• Your Trusted Usenet Provider
  • Secure, Private, Unlimited

Newsgroups Main » Newsgroups Directory » Computers - Non-OS » Organizations

Association for Computing Machinery ( comp.org.acm )
 
From [email protected] Mon Sep 27 12:32:25 1993
Xref: rpi comp.lang.sigplan:60 comp.org.ieee:578 news.groups:22804 news.announce.newgroups:936
Newsgroups: comp.lang.sigplan,comp.org.ieee,news.groups,news.announce.newgroups
Path: rpi!tale
From: [email protected] (Theo Heavey)
Subject: CFD:  comp.org.acm
Followup-To: news.groups
Sender: [email protected]
Nntp-Posting-Host: cs.rpi.edu
Organization: Florida Atlantic University
Date: 11 Mar 91 02:50:00 GMT
Approved: [email protected]
Lines: 29

FORMAL CALL FOR DISCUSSION ------- COMP.ORG.ACM
***********************************************

Name: comp.org.acm

Moderator: none

Purpose: The motto (or at least one of them) for the ACM is "Keep the
information flowing".  This is precisely the intent of this USENET
conference.  The ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) is
comprised of over 80,000 members located throughout the world who
interact on many levels.  These levels include student and local
chapters as well as the association level.

The inherent purpose is to keep the information flowing between these
levels and individual members.  This greater connectivity will not
only benefit the organization as a whole but will also help educate
those not in the organization about the future of computing, computer
education, computer legislation and various professional issues in
computing (ie. certification).

This conference will serve as the basis for all of these discussions
until such time as seperate conferences are necessary for a more
detailed discussion of a specific topic area (eg, a seperate
conference for various SIGs [special interest groups] like SIGGRAPH).

This discussion will be deferred to the conference news.groups and
will be culminated in a formal call for votes if there is no
outstanding opposition on 3/24/91.

From [email protected] Wed Apr  5 19:27:37 1995
Xref: rpi news.announce.newgroups:980 comp.org.ieee:599 news.groups:23517
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,comp.org.ieee,news.groups,fau.org.acm
Path: rpi!bounce-back
From: [email protected] (Theo Heavey)
Subject: CFV:  comp.org.acm
Followup-To: poster
Sender: [email protected]
Nntp-Posting-Host: cs.rpi.edu
Reply-To: [email protected]
Organization: Florida Atlantic University
Date: 25 Mar 91 03:41:09 GMT
Approved: [email protected]
Lines: 32

CALL FOR VOTES

comp.org.acm

To help create a more cohesive communications base for members of
or those people interested in the educational and professional 
not-for-profit organization called Association for Computing Machinery
(ACM).

Not moderated.

Voting information:
------------------

The vote MUST be sent to :
                [email protected]
        or      [email protected]

Subject line should state either:
        YES --- create comp.org.acm
    or  NO  --- do NOT create comp.org.acm

Voting will take place from 3/25/91 00:00 EST through 4/16/91 23:59 EST
in conformance with USENET procedures.

Also in accordance with USENET procedures, the YES amount of votes
must be 2/3 (or greater) of all votes received AND must be at least
100 votes greater than the No amount for the establishment of the
conference.

There will be no allowance of CONDITIONAL votes (ie, I would vote yes
if ...)

From [email protected] Mon Sep 11 16:15:59 1995
Xref: rpi news.announce.newgroups:1064 news.groups:25002 comp.org.ieee:623 comp.lang.sigplan:67
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,comp.org.ieee,fau.org.acm,comp.lang.sigplan
Path: rpi!bounce-back
From: Theo Heavey <[email protected]>
Subject: RESULT:  comp.org.acm passes 216: 12
Followup-To: news.groups
Sender: [email protected]
Nntp-Posting-Host: cs.rpi.edu
Date: 19 Apr 91 05:36:27 GMT
Approved: [email protected]
Lines: 236
Status: O
X-Status: 

Votes are listed in the order received and have associated names where
possible.

