• Your Trusted Usenet Provider
  • Secure, Private, Unlimited

Newsgroups Main » Newsgroups Directory » Computers - Non-OS » Graphics, design and publishing » Fractals

Multimedia ( comp.multimedia )
 
From [email protected] Mon Sep 27 10:23:54 1993
Flags: 000000000201
Path: lear
Posted-Date: 6 Jan 91 22:53:06 GMT
From: [email protected] (Ittai Hershman)
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups
Subject: VOTE RESULTS: comp.multimedia PASSES
Date: Sun,  6 Jan 91 23:56:08 PST
Followup-to: news.groups
Organization: NYU Stern School of Business
Keywords: posted


There were 264 votes in favor of the creation of comp.multimedia as
proposed, and 7 votes against.  (Interesting statistic: 85% of the
vote turned out in the first week).  Thank you all.

I have asked Eliot to send out the newgroup message.

-Ittai

Appendix A.

Votes in favor of comp.multimedia as proposed in the Call for Votes:

 Philip Young <[email protected]>
 [email protected] (Ross Wilkinson)
 "Michael S. McLean" <[email protected]>
 Jonathan Rosenberg <[email protected]>
 [email protected]
 "Ant Man"  <[email protected]>
 Andy Peterman <[email protected]>
 [email protected]
 [email protected] (David Neves)
 [email protected] (Chris Perry)
 Dave Walden <[email protected]>
 [email protected] (Robert D. Thompson)
 [email protected]
 Craig Hubley <[email protected]>
 [email protected] (Iain D. Sinclair)
 [email protected] (Robert Bowdidge)
 [email protected]
 [email protected]
 Chad Fogg <[email protected]>
 [email protected]
 Daniel Edward Lovinger <[email protected]>
 [email protected]
 [email protected] (Oluwatoyin Tunde AKINDELE)
 [email protected] (Thom Gillespie)
 Woobin Lee <[email protected]>
 John Grinham <[email protected]>
 [email protected] (Rakesh Sinha)
 [email protected] (Tor G. Syvertsen)
 [email protected] (Leif Erlingsson)
 [email protected] (Kim DeVaughn)
 [email protected] (Tom Horsley)
 [email protected] (Phillip Everson - Sun UK - CS Hotline)
 [email protected] (Boyle)
 [email protected] (Lillard Walker)
 Gebhard Auer <[email protected]>
 [email protected] (Sam Milosevich)
 [email protected] (Emmett Black)
 Rob (R.P.) Enns <[email protected]>
 "Hannes P. Lubich" <[email protected]>
 [email protected]
 [email protected]
 Brian Bechtel <[email protected]>
 Simon Gibbs <[email protected]>
 Richard Jennings <[email protected]>
 Don Smith <[email protected]>
 [email protected] (Keith M Andress)
 Timothy VanFosson <[email protected]>
 Jim Davis <[email protected]>
 [email protected] (Kris Olander)
 Peter da Silva <[email protected]>
 [email protected] (Mark Horstman [314-235-3417])
 Hans Eidnes <[email protected]>
 [email protected] (Cazier)
 [email protected]
 [email protected] (W. H. Dodrill)
 Sill D E <[email protected]>
 [email protected] (Michael S. Green)
 [email protected]
