• Your Trusted Usenet Provider
  • Secure, Private, Unlimited

Newsgroups Main » Newsgroups Directory » Computers - Non-OS » Organizations

Association for Computing Machinery ( comp.org.acm )
 
From theo.bbs@shark.cs.fau.edu Mon Sep 27 12:32:25 1993
Xref: rpi comp.lang.sigplan:60 comp.org.ieee:578 news.groups:22804 news.announce.newgroups:936
Newsgroups: comp.lang.sigplan,comp.org.ieee,news.groups,news.announce.newgroups
Path: rpi!tale
From: theo.bbs@shark.cs.fau.edu (Theo Heavey)
Subject: CFD:  comp.org.acm
Followup-To: news.groups
Sender: tale@cs.rpi.edu
Nntp-Posting-Host: cs.rpi.edu
Organization: Florida Atlantic University
Date: 11 Mar 91 02:50:00 GMT
Approved: tale@rpi.edu
Lines: 29

FORMAL CALL FOR DISCUSSION ------- COMP.ORG.ACM
***********************************************

Name: comp.org.acm

Moderator: none

Purpose: The motto (or at least one of them) for the ACM is "Keep the
information flowing".  This is precisely the intent of this USENET
conference.  The ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) is
comprised of over 80,000 members located throughout the world who
interact on many levels.  These levels include student and local
chapters as well as the association level.

The inherent purpose is to keep the information flowing between these
levels and individual members.  This greater connectivity will not
only benefit the organization as a whole but will also help educate
those not in the organization about the future of computing, computer
education, computer legislation and various professional issues in
computing (ie. certification).

This conference will serve as the basis for all of these discussions
until such time as seperate conferences are necessary for a more
detailed discussion of a specific topic area (eg, a seperate
conference for various SIGs [special interest groups] like SIGGRAPH).

This discussion will be deferred to the conference news.groups and
will be culminated in a formal call for votes if there is no
outstanding opposition on 3/24/91.

From theo.bbs@shark.cs.fau.edu Wed Apr  5 19:27:37 1995
Xref: rpi news.announce.newgroups:980 comp.org.ieee:599 news.groups:23517
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,comp.org.ieee,news.groups,fau.org.acm
Path: rpi!bounce-back
From: theo.bbs@shark.cs.fau.edu (Theo Heavey)
Subject: CFV:  comp.org.acm
Followup-To: poster
Sender: tale@cs.rpi.edu
Nntp-Posting-Host: cs.rpi.edu
Reply-To: FAUACM@acc.fau.edu
Organization: Florida Atlantic University
Date: 25 Mar 91 03:41:09 GMT
Approved: tale@rpi.edu
Lines: 32

CALL FOR VOTES

comp.org.acm

To help create a more cohesive communications base for members of
or those people interested in the educational and professional 
not-for-profit organization called Association for Computing Machinery
(ACM).

Not moderated.

Voting information:
------------------

The vote MUST be sent to :
                FAUACM@SERVAX.BITNET
        or      FAUACM@acc.fau.edu

Subject line should state either:
        YES --- create comp.org.acm
    or  NO  --- do NOT create comp.org.acm

Voting will take place from 3/25/91 00:00 EST through 4/16/91 23:59 EST
in conformance with USENET procedures.

Also in accordance with USENET procedures, the YES amount of votes
must be 2/3 (or greater) of all votes received AND must be at least
100 votes greater than the No amount for the establishment of the
conference.

There will be no allowance of CONDITIONAL votes (ie, I would vote yes
if ...)

From theo@tuna.cs.fau.edu Mon Sep 11 16:15:59 1995
Xref: rpi news.announce.newgroups:1064 news.groups:25002 comp.org.ieee:623 comp.lang.sigplan:67
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,comp.org.ieee,fau.org.acm,comp.lang.sigplan
Path: rpi!bounce-back
From: Theo Heavey <theo@tuna.cs.fau.edu>
Subject: RESULT:  comp.org.acm passes 216: 12
Followup-To: news.groups
Sender: tale@cs.rpi.edu
Nntp-Posting-Host: cs.rpi.edu
Date: 19 Apr 91 05:36:27 GMT
Approved: tale@rpi.edu
Lines: 236
Status: O
X-Status: 

Votes are listed in the order received and have associated names where
possible.

