• Your Trusted Usenet Provider
  • Secure, Private, Unlimited

Newsgroups Main » Newsgroups Directory » Computers - Non-OS » Graphics, design and publishing » Fractals

Gnuplot ( comp.graphics.gnuplot )
 
From [email protected] Fri Aug  7 20:54:58 1992
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:2599 news.groups:55134 comp.graphics:29452 comp.windows.x.apps:724 sci.math:30051 comp.os.msdos.apps:7368 comp.sys.amiga.graphics:8320 comp.sys.hp:20016 comp.sys.next.software:1021 comp.sys.sgi:25118 comp.sys.sun.apps:1582
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,comp.graphics,comp.windows.x.apps,sci.math,comp.os.msdos.apps,comp.sys.amiga.graphics,comp.sys.hp,comp.sys.next.software,comp.sys.sgi,comp.sys.sun.apps
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: [email protected] (Daniel S. Lewart)
Subject: RFD: comp.graphics.gnuplot
Message-ID: <[email protected]>
Followup-To: news.groups
Sender: [email protected] (David C Lawrence)
Organization: University of Illinois at Urbana
Date: Fri, 7 Aug 1992 23:25:39 GMT
Approved: [email protected]
Lines: 20

NAME:   comp.graphics.gnuplot

CHARTER:
1) This group would be for the discussion of the GNUPLOT plotting program
   by developers and users.
2) This group would be gatewayed with the [email protected]
   mailing list.
3) An FAQ list would be maintained.
4) GNUPLOT is a command-driven interactive function plotting program which:
   a) Plots data or functions.
   b) Has been tested on Unix, VMS, MSDOS, MS-Windows, Amiga, and Atari
      platforms.
   c) Supports many different graphics devices.
   d) Is authored by Thomas Williams, Colin Kelley, Russell Lang,
      Dave Kotz, John Campbell, Gershon Elber, and many others.

STATUS: Unmoderated

Daniel Lewart
[email protected]

From [email protected] Tue Sep  1 16:33:43 1992
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:2678 news.groups:56044 comp.graphics:30243 comp.os.msdos.apps:7734 comp.sys.amiga.graphics:8696 comp.sys.hp:20893 comp.sys.next.software:1406 comp.sys.sgi:26177 comp.sys.sun.apps:1794 comp.windows.x.apps:900 sci.math:30835
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,comp.graphics,comp.os.msdos.apps,comp.sys.amiga.graphics,comp.sys.hp,comp.sys.next.software,comp.sys.sgi,comp.sys.sun.apps,comp.windows.x.apps,sci.math
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: [email protected] (Daniel S. Lewart)
Subject: CFV: comp.graphics.gnuplot
Message-ID: <[email protected]>
Followup-To: poster
Sender: [email protected] (David C Lawrence)
Reply-To: [email protected] (Gnuplot Vote)
Organization: University of Illinois at Urbana
Date: Tue, 1 Sep 1992 20:17:12 GMT
Approved: [email protected]
Lines: 42

This is a Call For Votes (CFV) for the comp.graphics.gnuplot newsgroup.
The newsgroup would be unmoderated and its charter is given below.

To vote *for* the creation of comp.graphics.gnuplot, reply to
[email protected] with either of the following:
        1) A subject of "Yes"
        2) Text of "I vote for the group comp.graphics.gnuplot".

To vote *against* the creation of comp.graphics.gnuplot, reply to
[email protected] with either of the following:
        1) A subject of "No"
        2) Text of "I vote against the group comp.graphics.gnuplot".

The voting period will be from Tue 01 Sep 1992 through Tue 22 Sep 1992.

The document "Guidelines for USENET Group Creation" is available by
anonymous `ftp' to pit-manager.mit.edu (18.172.1.27) as the file
/pub/usenet/news.groups/How_to_Create_a_New_Newsgroup.