 [email protected] (Glen Fullmer)
 Ruth Lang <[email protected]>
 [email protected]
 [email protected] (Mark Scoville)
 Richard H. Miller <[email protected]>
 [email protected] (Andrew Scherpbier)
 [email protected] (Walt Thode)
 [email protected] (Dewey Henize)
 Victor Bahl <[email protected]>
 Andrew Currie <[email protected]>
 Stan Schwerin <[email protected]>
 [email protected] (Michael Aieta)
 [email protected] (David E. Watson)
 [email protected] (Chander Ahuja (214)754-3895)
 [email protected]
 [email protected] (Rick McCormack)
 Richard Fozzard <[email protected]>
 [email protected] (Dominic Nguyen)
 David F. Aronson <[email protected]>
 Suresh B Krishnamurthy <[email protected]>
 Michael Burdett <[email protected]>
 [email protected]  (Gil [email protected]@Banyan)
 "Rodney F. Carvalho" <[email protected]>
 [email protected] (Steven H. Schwartz)
 [email protected] (Henry Ip)
 Mike Oltz <[email protected]>
 "Patricia O Tuama" <[email protected]>
 [email protected]
 Frode Kileng <[email protected]>
 [email protected] (Dan Gruen)
 Robert Greer <[email protected]>
 Udo K Schuermann <[email protected]>
 [email protected] (Greg Pasquariello)
 [email protected] (Ed Lupin)
 [email protected] (Deborah Estrin)
 johndan johnson-eilola <[email protected]>
 Richard Staehli <[email protected]>
 [email protected] (Kent Paul Dolan)
 Scott Korcz <[email protected]>
 stuple%REED.BITNET@uccvm.nyu.edu
 Aki Fleshler <akif@sequent.com>
 Art Nicolaysen <art@wciu.edu>
 wei@scam.berkeley.edu (Pei Y. Wei)
 Chris Klausmeier <mixcom!cyaa01@uwm.edu>
 pinter@bucknell.edu
 gin@sable.coyote.trw.com
 billd@cheetah.informix.com (William Daul)
 xanadu!thelema!STella@uunet.uu.net
 Bill Wisner <wisner@ims.alaska.edu>
 Hill_IC@cc.curtin.edu.au
 clear@cavebbs.gen.nz
 wolves.uucp!ggw@mcnc.org (Gregory G. Woodbury)
 Mark Schulz <marks@s1.elec.uq.oz.au>
 bkooi@vast.eecs.unsw.oz.au
 SHARON IRVING <IRVING%CLIPR@vaxf.colorado.edu>
 clouds@ccwf.cc.utexas.edu (Kathy Strong)
 vicstoy!jellis@uunet.uu.net (Jacob Ellis)
 berger@sfc.sony.com (Bob Berger)
 nick@abblund.se
 "B|rre Ludvigsen" <borrel%sun.dhhalden.uninett@nac.no>
 Stephan Richter <richter@opal.cs.tu-berlin.de>
 Klaus H. Ahlers <colas@ecrc.de>
 Philippe Marchal <marchal@ecrc.de>
 Erik Lundevall <ludde@nada.kth.se>
 jack@cwi.nl
 engen@schooner.vr.dnv.no (Ivar Engen)
 media01!steed@relay.eu.net (Aristides Grigoriou)
 Ed Feustel <efeustel%tiger1.prime.com@relay.cs.net>
 bowe@osf.org
 "Carl J. Kuzmich (4-1885)" <CJK@vms.cis.pitt.edu>
 Bob Ledger <bobl%tiger1.prime.com@relay.cs.net>
 atkins@caen.engin.umich.edu (Dan Atkins)
 ops@vuse.vanderbilt.edu (Omar Patino-Siliceo)
 hfsi!mitch@uunet.uu.net
 bkd!pradeep@uunet.uu.net (Pradeep Deshpande)
 andrew@calvin.doc.ca (Andrew Patrick)
 Murray Sherk <msherk@watdragon.waterloo.edu>
 sfleming@cs.heriot-watt.ac.uk
