• Your Trusted Usenet Provider
  • Secure, Private, Unlimited

Newsgroups Main » Newsgroups Directory » Computers - Non-OS » Organizations

Electronic Frontier Foundation, news (M) ( comp.org.eff.news )
 
From [email protected] Wed Jun  3 09:41:43 1992
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:2389 news.groups:52031 comp.org.eff.talk:8266
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,comp.org.eff.talk
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: [email protected] (Jamie Gritton)
Subject: RFD:  comp.org.eff.news moderated and comp.org.eff.talk
Message-ID: <[email protected]>
Followup-To: news.groups
Sender: [email protected] (David C Lawrence)
Organization: Brigham Young University, Provo UT USA
Date: Tue, 2 Jun 1992 19:20:13 GMT
Approved: [email protected]
Lines: 27

This is a Request For Discussion for the Usenet groups
comp.org.eff.news and comp.org.eff.talk.

Both groups already exist as part of the "inet" distribution, and are well
established. This RFD is to make them part of the official Usenet hierarchy.
The nature of the groups would not change, only their distribution.
Charters of the groups follow:

--
comp.org.eff.news	News from the Electronic Frontier Foundation. (Moderated)
Submission address:	[email protected]

comp.org.eff.news is the primary distribution medium of the Electronic
Frontier Foundation's online newsletter, _EFFector Online_, as well as
occasional short informational postings about upcoming EFF events,
gatherings, or appearances.

--
comp.org.eff.talk	Discussions about the electronic frontier & related issues.

comp.org.eff.talk is an unmoderated discussion group for issues relating to
the electronic frontier and the Electronic Frontier Foundation.  Topics
have included online censorship, the legal rights and responsibilities of
BBS system operators, and problems with differing national laws being
applied to international networks.
-- 
James Gritton - [email protected] - I disclaim

From [email protected] Mon Jul  6 17:40:56 1992
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:2493 news.groups:53742 comp.org.eff.talk:8936
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,comp.org.eff.talk
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: [email protected] (Jamie Gritton)
Subject: CFV: comp.org.eff.news moderated and comp.org.eff.talk
Message-ID: <[email protected]>
Followup-To: poster
Sender: [email protected] (David C Lawrence)
Reply-To: [email protected]
Organization: Brigham Young University, Provo UT USA
Date: Mon, 6 Jul 1992 18:15:30 GMT
Approved: [email protected]
Lines: 43

This is the Call For Votes for the Usenet groups
comp.org.eff.news and comp.org.eff.talk.

Both groups already exist as part of the "inet" distribution, and are well
established. This vote is to make them part of the official Usenet hierarchy.
The nature of the groups would not change, only their distribution.

To vote, send mail to [email protected], with the body of the message
containing lines of the form:
I vote Yes/No on comp.org.eff.news.
I vote Yes/No on comp.org.eff.talk.

- If a group is not named in the message, it will be counted as an abstention.

- If duplicate votes are received from the same address, the most recent vote
  will be counted.

- The voting period will end on Monday, 29 July 1992.

- If you have any problems with the vote, send mail to me ([email protected]).
  (I will be gone July 4-12, but will read all my mail on the 13th.)

Charters of the groups follow:

--
comp.org.eff.news	News from the Electronic Frontier Foundation. (Moderated)
Submission address:	[email protected]

comp.org.eff.news is the primary distribution medium of the Electronic
Frontier Foundation's online newsletter, _EFFector Online_, as well as
occasional short informational postings about upcoming EFF events,
gatherings, or appearances.

--
comp.org.eff.talk	Discussions about the electronic frontier & related issues.

comp.org.eff.talk is an unmoderated discussion group for issues relating to
the electronic frontier and the Electronic Frontier Foundation.  Topics
have included online censorship, the legal rights and responsibilities of
BBS system operators, and problems with differing national laws being
applied to international networks.
-- 
James Gritton - [email protected] - I disclaim

From [email protected] Thu Jul 16 12:01:15 1992
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:2532 news.groups:54260 comp.org.eff.talk:9050
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,comp.org.eff.talk
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: [email protected] (Jamie Gritton)
Subject: 2nd CFV: comp.org.eff.news moderated and comp.org.eff.talk
Message-ID: <[email protected]>
Followup-To: poster
Sender: [email protected] (David C Lawrence)
Reply-To: [email protected]
Organization: Brigham Young University, Provo UT USA
Date: Wed, 15 Jul 1992 22:22:45 GMT
Approved: [email protected]
Lines: 168

This is the Second Call For Votes for the Usenet groups
comp.org.eff.news and comp.org.eff.talk.