YES VOTES RECEIVED
==================
"martens@cis.ohio-state.edu"  "Jeff Martens"
"brendan@cs.widner.EDU"
"varnau@cs.purdue.edu"
"mrb@SEI.CMU.EDU"  "Mario Barbacci"
"rickert@cs.niu.EDU"  "Neil Rickert"
"wald@theory.lcs.mit.edu"
"eric@cathaus.utcs.utoronto.ca" "Eric Carroll"
"klakeman@plains.NoDak.EDU"  "Keith Lakeman"
<FITZGEJN@BCVMS> "Julianne Fitzgerald"
"Joshua.R.Poulson@cyber.widener.EDU"
ucarb%athena@csus.edu
"paivi@vipunen.hut.fi" "Paivi Helena Hyvarinen Ti-88"
"chk@rice.EDU"
"nigel@ATHENA.MIT.EDU"
"tannir@udel.EDU"  "Ibrahim Tannir"
"tar@math.ksu.EDU" "Tim Ramsey"
chip@chinacat.unicom.com (Chip Rosenthal)
"spencer@spline.eecs.umich.EDU"
"bigm@cs.uq.oz.au"   "Michael John Pilling"
wfp@world.std.com (William F Phillips)
Cathi A Cook <cook@rpi.edu>
"woolstar@cobalt.cco.caltech.edu"
"yxoc@cs.uni-sb.de"  "Ralf Treinen"
"cmh@phoebus.larc.nasa.GOV"
"dnadler@ncrsoph.sophia.ncr.fr" "David Nadler"
"tmsoft!mason@uunet.UU.NET"  "Dave Mason"
"tosmith@vela.acs.oakland.EDU"
"atterlep@vela.acs.oakland.EDU" "Alan Terlep"
"dnadler@ncrsoph.sophia.ncr.fr" "David Nadler"
"fan@opal.cs.tu-berlin.de"  "Changpeng Fan"
"bjornl@sics.se"  "Bj|rn Lisper"
"ken@shark.cs.fau.EDU"  "Kenneth Maier"
"peterson@choctaw.csc.ti.com"
"wardk@cse.ogi.EDU"  "Karen Ward"
"engelson@CS.YALE.EDU"  "Sean P. Engelson"
"noorder@grad1.cis.upenn.EDU"
peter@taronga.hackercorp.com "Peter da Silva"
"wakewc@csgrad.cs.vt.EDU" "Bill Wake"
"thomas%mvac23.uucp@udel.EDU"  "Thomas Lapp"
"sean@hcx2.SSD.CSD.HARRIS.COM"
"mic@theory.lcs.mit.edu" Michelangelo Grigni
"thornley@cs.umn.edu"  "David H. Thornley"
"dswise@seafox.cs.indiana.EDU"  "David S. Wise"
"xanadu!thelema!STella@uunet.uu.NET"
"faigin@aerospace.aero.org" Daniel Faigin
"hemant@wpi.WPI.EDU"
"Judith D. Schlesinger" <judith@SUPER.ORG>
"J. Craig Farrar" <FARRAR@OUACCVMB>
"kong!shari@gatech.edu" Shari Feldman
farrow@spot.Colorado.EDU (FARROW JEFFREY SCOTT)
"PWW@BNR.CA"  "Peter Whittaker"
"moen@plains.NoDak.EDU"  "Selmer Moen"
"candy@grumpy.ssc.GOV"
"blackburn@virginia.EDU"
"arnold@audiofax.com" Arnold Robbins
"CLORE@OHSTPHRM.PHARMACY.OHIO-STATE.EDU" "Michael Clore"
"cindy@cesdis2.gsfc.nasa.GOV"  "Cindy Starr"
"steved@longs.LANCE.ColoState.EDU" Steve Dempsey
"slamont@network.UCSD.EDU" Steve Lamont
"achill@mars.njit.EDU"
"mikeg@c3.c3.lanl.GOV"
"srchtec!monica@uu.psi.com"
"dworkin@habitrail.Solbourne.COM"
"uselton@wk207.nas.nasa.GOV"  Sam Uselton
"warack@zip.eecs.umich.EDU"
"bld@air12.larc.nasa.GOV" "Ben L. Di Vito"
"mellon@nigiri.pa.dec.com"
"news@relay.nswc.navy.MIL"
"WARD@RTPARK.RTP.SEMI.HARRIS.COM"  "Joe Ward"
"ds@juniper.cray.com" Dave Sielaff
"mikel@mozart.AMD.COM"
"schweige@taurus.cs.nps.navy.MIL" Jeff Schweiger
"Peter.Schlenk@informatik.uni-erlangen.de" "Peter Schlenk"
Paul Dourish <Dourish@europarc.xerox.com>
Peter Edward Popovich <POPOVICH@UCF1VM>
"liz@cps.altadena.ca.us"
"finkbine@jupiter.nmt.EDU"
"francia@jupiter.nmt.EDU"