Let the vote begin!
Daniel Lewart
[email protected]
[email protected]--------------
NAME:   comp.graphics.gnuplot

CHARTER:
1) This group is for the discussion of the GNUPLOT plotting program by
   developers and users.
2) This group will be gatewayed with a mailing list (if someone volunteers
   to maintain it).
3) An FAQ list will be maintained.
4) GNUPLOT is a command-driven interactive function plotting program which:
   a) Plots data or functions
   b) Has been tested on Unix, VMS, MSDOS, MS-Windows, OS/2, Amiga, and
      Atari platforms
   c) Supports many different graphics devices
   d) Is authored by Thomas Williams, Colin Kelley, Russell Lang,
      Dave Kotz, John Campbell, Gershon Elber, and many others
   e) Is not part of the GNU project.

STATUS: Unmoderated
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From [email protected] Thu Sep 24 18:21:35 1992
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:2768 news.groups:56926 comp.graphics:30840 comp.os.msdos.apps:8046 comp.sys.amiga.graphics:9185 comp.sys.hp:21811 comp.sys.next.software:1809 comp.sys.sgi:27146 comp.sys.sun.apps:2025 comp.windows.x.apps:1131 sci.math:32090
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,comp.graphics,comp.os.msdos.apps,comp.sys.amiga.graphics,comp.sys.hp,comp.sys.next.software,comp.sys.sgi,comp.sys.sun.apps,comp.windows.x.apps,sci.math
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: [email protected] (Daniel S. Lewart)
Subject: RESULT: comp.graphics.gnuplot passes 245:16
Message-ID: <[email protected]>
Followup-To: news.groups
Sender: [email protected] (David C Lawrence)
Organization: UIUC Physics Department
Date: Thu, 24 Sep 1992 14:40:48 GMT
Approved: [email protected]
Lines: 276

The vote tally for the creation of comp.graphics.gnuplot was:
	YES: 245
	 NO:  16
Voters are listed below.  There will be a 5 day waiting period for error
correction.

The document "Guidelines for USENET Group Creation" is available by
anonymous `ftp' to pit-manager.mit.edu (18.172.1.27) as the file
/pub/usenet/news.groups/How_to_Create_a_New_Newsgroup.

Thank you for voting!
Daniel Lewart
[email protected]

No	Bengt Larsson <[email protected]>
No	Joseph Gil <[email protected]>
No	Mike Arras <[email protected]>
No	RAVEN Winter <[email protected]>
No	[email protected] (Claude Huss)
No	[email protected] (GNU Mailing List Maintenance)
No	[email protected] (Hal Mueller)
No	[email protected] (Joe Buck)
No	[email protected] (Jeff Beadles)
No	[email protected] (Michael Lambert)
No	[email protected] (Leonard Mills)
No	[email protected] (Leonard J. Reder)
No	[email protected] (Richard H. Miller)
No	smith!dick
No	[email protected] (Terra Orbit)
No	[email protected] (Murray Nesbitt)