YES VOTES RECEIVED
==================
"[email protected]"  "Jeff Martens"
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]"  "Mario Barbacci"
"[email protected]"  "Neil Rickert"
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]" "Eric Carroll"
"[email protected]"  "Keith Lakeman"
<[email protected]> "Julianne Fitzgerald"
"[email protected]"
[email protected]
"[email protected]" "Paivi Helena Hyvarinen Ti-88"
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]"  "Ibrahim Tannir"
"[email protected]" "Tim Ramsey"
[email protected] (Chip Rosenthal)
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]"   "Michael John Pilling"
[email protected] (William F Phillips)
Cathi A Cook <[email protected]>
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]"  "Ralf Treinen"
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]" "David Nadler"
"[email protected]"  "Dave Mason"
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]" "Alan Terlep"
"[email protected]" "David Nadler"
"[email protected]"  "Changpeng Fan"
"[email protected]"  "Bj|rn Lisper"
"[email protected]"  "Kenneth Maier"
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]"  "Karen Ward"
"[email protected]"  "Sean P. Engelson"
"[email protected]"
[email protected] "Peter da Silva"
"[email protected]" "Bill Wake"
"[email protected]"  "Thomas Lapp"
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]" Michelangelo Grigni
"[email protected]"  "David H. Thornley"
"[email protected]"  "David S. Wise"
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]" Daniel Faigin
"[email protected]"
"Judith D. Schlesinger" <[email protected]>
"J. Craig Farrar" <[email protected]>
"[email protected]" Shari Feldman
[email protected] (FARROW JEFFREY SCOTT)
"[email protected]"  "Peter Whittaker"
"[email protected]"  "Selmer Moen"
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]" Arnold Robbins
"[email protected]" "Michael Clore"
"[email protected]"  "Cindy Starr"
"[email protected]" Steve Dempsey
"[email protected]" Steve Lamont
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]"  Sam Uselton
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]" "Ben L. Di Vito"
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]"  "Joe Ward"
"[email protected]" Dave Sielaff
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]" Jeff Schweiger
"[email protected]" "Peter Schlenk"
Paul Dourish <[email protected]>
Peter Edward Popovich <[email protected]>
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]" Rich McAllister
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]"  "Matthew Lyle"
"[email protected]"  "Charles Shub"
"[email protected]"
"[email protected]"  "Andrew Raphael"
"[email protected]"  "Renato Iannella"