 lolita!bud!david@uunet.uu.net (David Rivas)
 Paul Dourish <Dourish@europarc.xerox.com>
 Michele LeBrasseur <lebrasse@u.washington.edu>
 TECHNOLOGY SPONGE <POWERS@miavx1.acs.muohio.edu>
 andrea@mprgate.mpr.ca (Jennitta Andrea)
 Stan Przybylinski <smp@sei.cmu.edu>
 Michael Christel <mac@sei.cmu.edu>
 Jodi Peterson <jodi@hpfcso.fc.hp.com>
 Olle Furberg  <ollef@sics.se>
 bel@cblph.att.com (Brad E Lance)
 rkl1@hound.att.com (Kevin Laux)
 tigris!Sandelman.ocunix.on.ca!mcr@exchange.gba.nyu.edu (Michael Richardson)
 Katherine Fugitt <fugitt@eos.arc.nasa.gov>
 alfred%tigre@mcc.com (Alfred Hartmann)
 dlh@eng.sun.com (David Hoffman)
 ricardo@parns.nsc.com (Dick Smith)
 mcrware!eric@uunet.uu.net
 osc!jgk@ames.arc.nasa.gov (Joe Keane)
 <TAYLORJ%BYUVAX.BITNET@uccvm.nyu.edu>
 Hans Eriksson  <hans@sics.se>
 cognos!alzabo!kebera@exchange.gba.nyu.edu (Krishna E. Bera)
 pera@infolog.se (Per Andersson)
 stan@toaster.sfsu.edu (Stan Osborne)
 Dave Lange <cintra4@u.washington.edu>
 "Gerald Q. Maguire" <maguire@cs.columbia.edu>
 RIMI@kontu.utu.fi
 larso@emil.csd.uu.se
 witschi%dia7@ztivax.siemens.com (Peter Witschital)
 Klaus Meyer-Wegener (INF6)  <Klaus.Meyer-Wegener@informatik.uni-erlangen.de>
 dale@scribe.ora.com (Dale Dougherty)
 Courtney Long <longc@shark.cs.fau.edu>
 jcm@pws.bull.com
 kddlab!casp5.cis.canon.co.jp!naito@uunet.uu.net (Hiroshi Naito(24839))
 ltran@pluton.matrox.com (Linh TRAN)
 Phil Lloyd <lloyd@prl.philips.co.uk>
 David Walker <davidw@prl.philips.co.uk>
 schniede@superieur.informatik.uni-kl.de
 lavelli@irst.it (Alberto Lavelli)
 irler@irst.it
 Robertj Jaquiss (503)627-4444 DS 50-454 <robertj%tekgen.bv.tek.com@relay.cs.net>
 cullum%LCLARK.BITNET@cunyvm.cuny.edu
 Solid02%AcadiaU.CA@uccvm.nyu.edu
 louis@prlb.philips.be
 Roland Hjerppe <rhj@ida.liu.se>
 Paul Van Dooren <vandooren@prlb.philips.be>
 Merryanna Swartz <vitro!mls@cs.umd.edu>
 Steve Hamley <tharr!steveh@relay.eu.net>
 Guanghua Zhang <guanghua@cs.heriot-watt.ac.uk>
 Paul Zhu <zhu@ruby.ils.unc.edu>
 pteich@cayman.amd.com (Paul Teich)
 bjperry@cs.ucla.edu (Brad Perry)
 bmay@news.chips.com (Brad May)
 greg@garnet.berkeley.edu (Greg Kuperberg)
 arellano@jetson.csc.ti.com (Javier Arellano)
 Cormac.Sreenan@computer-lab.cambridge.ac.uk
 richards@huracan.cr (Edgardo Richards)
 thau@caen.engin.umich.edu (David Michael Thau)
 Felsa Satlow <Felsa_Satlow%qmlink.draper.com@RELAY.CS.NET>
 cs120014@runet.edu (Wine)
 Mark Dobie <M.R.Dobie@ecs.southampton.ac.uk>
 Gerard Hutchings <G.A.Hutchings@ecs.southampton.ac.uk>
 Richard Cole <colers@prl.philips.co.uk>
 Jacques Hagelstein <hagelste@prlb.philips.be>
 MSAINS.RUBIS@f4.n494.z5.fidonet.org (MSAINS RUBIS)
 on@uta.fi (Ossi Numminen)
 "Marilynne W. Stout (814) 863-2271" <MBF@psuvm.psu.edu>
 Frank S. Taylor IV <taylorf@sweetpea.jsc.nasa.gov>
 benedikt@vitruvius.ar.utexas.edu (Michael Benedikt)