Yes	"(Mike Mehl)" <[email protected]>
Yes	"Aubrey Jaffer" <[email protected]>
Yes	"Bryan J. Jensen" <[email protected]>
Yes	"Carsten Grammes" <[email protected]>
Yes	"Darryl A. Bergstrom" <[email protected]>
Yes	"Don Comeau" <[email protected]>
Yes	"JORGE O. SOFO" <[email protected]>
Yes	"John P. Rouillard" <[email protected]>
Yes	"Marek Behr [Aero Eng]" <[email protected]>
Yes	"Margaret R. Byrne" <[email protected]>
Yes	"Marshall G. Flax" <[email protected]>
Yes	"Michael L. Kaufman" <[email protected]>
Yes	"Robert L. Divany 814-865-2358" <[email protected]>
Yes	"Sal (elvis) Denaro" <[email protected]>
Yes	"Sean K. Larkin" <[email protected]>
Yes	"Sly Upah" <[email protected]>
Yes	"Wilhelm Buehler" <[email protected]>
Yes	"William Y. Lai" <[email protected]>
Yes	"[email protected]" <[email protected]>
Yes	[email protected] (Tom Buskey)
Yes	Adam Bentley <[email protected]>
Yes	Allan Williams <[email protected]>
Yes	Anders Christensen <[email protected]>
Yes	Andreas Stolz <[email protected]>
Yes	Anselm Lingnau <[email protected]>
Yes	B.J.  02-Sep-1992 1105 <[email protected]>
Yes	BONACCI  John <[email protected]>
Yes	Ben Bourke <[email protected]>
Yes	Bernt Oedegaard <[email protected]>
Yes	Bruce Fisher <[email protected]>
Yes	Cameron Davidson <[email protected]>
Yes	Ching-Tse Liu <[email protected]>
Yes	Chip Cobb <[email protected]>
Yes	Chris Jobling <[email protected]>
Yes	Chris Lilley <[email protected]>
Yes	Chris Mathers <[email protected]>
Yes	Chris Parks <[email protected]>
Yes	Christof Ullwer <[email protected]>
Yes	D-P Deng (O-516-282-2197) <[email protected]>
Yes	[email protected] (David W. Ploch)
Yes	Daniel Polani <[email protected]>
Yes	David Dalton <[email protected]>
Yes	David Kershaw <[email protected]>
Yes	Dougal Scott <[email protected]>
Yes	Eric Sink - Invoice <[email protected]>
Yes	Ethan Bradford <[email protected]>
Yes	Franz Peter Seiler <[email protected]>
Yes	Friedich-Carl Schaefer <[email protected]>
Yes	[email protected]
Yes	Geoffrey N Tuck <[email protected]>
Yes	Greg Lampard <[email protected]>
Yes	Gunnar Teege <[email protected]>
Yes	Hardy  <[email protected]>
Yes	Holthoff <[email protected]>
Yes	Hugues Leroy <[email protected]>
Yes	Jacob Engelbrecht <[email protected]>
Yes	Jeff Perloff <[email protected]>
Yes	Jemery Day <[email protected]>
Yes	Jim Chalfant <[email protected]>
Yes	Jim Gillogly <[email protected]>
Yes	John Campbell <[email protected]>
Yes	John Eaton <jwe@che.utexas.edu>
Yes	John Fletcher <ECM9093@pcmail.aston.ac.uk>
Yes	John V. Langer <jvl@mickey.aero.org>
Yes	Jozsef Banati <Jozsef.Banati@sisu.lut.fi>
Yes	Juergen A. Holm <holm@zeus.theo-phys.gwdg.de>
Yes	Juergen Lock <nox@jelal.north.de>