Both groups already exist as part of the "inet" distribution, and are well
established. This vote is to make them part of the official Usenet hierarchy.
The nature of the groups would not change, only their distribution.

To vote, send mail to [email protected], with the body of the message
containing lines of the form:
I vote Yes/No on comp.org.eff.news.
I vote Yes/No on comp.org.eff.talk.

* [email protected]: My vote-taking program was broken when you voted.
  Please re-cast your vote.

- If a group is not named in the message, it will be counted as an abstention.

- If duplicate votes are received from the same address, the most recent vote
  will be counted.

- The voting period will end on Wednesday, 29 July 1992.

- If you have any problems with the vote, send mail to me ([email protected]).

Charters of the groups follow:

--
comp.org.eff.news	News from the Electronic Frontier Foundation. (Moderated)
Submission address:	[email protected]

comp.org.eff.news is the primary distribution medium of the Electronic
Frontier Foundation's online newsletter, _EFFector Online_, as well as
occasional short informational postings about upcoming EFF events,
gatherings, or appearances.

--
comp.org.eff.talk	Discussions about the electronic frontier & related issues.

comp.org.eff.talk is an unmoderated discussion group for issues relating to
the electronic frontier and the Electronic Frontier Foundation.  Topics
have included online censorship, the legal rights and responsibilities of
BBS system operators, and problems with differing national laws being
applied to international networks.

-- 

Here's the list of votes received so far:

Alan Coopersmith <[email protected]>
Alan Dudley <[email protected]>
B.J. 07-Jul-1992 1524 <[email protected]>
Barry Margolin <[email protected]>
Brendan Kehoe <[email protected]>
Christopher Davis <[email protected]>
Clint Ruoho <[email protected]>
Craig Neidorf <[email protected]>
[email protected]
Daniel J. Weitzner <[email protected]>
Dave Farber <[email protected]>
Dave Murphy <[email protected]>
Ellen K. Seebacher <[email protected]>
Eric Hunt <[email protected]>
Erik Sowa <[email protected]>
Floyd Davidson <[email protected]>
Gerard Van der Leun <[email protected]>
[email protected] (Grant Crawford)
Hae-young Rieh Hwang <[email protected]>
Helen Trillian Rose <[email protected]>
[email protected] (Jack Winslade)
James R. Ault <[email protected]>
Jay Maynard <[email protected]>
Jim Lick <[email protected]>
John G Dobnick <[email protected]>
Juergen Christoffel <[email protected]>
Jyrki Kuoppala <[email protected]>
Keith Morgan <[email protected]>
Loren J. Miller <[email protected]>
Martin F. Terman <[email protected]>
Matt Hucke <[email protected]>
Michael Orr <[email protected]>
Mike Fessler <[email protected]>
Mike Godwin <[email protected]>
[email protected]
Ofer Inbar <[email protected]>
Richard P. Muller <[email protected]>
Rita Marie Rouvalis <[email protected]>
Saul Tannenbaum <[email protected]>
[email protected] (Scott Harrison)
Sendhil Revuluri <[email protected]>
[email protected]
Steve Wertheimer <[email protected]>
Sven Heinicke <[email protected]>
Ted Lemon <[email protected]>
Zach Kessin <[email protected]>
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected] (Sridhar Venkataraman)
[email protected] (Alan Baxter)
[email protected] (David Sternlight)
[email protected] (Andrew Hackard)
[email protected] (Andy Finkenstadt)
[email protected]
[email protected] (Stephanie da Silva)
[email protected] (Randall Atkinson)
[email protected]
[email protected] (John Perry Barlow)
[email protected] (Blake Farenthold)
[email protected] (Chris Galas)
[email protected] (Chip Rosenthal)
[email protected] (The Technicolour Throw-up)
[email protected] (Mike Coleman)
[email protected] (Kent Goeking)
[email protected] (David Stodolsky)
[email protected] (Richard A. Duggan)
[email protected] (Brian Eck)
[email protected] (Edward Vielmetti)
[email protected]
[email protected] (Life...)
[email protected] (Jamie Gritton)
[email protected] (Eiji Hirai)
[email protected]
huff@MCCLB0.MED.NYU.EDU (Edward J. Huff)
ian@airs.com (Ian Lance Taylor)
jbuck@ohm.Berkeley.EDU (Joe Buck)
jeffh@taurus.apple.com (Jeff Holcomb)
jfritz@rdrc.rpi.edu
jh@nbn.com (John Harkin)
jhawk@panix.com (John Hawkinson)
jra@bonito.wti.com (Jim Atkinson)
jsblau@panix.com (Jonathan Blau)
kc@netcom.com (Dameon D. Welch)
lelam%kuwait@Sun.COM (Len E. Elam)
lleonard@hayes.com
malloy@nprdc.navy.mil (Sean Malloy)
matwood%klages@cs.utah.edu
mc/G=Brad/S=Hicks/OU=0205925@mhs.attmail.com
michaelb@mars.cse.fau.edu (Michael Rogero Brown)
mlw@iscnvx.lmsc.lockheed.com (Martha L. Wilson)
news@wolves.Durham.NC.US (The Wolfe of the Den)
oplinger@ra.crd.ge.com (Brian Oplinger)
peterson@csc.csc.ti.com
pierre@kaboom.PRPA.Philips.COM (Pierre Uszynski)
rick@CRICK.SSCTR.bcm.tmc.edu (Richard H. Miller)
rogue@cellar.org
romero@stat.tamu.edu (Ron Romero)
rsnyder@fergie.dnet.ge.com (Bob Snyder)
russell@alpha3.ersys.edmonton.ab.ca (Russell Schulz)
rv@cs.brown.edu (rodrigo vanegas)
sethb@fid.Morgan.COM (Seth Breidbart)
shrdlu@willow.sdd.trw.com (Lynda L. True)
simona@panix.com (Simona Nass)
slick@netcom.com (Martin Veneroso)
smith@ncoast.org (Phil Smith)
spm2d@ash.cs.Virginia.EDU
srogers@tad.eds.com (Steve Rogers)
sst@Athena.MIT.EDU
ssteele@eff.org
swildner@channelz.GUN.de
tale@uunet.uu.net
tijc02!pjs269@uunet.UU.NET (Paul Schmidt)
til!erik@uunet.UU.NET (Erik Horstkotte)
tinsel@uiuc.edu
tom_limoncelli@Warren.MENTORG.COM
tsdavies@mailbox.syr.edu (Real life?  Ha!)
turrell@violet.berkeley.edu (David Turrell)
walsh@cs.umass.edu
warnold@nomad.urich.edu (William W. Arnold)
ygoland@SEAS.UCLA.EDU (The Jester)