"rfm@Eng.Sun.COM" Rich McAllister
"moliver@shadow.pyramid.com"
"matt@convex.mitek.com"  "Matthew Lyle"
"cdash@anchor.Colorado.EDU"  "Charles Shub"
"maine@maine.net.com"
"raphael@research.canon.oz.au"  "Andrew Raphael"
"ren@surf.sics.bu.oz.au"  "Renato Iannella"
"scott@nbc1.ge.com"  "Scott Barman"
David Richardson" <B645ZAX@UTARLG.UTA.EDU>
"jesup@cbmvax.cbm.commodore.com"
"goehring@gnu.ai.mit.edu"
Art Nicolaysen <art@wciu.edu>
"amyf%tekig5.pen.tek.com@RELAY.CS.NET"
"georgeb@susan.fai.com"
"rnelson1@arnold.d.umn.edu"
"chip@allegra.att.com"
"nahum%unreal@cs.umass.EDU"
"cdr@AMD.COM" Carl Rigney
peter@taronga.hackercorp.com
"marc@dumbcat.sf.ca.us"  "Marco S Hyman"
"rhb@mstr.hgc.EDU" Roger H. Brown
"rick@crick.ssctr.bcm.tmc.EDU"  "Richard H. Miller"
"shoulson@husc9.harvard.edu"
"rasit@cs.UAlberta.CA" M. Rasit Eskicioglu
"jfh@rpp386.Cactus.ORG"
"ewoods@hemel.bull.co.uk" Eoin Woods
"tygra!dave@sharkey.cc.umich.EDU" David R. Conrad
"kellie@hsvaic.boeing.com"
"mark@drd.mcs.utulsa.EDU"
"rsk@juniper.circ.upenn.EDU"
"red@iti.org"  "Ronald E. Dalton"
"fergus%capsogeti.fr@magic.uucp"  "Fergus O'Reilly"
"dhinz@yardbird"
"rfj@trident.boeing.com"
"applgate@cs.arizona.edu"  "John P. Applegate"
"shack@cs.arizona.edu"  "David Shackelford"
"rabin@osf.org"
"TRUMBULL@sdcprm.pri.sas.com"
codex!calm@uunet.UU.NET   Fred Calm
"ehb@erebus.att.com"
"cj@wisvr.att.com"
"urlichs@smurf.sub.org"  "Matthias Urlichs"
"millbrook!lrj@fibercom.com" Larry Johnson
"DFM@dartmouth.EDU"     Danno McKinnon
"davisp@SCL.CWRU.EDU"  "Palmer Davis"
attain!teda!jeffy@apple.com  Jeffrey Youngston
danj1@cbnewse.att.com
"kentrox!roy@uunet.UU.NET"
"tep@tots.Logicon.COM"        Tom Perrine
"dfinkel@oak.WPI.EDU"        David Finkel
"rsridhar@eng.buffalo.EDU"   Ramalingam Sridhar
"kirk@ico.isc.com"
"elm@sprite.Berkeley.EDU"
"sequent!techbook.com!laura@uunet.UU.NET"
"valentic@thesis1.med.uth.tmc.EDU"  "John Valentich"
"nkaruppi@sdcc13.UCSD.EDU"
"stpierre@Eng.Sun.COM"  Bob (Pete) St.Pierre
"Dave Caplinger" <acmpres@zeus.unomaha.edu>
"cjoslyn@bingvaxu.cc.binghamton.EDU"  "Cliff Joslyn"
Robin M. O'Leary <csrobin@uk.ac.swan.pyr>
Henry (H.W.) Troup <HWT@BNR.CA>
"cova@polar.fiu.EDU" Luis L. Cova
"talmage@luvthang.aquin.ori-cal.com" David W. Talmage
"J. Eric Townsend" <JET@uh.EDU>
"domo@tsa.co.uk"  "Dominic Dunlop"
"stu@mvieee.sunyct.EDU"  "Stu Card"
"jDo@polaris.scs.com"
"mcb@presto.ig.com" Michael C. Berch
"cuccia@duct-tape.nas.nasa.GOV"   Nick Cuccia
"paulA@minster.york.ac.uk"
Jim Teresco <92_terescoj%union.decnet@gar.union.EDU>
"uc212acm@gar.union.EDU"  Union College ACM Student Chapter
"consult%union.decnet@gar.union.EDU" Student Consultants
"butts@oceana.crd.ge.com" Candy Butts
"llsmith@super.org"  "Lauren L. Smith"
"bms@concerto.Convergent.COM"  "Bruce Schlobohm"
"kentrox!ktxs1!kay@uunet.UU.NET"
"root@mercury.uregina.ca"  Jason Walters
"fuat@cunixf.cc.columbia.edu"  "Fuat C. Baran"