Yes	Jyrki Kuoppala <jkp@cs.hut.fi>
Yes	Kei Thomsen <kt@keihh.hanse.de>
Yes	Kenneth White <ken@unixg.ubc.ca>
Yes	Klaus Steinberger <Klaus.Steinberger@physik.uni-muenchen.de>
Yes	Leila Burrell-Davis <leilabd@syma.sussex.ac.uk>
Yes	MJackson.Wbst147@xerox.com
Yes	Mark.McIntosh@sirius.UVic.CA
Yes	Martin@wooga.cuc.ab.ca (Martin Zimmerman)
Yes	Matthieu Herrb <matthieu@idefix.laas.fr>
Yes	Mike Bacigalupi <mrb@bugs.aero.org>
Yes	Morten Eriksen <mortene@solan.unit.no>
Yes	Nadav Har'El <nyh@gauss.technion.ac.il>
Yes	Norbert Winkler <nw@fortec.tuwien.ac.at>
Yes	Ove Ewerlid <ewerlid@pinus.slu.se>
Yes	Panyarak Ngamsritragul <panya@sl.t.u-tokyo.ac.jp>
Yes	Paul Fardy <pdf@docboy.cs.mun.ca>
Yes	Paul Halsema <phalsema@x102a.ess.harris.com>
Yes	Paul Higgins <phiggins@uci.edu>
Yes	Paul Palmer <palmerp@MATH.ORST.EDU>
Yes	Pedro A.M. Vazquez <vazquez@iqm.unicamp.br>
Yes	Peter Arien <LAAAA43@blekul11.bitnet>
Yes	Peter Mayer <pm@fortec.tuwien.ac.at>
Yes	Pierre MARTEL <martel@issy.cnet.fr>
Yes	Rainer Dittmann <dittmann@informatik.uni-wuerzburg.de>
Yes	Ray Kiddy <kiddyr@apple.com>
Yes	Robert van Liere <Robert.van.Liere@cwi.nl>
Yes	Stefan -Blixten- Karlsson <Stefan.Blixten.Karlsson@lu.erisoft.se>
Yes	Steve Cumming <stevec@geog.ubc.ca>
Yes	Thomas Stock <stock@informatik.uni-wuerzburg.de>
Yes	Tony Guy <t.guy@trl.oz.au>
Yes	Urs Meyer <umeyer@cscs.ch>
Yes	Vivek Khera <khera@cs.duke.edu>
Yes	Willem Kasdorp <wkasdo@paramount.nikhefk.nikhef.nl>
Yes	Yves Arrouye <arrouye@imag.fr>
Yes	aardvark@ccwf.cc.utexas.edu (Craig A. Blome)
Yes	al@stanley.cis.brown.edu (Andre Lehovich)
Yes	alexlehm@iti.informatik.th-darmstadt.de
Yes	alhy@UNIXHUB.SLAC.STANFORD.EDU
Yes	andras@concave.cs.wits.ac.za (Andras Salamon)
Yes	arrigo@cube.sublink.org (Arrigo Benedetti)
Yes	asmith@icose.msd.anl.gov (Arthur Smith)
Yes	augustin@lmd.ens.fr (VINTZILEOPS Augustin)
Yes	bashford@scripps.edu
Yes	bcutter@pdnis.paradyne.com (Brooks Cutter)
Yes	bernhard@perm.geologie.uni-freiburg.de (Bernhard Ehrminger)
Yes	besancon@titus.polytechnique.fr (Thierry Besancon)
Yes	bjpt@cs.mu.oz.au
Yes	black@seismo.CSS.GOV (Mike Black)
Yes	bogert@acs.ucalgary.ca
Yes	borchers@jupiter.nmt.edu (Brian Borchers)
Yes	cammejpm@camme.ac.be (J.-P. Malisse CAMME project)
Yes	cammels@camme.ac.be (L. Schwind CAMME project)
Yes	cdl@mpl.UCSD.EDU (Carl Lowenstein)
Yes	ceilidh!pinata.LOCAL!dnichols@uunet.UU.NET (Don Nichols (DoN.))
Yes	charette@cheetah.det.dec.com (Mark Charette)
Yes	ciotti@nas.nasa.gov (Robert B. Ciotti)
Yes	crb11@cus.cam.ac.uk (Colin Bell)
Yes	d-lewart@uiuc.edu (Daniel S. Lewart)
Yes	david%joshua.UUCP@mathcs.emory.edu (C. David Cooke)
Yes	david@ppws18.plk.af.mil (David Bell (505) 846-4479)