 vdongen@prlb.philips.be
 <HMANIKAT%GRPATVX1.BITNET@uccvm.nyu.edu>
 patat@prl.dec.com
 stuehler@pilot.njin.net (David Stuehler)
 newmedia!jim@pws.bull.com (Jim Beveridge)
 stern@nprdc.navy.mil (Hervey Stern)
 bene homann <tubprz!bene@relay.eu.net>
 Rex Clark <rexclark@ux1.cso.uiuc.edu>
 Paul-Andre Pays <pays@mars.emse.fr>
 Pekka.Nikander@ngs.fi
 mis@seiden.com (Mark Seiden)
 levisonm@qucis.queensu.ca (Mark Levison)
 dupuy@hudson.cs.columbia.edu (Alexander Dupuy)
 MIKE_H@UWAV1.U.WASHINGTON.EDU
 cvelotta%cipc1.dayton.ncr.com@relay.cs.net (Chris Velotta)
 Karl Held <karl%ncrspks.sparks.ncr.com@relay.cs.net>
 mlowery%se-sd.sandiego.ncr.com@relay.cs.net
 malcolmp@otc.research.otca.oz.au
 turtle@usenix.org (Will Tait)
 roseman%rd1632.dayton.ncr.com@relay.cs.net
 bhagat%kong.atlanta.ncr.com@relay.cs.net
 Michel Lacroix <lacroix@prlb.philips.be>
 PTADC@lv.sait.edu.au
 Dick Dramstad <rad@mbunix.mitre.org>
 "LT. BILL NACE" <naceb@gw1.hanscom.af.mil>
 yaturner@corp.sun.com (D'arc Angel)
 WMcBride%TSS%SwRI05@d15vs178a.space.swri.edu
 Dong-Lok Kim <dong@blake.u.washington.edu>
 wolves.uucp!hebert@mcnc.org (Jim Hebert)
 ssteinbe@polyslo.calpoly.edu (Sarah Steinberg)
 pbc%pbc@uunet.uu.net (Paul Cotton)
 rjh@btc.kodak.com (Rod Holland)
 ken%willow.wpd.sgi.com@sgi.com (Ken Kershner)
 lynn@othello.ras.amdahl.com (Lynn Robinson)
 Kevin Long <klong@wilkins.iaims.bcm.tmc.edu>
 lucenius@tel.vtt.fi (VTT/TEL)
 vickers@trident.datasys.swri.edu (David Vickers)
 kobryn@esosun.css.gov (Cris Kobryn)
 jkay%cs@ucsd.edu (Jonathan Kay)
 kgarimel@hobbes.intel.com (Krishna Garimella)
 polari!davego@sumax.seattleu.edu
 Wenjing Zhu <wzhu@cs.ubc.ca>
 warlock1!warlock!gregb@uunet.uu.net (Gregory S. Baber)
 Mark Abel <markabel@yuppieio.uswest.com>
 cpqhou!marks@uunet.uu.net (Mark Stout  @sys tec@se hou rm9896)
 banyc!atina!shiva!os@uunet.uu.net (Oscar Sznajder)
 mcrware!optimage!stevem@uunet.uu.net (Steve McClellan)
 Ben Cox <bc@uxa.cso.uiuc.edu>
 durgesh@shakti.ernet.in
 barr@mot.com (John R. Barr)
 john@rtxirl.ie (John Keegan)
 jeff@retina.mitre.org (Jeff Graber)
 sam@apogee.esl.com (Sam Hahn)
 microsoft!randyom@uunet.uu.net
 Karl Mutch <karl@bks.co.nz>
 eivind@forit.forut.no (Eivind Rinde)
 Guido van Rossum <guido@cwi.nl>
 herri%emperor@gatech.edu (Herri Gunawan)
 "Lee  L.J. Chen" <lchen@cs.ubc.ca>
 san@artemis.ibp.fr (Harry SANTOSO)

Votes against comp.multimedia as proposed in the Call for Votes:

 david@elroy.jpl.nasa.gov (David Robinson)
 Bill Sommerfeld <wesommer@athena.mit.edu>
 uvmark!todd@uunet.uu.net (Todd Cooper)
 Kurt Baumann <kdb@intercon.com>
 bond!pawan@bellcore.bellcore.com (Pawan Misra)
 cdr@brahms.amd.com (Carl Rigney)
 John Lacey <basho!john@cis.ohio-state.edu>



 
USENET FACT: Big-8
BIG-8 hierarchies are the 8 traditional top hierarchies of the Usenet. See the following page for more