"scott@nbc1.ge.com"  "Scott Barman"
David Richardson" <B645ZAX@UTARLG.UTA.EDU>
"jesup@cbmvax.cbm.commodore.com"
"goehring@gnu.ai.mit.edu"
Art Nicolaysen <art@wciu.edu>
"amyf%tekig5.pen.tek.com@RELAY.CS.NET"
"georgeb@susan.fai.com"
"rnelson1@arnold.d.umn.edu"
"chip@allegra.att.com"
"nahum%unreal@cs.umass.EDU"
"cdr@AMD.COM" Carl Rigney
peter@taronga.hackercorp.com
"marc@dumbcat.sf.ca.us"  "Marco S Hyman"
"rhb@mstr.hgc.EDU" Roger H. Brown
"rick@crick.ssctr.bcm.tmc.EDU"  "Richard H. Miller"
"shoulson@husc9.harvard.edu"
"rasit@cs.UAlberta.CA" M. Rasit Eskicioglu
"jfh@rpp386.Cactus.ORG"
"ewoods@hemel.bull.co.uk" Eoin Woods
"tygra!dave@sharkey.cc.umich.EDU" David R. Conrad
"kellie@hsvaic.boeing.com"
"mark@drd.mcs.utulsa.EDU"
"rsk@juniper.circ.upenn.EDU"
"red@iti.org"  "Ronald E. Dalton"
"fergus%capsogeti.fr@magic.uucp"  "Fergus O'Reilly"
"dhinz@yardbird"
"rfj@trident.boeing.com"
"applgate@cs.arizona.edu"  "John P. Applegate"
"shack@cs.arizona.edu"  "David Shackelford"
"rabin@osf.org"
"TRUMBULL@sdcprm.pri.sas.com"
codex!calm@uunet.UU.NET   Fred Calm
"ehb@erebus.att.com"
"cj@wisvr.att.com"
"urlichs@smurf.sub.org"  "Matthias Urlichs"
"millbrook!lrj@fibercom.com" Larry Johnson
"DFM@dartmouth.EDU"     Danno McKinnon
"davisp@SCL.CWRU.EDU"  "Palmer Davis"
attain!teda!jeffy@apple.com  Jeffrey Youngston
danj1@cbnewse.att.com
"kentrox!roy@uunet.UU.NET"
"tep@tots.Logicon.COM"        Tom Perrine
"dfinkel@oak.WPI.EDU"        David Finkel
"rsridhar@eng.buffalo.EDU"   Ramalingam Sridhar
"kirk@ico.isc.com"
"elm@sprite.Berkeley.EDU"
"sequent!techbook.com!laura@uunet.UU.NET"
"valentic@thesis1.med.uth.tmc.EDU"  "John Valentich"
"nkaruppi@sdcc13.UCSD.EDU"
"stpierre@Eng.Sun.COM"  Bob (Pete) St.Pierre
"Dave Caplinger" <acmpres@zeus.unomaha.edu>
"cjoslyn@bingvaxu.cc.binghamton.EDU"  "Cliff Joslyn"
Robin M. O'Leary <csrobin@uk.ac.swan.pyr>
Henry (H.W.) Troup <HWT@BNR.CA>
"cova@polar.fiu.EDU" Luis L. Cova
"talmage@luvthang.aquin.ori-cal.com" David W. Talmage
"J. Eric Townsend" <JET@uh.EDU>
"domo@tsa.co.uk"  "Dominic Dunlop"
"stu@mvieee.sunyct.EDU"  "Stu Card"
"jDo@polaris.scs.com"
"mcb@presto.ig.com" Michael C. Berch
"cuccia@duct-tape.nas.nasa.GOV"   Nick Cuccia
"paulA@minster.york.ac.uk"
Jim Teresco <92_terescoj%union.decnet@gar.union.EDU>
"uc212acm@gar.union.EDU"  Union College ACM Student Chapter
"consult%union.decnet@gar.union.EDU" Student Consultants
"butts@oceana.crd.ge.com" Candy Butts
"llsmith@super.org"  "Lauren L. Smith"
"bms@concerto.Convergent.COM"  "Bruce Schlobohm"
"kentrox!ktxs1!kay@uunet.UU.NET"
"root@mercury.uregina.ca"  Jason Walters
"fuat@cunixf.cc.columbia.edu"  "Fuat C. Baran"
"david@dhw68k.cts.com" David H. Wolfskill
"hbchen@evax.uta.EDU"
"rcs61423@zach.fit.EDU"
billtcat.bbs@cs.fau.edu  (Matthew Barton)