Yes	davis@nod.bms.com (Malcolm Davis)
Yes	dfk@wildcat.dartmouth.edu (David Kotz)
Yes	dfreuden@ma9118.shearson.com (David Freudenstein)
Yes	dob@inel.gov (Dave Brooks)
Yes	dot@Athena.MIT.EDU
Yes	dps7679@hexad.boeing.com (David P. Smith)
Yes	etcchiam@ntu.ac.sg (Chiam Tee Chye)
Yes	flebbe@wega.tat.physik.uni-tuebingen.de (Olaf Flebbe)
Yes	fromme@ipc1.rrzn.uni-hannover.dbp.de
Yes	gdsjaar@somnet.sandia.gov (Gregory D. Sjaardema)
Yes	george@bodnext.bio.dfo.ca (George White)
Yes	gerd@zaphod.physik.fu-berlin.de (Gerd Buntkowsky)
Yes	gershon@gr.cs.utah.edu (Elber Gershon)
Yes	gisli@liapunov.eecs.umich.edu (Gisli Ottarsson)
Yes	gondwana@basalt.mit.edu (Matthias Imhof)
Yes	greenbrg@apollo.srl.ford.com (Jeff Greenberg)
Yes	grf@lambda.ma.adfa.oz.au (Glenn Fulford)
Yes	grimm@pms-hh.uucp (Rainer Grimm)
Yes	gs@diab.se (Greger Sernemar)
Yes	heiko@groucho.chemie.fu-berlin.de (Heiko Schlichting)
Yes	heinau@groucho.chemie.fu-berlin.de (Vera Heinau)
Yes	heiner@heinihh.hanse.de (Heiner Strauss)
Yes	hendrix@oasys.dt.navy.mil (Dane Hendrix)
Yes	hicksjl@nextwork.rose-hulman.edu
Yes	hoffmann@groucho.chemie.fu-berlin.de (Daniel Hoffmann)
Yes	ian@hobbes.ds.boeing.com (Ian R. Searle)
Yes	ian@vortex.yorku.ca (Ian Lumb)
Yes	jacobsd@solar.cor2.epa.gov (Dana Jacobsen)
Yes	jg1ifj@world.std.com (Hisa Noguchi)
Yes	jlavi@cs.joensuu.fi (Jarkko Lavinen)
Yes	jmower@geog.albany.edu (Jim Mower)
Yes	jonathan@hoffmann.ph.utexas.edu (Jonathan Thornburg)
Yes	jw24@tower.york.ac.uk (J Waldmann)
Yes	jxt@hayworth.lanl.gov (John Turner)
Yes	kennedy@ssi-s.pegasus.com (Tom Kennedy)
Yes	kern@masc5.rice.edu (Michel Kern)
Yes	kim@pswd.amdahl.com (Kim DeVaughn)
Yes	korz@bach.cs.columbia.edu (Frederick Korz)
Yes	lafont@aioh.ilab.toshiba.co.jp (Lafont Denis)
Yes	lofdahl@royacs.sunet.se
Yes	lrul00@euler.kodak.com (Richard C. Dempsey)
Yes	macphed@dvinci.usask.ca (Ian MacPhedran)
Yes	makarewy@rft31.nas.nasa.gov (Alex Makarewycz)
Yes	matthias@perm.geologie.uni-freiburg.de (Matthias Rauer)
Yes	mccann@merak.cc.nps.navy.mil (Mike McCann)
Yes	melchers@chico.chemie.fu-berlin.de (Bernd Melchers)
Yes	mgold@hydra.convex.com (Moshe Goldberg)
Yes	michaelv@mnveger.uucp (Michael Vishchers)
Yes	mp@rob.cs.tu-bs.de (Martin)
Yes	mroussel@alchemy.chem.utoronto.ca (Marc Roussel)
Yes	nhan@chemc2.chem.washington.edu
Yes	ostebee@stolaf.edu (Arnold Ostebee)
Yes	pacdata!jimh@UCSD.EDU (Jim Harkins)
Yes	paolo petta <paolo@toledo.ai.univie.ac.at>
Yes	pb@cs.du.edu (PB Schechter)
Yes	peba1231@camillo.fb12.tu-berlin.de (Peter Bartsch)
Yes	peter@jarthur.Claremont.EDU
Yes	petit@smop.fr.mugnet.org (Bertrand Petit)
Yes	pj04781 <pj04781@AUSTIN.LOCKHEED.COM>
Yes	pjnesser@rocket.com (Philip J. Nesser)
Yes	pln@egret1.Stanford.EDU (Patrick L. Nolan)