"david@dhw68k.cts.com" David H. Wolfskill
"hbchen@evax.uta.EDU"
"rcs61423@zach.fit.EDU"
billtcat.bbs@cs.fau.edu  (Matthew Barton)
rsridhar@eng.buffalo.edu (Dr. R. Sridhar)
"whitmos@mist.CS.ORST.EDU"  "Shannon Whitmore"
"sshankar@cs.umn.edu"  "Subash Shankar"
"fm02%harvey@gte.com"
"Irving_Wolfe@happym.wa.com"
"mindcrf!ronnie@ames.arc.nasa.GOV" Ronnie B. Kon
"cos@chaos.cs.brandeis.EDU"  "Ofer Inbar"
"jeff@unicorn.cc.wwu.EDU"     Jeff Wandling
"yoshio@ucrmath.ucr.EDU" Yoshio Nakamura
"kddlab!sdl990.sdl.hitachi.co.jp!nojiri@uunet.UU.NET"
"mike@cygnus.ACS.CalPoly.EDU"
"sorensen@atc.boeing.com"  "Paul Sorensen"
"kddlab!sdl990.sdl.hitachi.co.jp!nojiri@uunet.UU.NET"
"rrh@SEI.CMU.EDU"  "Robert Holibaugh"
 Milamber <KRUEGEWA@cab.mrs.umn.edu>
"83882319@ucs.UWPLATT.EDU"  Cory Hug
"melby@daffy.yk.fujitsu.co.jp"
"ron.bbs@shark.cs.fau.EDU"      Ron Bassett
"moss@cs.umass.EDU"             J. Eliot B. Moss
"menissie@margaux.inria.fr"  "Valerie Menissier"
"agm@cs.brown.edu"        Axel Merk Brown U. ACM, Chairman
"MANISH@brownvm.brown.edu"  "Manish Butte"
"92_morrise@gar.union.EDU"  "Morris, Elizabeth"
"duncan@ctt.bellcore.com"  "Scott Duncan"
 RUDOLPH@ucs.uwplatt.edu Brian A. Rudolph
"gvr@cs.brown.edu"   George V. Reilly
SCHOTT@ucs.uwplatt.edu Kevin C. Schott
SCANLAN@ucs.uwplatt.edu T. SCANLAN
"dowlati@mips2.ma30.bull.com" Saadat Dowlati
Bill Zwicky <50723995@ucs.uwplatt.edu>
"pyr440@oz.plymouth.edu"   Tim Miller
"bonzanigo@nimbus.ethz.ch"  "Federico Bonzanigo"
"taichi!haim@bellcore.bellcore.com"  Haim Kilov
"ctuel@polyslo.CalPoly.EDU"
"jschnitz@polyslo.CalPoly.EDU"
"merlin@ieee.org" Burt Juda
"booga@polyslo.CalPoly.EDU"
"jkusters@polyslo.CalPoly.EDU"
"lell@dec2.wu-wien.ac.at" Christoph Lell
"scs@iti.org"  "Steve Simmons"
"sundance@rpi.EDU"  "Mitchell E. Gold"
"stevep@dgp.toronto.edu"  "Stephen Portigal"
"myer@mar.webo.dg.com"
"92_calkinsc@gar.union.EDU"  "Calkins, Charles"
"wisner@ims.alaska.EDU"  "Bill Wisner"
"ec1k+@andrew.cmu.EDU"  "Edward P. Costello"
"cts%dragon.UUCP@mathcs.emory.EDU"
 FAUVAX::REEVES417
"jrp@rducky.UUCP" Jim Pickering
"exubho@exurchn1.ericsson.se" Blake Holman
"zaft@suned1.Nswses.Navy.MIL" Gordon Zaft
"commandr@sage.cc.purdue.edu"
"enag@ifi.uio.no"  "Erik Naggum"
"Harri.Salminen@funet.fi"  "Harri K Salminen"
aszanoni@vela.acs.oakland.edu (Ariel*---the Fairhair)

NO VOTES RECEIVED
=================
"rcharman@phoenix.Princeton.EDU" "Robert Craig Harman"
"bryden@freezer.acs.udel.EDU"  "Christopher Bryden"
"marcuss@sol.cs.fau.EDU"  "Scott Marcus"
"charleen@ads.com"
"david@elroy.Jpl.Nasa.Gov" David Robinson
"rcd@ico.isc.com"  "Dick Dunn"
"autodesk!melange!abeals@fernwood.mpk.ca.us"
"rudolf@curano.imp.com"
"rob@genrad.com"
"basho!john@cis.ohio-state.edu"  "John Lacey"
"ado@elsie.nci.nih.gov" Arthur David Olson
"cidzerda@polyslo.CalPoly.EDU"

 
USENET FACT: Kill File
A set of filters setup to determine which user's posts will be read/downloaded or ignored.