From gritton@byu.edu Thu Jul 30 16:50:03 1992
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:2586 news.groups:54853 comp.org.eff.talk:9458
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,comp.org.eff.talk
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: gritton@byu.edu (Jamie Gritton)
Subject: RESULT: comp.org.eff.news and comp.org.eff.talk pass 181: 0 and 177:2
Message-ID: <1992Jul30.202508.5954@uunet.uu.net>
Followup-To: news.groups
Sender: tale@uunet.uu.net (David C Lawrence)
Organization: Brigham Young University, Provo UT USA
Date: Thu, 30 Jul 1992 20:25:08 GMT
Approved: tale@uunet.uu.net
Lines: 222

comp.org.eff.news passed without a single "no" vote and 181 "yes"
votes. Unfortunately, two people decided to vote against
comp.org.eff.talk, but it still passed 177:2.

These groups will be created (for sites that don't recieve them
already) following the five day waiting period, unless there are
*many* inaccuracies with the vote. Here are the charters of the
groups:

--
comp.org.eff.news	News from the Electronic Frontier Foundation. (Moderated)
Submission address:	effnews@eff.org

comp.org.eff.news is the primary distribution medium of the Electronic
Frontier Foundation's online newsletter, _EFFector Online_, as well as
occasional short informational postings about upcoming EFF events,
gatherings, or appearances.

--
comp.org.eff.talk	Discussions about the electronic frontier & related issues.

comp.org.eff.talk is an unmoderated discussion group for issues relating to
the electronic frontier and the Electronic Frontier Foundation.  Topics
have included online censorship, the legal rights and responsibilities of
BBS system operators, and problems with differing national laws being
applied to international networks.

-- 

Here are the votes received for comp.org.eff.news and
comp.org.eff.talk respectively:

AA atkinson@madmaxx.itd.nrl.navy.mil (Randall Atkinson)
AA jamie@tasman.tivoli.com

AN baustin!root@uunet.uu.net

AY "Paul M. Mullins" <mullins@ysumax.macs.ysu.edu>

YA Grant_Crawford@quest.ucs.ualberta.ca (Grant Crawford)
YA oplinger@ra.crd.ge.com (Brian Oplinger)
YA swildner@channelz.GUN.de
YA turrell@violet.berkeley.edu (David Turrell)