Yes	prisant@cs.duke.edu (Michael G. Prisant)
Yes	przemek@rrdstrad.nist.gov (Przemek Klosowski)
Yes	pvdl@hermes.bouw.tno.nl (Peter van de Leur)
Yes	raj@cfa272.harvard.edu (Raj Manandhar)
Yes	rao@tree.egr.uh.edu
Yes	ravi@sole.wti.com (Ravi Raj)
Yes	reinitz-john@CS.YALE.EDU (John Reinitz)
Yes	rjh2@lehigh.edu (Ronald J. Hartranft)
Yes	rjl@fawlty6.eng.monash.edu.au (Russell Lang)
Yes	rkc@xn.ll.mit.edu
Yes	rob@dutetvd.ET.TUDelft.NL (Rob Beukers)
Yes	root@ilfb03.tuwien.ac.at (Gerhard Schneider)
Yes	ross@coral.cs.jcu.edu.au (Ross Milward)
Yes	rovero@oc.nps.navy.mil (Josh Rovero)
Yes	rreiner@nexus.yorku.ca (Richard Reiner)
Yes	rrosen@cesl.rutgers.edu (Robert Rosenbaum)
Yes	rsm@math.arizona.edu (Robert S. Maier)
Yes	rthomson@dsd.es.com (Rich Thomson)
Yes	ruman@maemaster.eng.uci.edu (ruman)
Yes	russo@rudedog.nrl.navy.mil (Kevin Russo)
Yes	rvenable@helix.nih.gov (Richard M. Venable)
Yes	sartori@chico.chemie.fu-berlin.de (Fredo Sartori)
Yes	sci34hub!tybrin4!tybrin1!trey@uunet.UU.NET (Trey McClendon)
Yes	scott@craycos.com (Scott Bolte)
Yes	se@risc3.mi.Uni-Koeln.DE (Stefan Esser)
Yes	sean@pet.mni.mcgill.ca (Sean MARRETT)
Yes	shambhat@enel.ucalgary.ca (Sooryanarayana K. Shambhat)
Yes	shan@techops.cray.com (Sharan Kalwani)
Yes	smith@metatron.harvard.edu
Yes	sondeen@ISI.EDU
Yes	spotz@cfdlab.ae.utexas.edu (William Spotz)
Yes	spz@specklec.mpifr-bonn.mpg.de (S.P.Zeidler)
Yes	srivasta@graceland.pilgrim.umass.edu
Yes	ssi!fcc@uunet.UU.NET (Frank C. Christofferson)
Yes	stefan@freeman.phys.nwu.edu (Stefan Bei der Kellen)
Yes	thomas kolarik <kolarik@exaia.wu-wien.ac.at>
Yes	tim@crash.canon.co.uk (Tim F O'Donoghue)
Yes	tim@les.ethz.ch (Timothy Hanlon)
Yes	tim@resmel.bhp.com.au (Tim Monks)
Yes	tkacik@hobbes.cs.gmr.com (Tom Tkacik CS/50)
Yes	tom@wheeler.wrc.unr.edu (Tom Brikowski)
Yes	tony@indigo3.aa.nps.navy.mil (Tony Cricelli)
Yes	toy@alydar.crd.ge.com (Raymond L. Toy)
Yes	tpw@ama.caltech.edu (Thomas P. Witelski)
Yes	umberto@aomc.jussieu.fr (Umberto D'Ortona)
Yes	uunet!fe2o3!rusty@uxc.cso.uiuc.edu (Rusty Haddock)
Yes	van-bc!finning!tom (Tom De Pauw)
Yes	vincent@dionysos.thphys.ox.ac.uk
Yes	volker@volki.toppoint.de (Volker Heiss)
Yes	vu2gmc%navier@hub.ucsb.edu (Sitaram Ramaswamy)
Yes	weg@mace.cc.purdue.edu (Eythan Weg)
Yes	wonga@steam.chem.su.oz.au (Adrian Wong)
Yes	woo@ra-next.arc.nasa.gov (Alex Woo x6010 227-6 rm 315)
Yes	woody@gergu2.tamu.edu (Woody Lee)
Yes	x14@ix.urz.uni-heidelberg.de (Helmut Beisel)
Yes	zrsuk01@convex.zdv.uni-tuebingen.de (U. Koch)
Yes	zuazaga@ucunix.san.uc.EDU (Humberto Ortiz-Zuazaga)

 
USENET FACT: Big-8
BIG-8 hierarchies are the 8 traditional top hierarchies of the Usenet. See the following page for more