144.202.20] (arthur chong)
sauvain@wrc.xerox.com (Richard Sauvain)
Clark <MERRILL@stsci.edu>
"Of all the things you wear, your expression is the most important" <DOUGLAS@stsci.edu>
Dragan Gajic <dig@ctr.columbia.edu>
sybase@spyque.eng.hou.compaq.com (sybase database login )
Chung-Ping Lan <lan@quintus.com>
mec@Texaco.COM (Michael E. Chase)
tekbspa!michaelh@uunet.UU.NET (Michael Hirohama)
st-andy!victor@uunet.UU.NET (Victor Morvillo)
st-andy!larry@uunet.UU.NET (Larry Martell)
swildner@channelz.gun.de (Sascha Wildner)
mcb@presto.ig.com (Michael C. Berch)
schendr@Texaco.COM (Dan R. Schenck)
royball@sscux1.ssc.gov (Rand Royball)
kaare@dikas.no (Kaare Knudsen)
jon@dikas.no (Jon Marthins)
jan@dikas.no (Jan St}le Gjerding)
buzz@rsd.dl.nec.com (Buzz McDermott)
mark@drd.com (Resident.Alien)
shared!jimf@uunet.UU.NET (Jim Franklin)
technar!yong@uunet.UU.NET (Yong Choe)
rbri@phoenix.az.stratus.com (Rickie Brinegar)
ZORRO@SSCVX1.SSC.GOV (Melinda Fox at SSC Lab)
BRYAN@PEOCU1.NAVY.MIL (MIRIAM BRYAN-Systems Administrator)
shared!scottf@uunet.uu.net (Scott Fort)
egn@i88.isc.com (E. G. Nadhan)
hbb@frost.corp.sgi.com (Hugh B. Barraclough)
dirac!bhc@uunet.uu.net (Bruce Cottman)
Ralf Dreier <dreier@winfo.fb5.uni-siegen.de>
Dirk Schreiber <dirk@sokrates.fb5.uni-siegen.de>
anders@dikas.no (Anders Emil Olsen)
"Andy Pardue" <shared!andyp@uunet.uu.net>
Frank Brueggemann <fjb@newton.fb5.uni-siegen.de>
ge@rtk.se (Goran Edvardsson)
shared!johnp@uunet.uu.net (John Plattner)
tegan@broke.enet.dec.com
shared!mikek@uunet.uu.net (shell)
shared!aryt@uunet.uu.net (Paul Turner)
shared!louz@uunet.uu.net (Lou Zastoupil)
shared!jimw@uunet.uu.net (Jim Weaver)
shared!johnf@uunet.uu.net (John Fusselman)
shared!johntr@uunet.uu.net (John F. Trudeau)
shared!richardb@uunet.uu.net (Richard Broussard x4858)
shared!lynnh@uunet.uu.net (Lynn Holland)
rds@temin.lanl.gov (Robert D. Sutherland)
shared!petey@uunet.uu.net (Pete Ylda)
cherniz@cucis.cis.columbia.edu (Igor Chernizer)
shared!timh@uunet.UU.NET (Tim Hillery)
shared!craigm@uunet.UU.NET (Craig Mixon)
lally@pmdb.sep.bnl.gov (Keith Lally)
Paul Kent <kent@unx.sas.com>
HUNTLEY JR A F <afh@stc06.ctd.ornl.gov>
jacobl@fnma.COM (Jacob Lifshitz)
Allen Septon <uunet!geek.geac.com!allen>
francois@welchgate.welch.jhu.edu
dc@dcs.qmw.ac.uk
chandra@aisg.com (Periannan Chandrasekaran)
pmitchel@locus.nalusda.gov (Pam Mitchell)
Brian Westrich <westrich@mira.ncc.umn.edu>
"Patrick LEROY (Bull Worldwide Information Systems)" <PLEROY@us.oracle.com>
glv!robjob!bob@mcnc.org (Robert H. Lunney)