rsridhar@eng.buffalo.edu (Dr. R. Sridhar)
"whitmos@mist.CS.ORST.EDU"  "Shannon Whitmore"
"sshankar@cs.umn.edu"  "Subash Shankar"
"fm02%harvey@gte.com"
"Irving_Wolfe@happym.wa.com"
"mindcrf!ronnie@ames.arc.nasa.GOV" Ronnie B. Kon
"cos@chaos.cs.brandeis.EDU"  "Ofer Inbar"
"jeff@unicorn.cc.wwu.EDU"     Jeff Wandling
"yoshio@ucrmath.ucr.EDU" Yoshio Nakamura
"kddlab!sdl990.sdl.hitachi.co.jp!nojiri@uunet.UU.NET"
"mike@cygnus.ACS.CalPoly.EDU"
"sorensen@atc.boeing.com"  "Paul Sorensen"
"kddlab!sdl990.sdl.hitachi.co.jp!nojiri@uunet.UU.NET"
"rrh@SEI.CMU.EDU"  "Robert Holibaugh"
 Milamber <KRUEGEWA@cab.mrs.umn.edu>
"83882319@ucs.UWPLATT.EDU"  Cory Hug
"melby@daffy.yk.fujitsu.co.jp"
"ron.bbs@shark.cs.fau.EDU"      Ron Bassett
"moss@cs.umass.EDU"             J. Eliot B. Moss
"menissie@margaux.inria.fr"  "Valerie Menissier"
"agm@cs.brown.edu"        Axel Merk Brown U. ACM, Chairman
"MANISH@brownvm.brown.edu"  "Manish Butte"
"92_morrise@gar.union.EDU"  "Morris, Elizabeth"
"duncan@ctt.bellcore.com"  "Scott Duncan"
 RUDOLPH@ucs.uwplatt.edu Brian A. Rudolph
"gvr@cs.brown.edu"   George V. Reilly
SCHOTT@ucs.uwplatt.edu Kevin C. Schott
SCANLAN@ucs.uwplatt.edu T. SCANLAN
"dowlati@mips2.ma30.bull.com" Saadat Dowlati
Bill Zwicky <50723995@ucs.uwplatt.edu>
"pyr440@oz.plymouth.edu"   Tim Miller
"bonzanigo@nimbus.ethz.ch"  "Federico Bonzanigo"
"taichi!haim@bellcore.bellcore.com"  Haim Kilov
"ctuel@polyslo.CalPoly.EDU"
"jschnitz@polyslo.CalPoly.EDU"
"merlin@ieee.org" Burt Juda
"booga@polyslo.CalPoly.EDU"
"jkusters@polyslo.CalPoly.EDU"
"lell@dec2.wu-wien.ac.at" Christoph Lell
"scs@iti.org"  "Steve Simmons"
"sundance@rpi.EDU"  "Mitchell E. Gold"
"stevep@dgp.toronto.edu"  "Stephen Portigal"
"myer@mar.webo.dg.com"
"92_calkinsc@gar.union.EDU"  "Calkins, Charles"
"wisner@ims.alaska.EDU"  "Bill Wisner"
"ec1k+@andrew.cmu.EDU"  "Edward P. Costello"
"cts%dragon.UUCP@mathcs.emory.EDU"
 FAUVAX::REEVES417
"jrp@rducky.UUCP" Jim Pickering
"exubho@exurchn1.ericsson.se" Blake Holman
"zaft@suned1.Nswses.Navy.MIL" Gordon Zaft
"commandr@sage.cc.purdue.edu"
"enag@ifi.uio.no"  "Erik Naggum"
"Harri.Salminen@funet.fi"  "Harri K Salminen"
aszanoni@vela.acs.oakland.edu (Ariel*---the Fairhair)

NO VOTES RECEIVED
=================
"rcharman@phoenix.Princeton.EDU" "Robert Craig Harman"
"bryden@freezer.acs.udel.EDU"  "Christopher Bryden"
"marcuss@sol.cs.fau.EDU"  "Scott Marcus"
"charleen@ads.com"
"david@elroy.Jpl.Nasa.Gov" David Robinson
"rcd@ico.isc.com"  "Dick Dunn"
"autodesk!melange!abeals@fernwood.mpk.ca.us"
"rudolf@curano.imp.com"
"rob@genrad.com"
"basho!john@cis.ohio-state.edu"  "John Lacey"
"ado@elsie.nci.nih.gov" Arthur David Olson
"cidzerda@polyslo.CalPoly.EDU"

 
USENET FACT: Flaming
Flaming is the hostile interaction between multiple Usenet users.