jcf@nijinsky.fc.ul.pt (Jesualdo Cerqueira Fernandes gfgg)
mmp@ntc.togliatti.su (Matweew Michael)
jon@internet.sbi.com (Jon Russell)
d3f032@pnli.pnl.gov
gps@ga.com (Pat Sand)
Martin.Franklin@EBay.Sun.COM (Martin Franklin)
nkolluru@cs.umr.edu
hoat@triton.sandiego.NCR.COM
mrt@soft.gtech.com (Mark Truman)
"Jim Ierardi xt. 7274" <JGI%ACES@soft.gtech.com>
lskea@is.morgan.com (Lawrence Skeats)
fsw@soft.gtech.com (Fred S Wright)
Alvaro Fernandes <alvaro@cs.heriot-watt.ac.uk>
shared!bradn@uunet.uu.net (Brad Nelson)
L.Carl.Pedersen@Dartmouth.EDU
Pete Clark <milo!pclark@is.com>
Frank Wiesenfeller <fw@irb.informatik.uni-dortmund.de>
lelkens@philfa.pfa.philips.de (Lelkens)
rmarathe@shearson.com (Rajan Marathe)
pmajumda@shearson.com (Partha Majumdar)
ccantor@shearson.com (Charles Cantor)
shared!philh@uunet.uu.net (Phil Hellerman)
Jim Ault <aultj@rpi.edu>
g3uasg@mercury.fnma.COM (Al S. Ghandchi)
fgreco@fis1026.shearson.com (Frank Greco)
walt@mathcs.emory.edu (Walt Hultgren {rmy})
fkk@stasys.sta.sub.org (Frank Kaefer)
caw@soft.gtech.com (Christopher White)
georg@deerwood.uucp (Georg Rehfeld)
glenn@welchgate.welch.jhu.edu (Glenn M. Mason)
brunn@thor.welch.jhu.edu (Christopher W. Brunn)
shared!hollyc@uunet.uu.net (Holly Cowan)
sybase!neil@Sun.COM (Neil Pike -- UK)
sybase!sherryp@Sun.COM (Sherry Petersen)
kakiefer@mmm.com
johnj@welchlab.welch.jhu.edu (John A. Johnston)
seth@welchgate.welch.jhu.edu (Seth Perlman)
ike@welchgate.welch.jhu.edu (Ike Brenner)
tce@welchgate.welch.jhu.edu
shared!randallc@uunet.UU.NET (Randall Conway)
sybase!ssimmons@Sun.COM (Scott Simmons)
bosslog!peter@uunet.UU.NET (Peter Armstrong)
robert@metropolis.com (Robert Munyer)
sybase!mmc@Sun.COM (Matthew McClure)
ruman@meroot.eng.uci.edu (ruman)
lita@welchgate.welch.jhu.edu (Lita Kearney)
sv@ifs.univie.ac.at (SteFan Vieweg)

NO VOTES
--------

snow@netcom.com (Tim Szeliga)
owens@cookiemonster.cc.buffalo.edu (Bill Owens)
Marc Moorcroft <smarry@zooid.guild.org>
mhpower@stan.mit.edu
wolves!news@duke.cs.duke.edu (The Wolfe of the Den)
peirce@gumby.cc.wmich.edu (Leonard J. Peirce)
Tim Szeliga <tim@snow.nohrsc.nws.gov>
stu@valinor.mythical.com (Stu Labovitz)
John G Dobnick <jgd@csd4.csd.uwm.edu>
shevett@Amber.mccc.Edu (Dave Shevett)
sybase!croghan@Sun.COM (m croghan)
Matt Senft <mattsen@microsoft.com>
ked01@juts.ccc.amdahl.com (Kim DeVaughn)

Thanks,
Allen
-- 
Allen Septon     allen@geac.com     416-475-7733
Geac Computer Corporation           Markham, Ontario

 
USENET FACT: Flaming
Flaming is the hostile interaction between multiple Usenet users.