YN Lyndon Nerenberg <Lyndon.Nerenberg@ampr.ab.ca>

YY "B.J. 07-Jul-1992 1524" <herbison@erlang.enet.dec.com>
YY "Daniel J. Weitzner" <djw@eff.org>
YY "Ellen K. Seebacher" <elle@midway.uchicago.edu>
YY "Eric A. Litman" <elitman@wam.umd.edu>
YY "James R. Ault" <aultj@rpi.edu>
YY "Loren J. Miller" <MILLERL@WILMA.WHARTON.UPENN.EDU>
YY "Marshall G. Flax" <mgflax@phoenix.Princeton.EDU>
YY "Martin F. Terman" <mfterman@phoenix.Princeton.EDU>
YY "Richard P. Muller" <rpm@wag.caltech.edu>
YY "William A. Steele" <muwas@uxa.ecn.bgu.edu>
YY Alan Coopersmith <alanc@ocf.Berkeley.EDU>
YY Alan Dudley <loki@access.digex.com>
YY Alan P Barrett <barrett@daisy.ee.und.ac.za>
YY Ashok Gupta <gupta@prl.philips.co.uk>
YY Barry Margolin <barmar@Think.COM>
YY Bill Bogstad <bogstad@blaze.cs.jhu.edu>
YY Brendan Kehoe <brendan@cs.widener.edu>
YY Christopher Davis <ckd@eff.org>
YY Cliff Stoll <stoll@ocf.Berkeley.EDU>
YY Clint Ruoho <cr@farpoint.tucson.az.us>
YY Craig Neidorf <knight@eff.org>
YY Dan_Jacobson@ATT.COM
YY Dana WATANABE <DWATANAB@uci.edu>
YY Dave Farber <farber@central.cis.upenn.edu>
YY Dave Murphy <djmurphy@wam.umd.edu>
YY David Aston <DYAEB@SLACVM.SLAC.Stanford.EDU>
YY Duane.Day@Corp.Sun.COM (Duane Day)
YY Eric Hunt <bsc835!ehunt@uunet.UU.NET>
YY Erik Sowa <sowa@amdew.llnl.gov>
YY Floyd Davidson <floyd@ims.alaska.edu>
YY George William Herbert <gwh@soda.berkeley.edu>
YY Gerard Van der Leun <van@eff.org>
YY Gerben 'P' Vos <gpvos@cs.vu.nl>
YY Hae-young Rieh Hwang <hwang@eff.org>
YY Helen Trillian Rose <hrose@eff.org>
YY Jack.Winslade@ivgate.omahug.org (Jack Winslade)
YY Jay Maynard <jmaynard@oac.hsc.uth.tmc.edu>
YY Jim Lick <jim@ferkel.ucsb.edu>
YY Joel B Levin <levin@BBN.COM>
YY John G Dobnick <jgd@csd4.csd.uwm.edu>
YY John Schultz <C491153@MIZZOU1.missouri.edu>
YY Jonathan M Lennox <jml12@cunixa.cc.columbia.edu>
YY Juergen Christoffel <jc@slim.gmd.de>
YY Junger@samsara.law.cwru.edu (Peter D. Junger)
YY Jyrki Kuoppala <jkp@cs.hut.fi>
YY Kathryn Henniss <henniss@drifters.stanford.edu>
YY Keith Morgan <kamorgan@Athena.MIT.EDU>
YY Lars H}kedal <larsha@ifi.uio.no>
YY Lee Thompson-Herbert <lee@soda.berkeley.edu>
YY MSKALA%ESRIN.BITNET@vm.gmd.de
YY Marco S Hyman <marc@dumbcat.sf.ca.us>
YY Martha_Wilson@qm.is.lmsc.lockheed.com
YY Matt Hucke <hucke@ux1.cso.uiuc.edu>
YY Maurice Forrester <mjforres@mailbox.syr.edu>
YY Michael Orr <orrman@u.washington.edu>
YY Mike Fessler <MIKEF@BROWNVM.brown.edu>
YY Mike Godwin <mnemonic@eff.org>
YY Nigel.Allen@lambada.oit.unc.edu
YY Ofer Inbar <cos@chaos.cs.brandeis.edu>
YY Oliver Schoett <csschoet@pyramid.swansea.ac.uk>
YY Rita Marie Rouvalis <rita@eff.org>
YY Robert S Cowan <robc@cyber.net>
YY STEVEN BOWER <skb@swlrgb.msd.ray.com>
YY Saul Tannenbaum <SAUL_SY@hnrc.tufts.edu>
YY Scott@univel.COM (Scott Harrison)
YY Sendhil Revuluri <revu@midway.uchicago.edu>
YY StarWatcher@uiuc.edu
YY Steve Wertheimer <swerthei@us.oracle.com>
YY Sven Heinicke <sven@cs.widener.edu>
YY Ted Lemon <lupine!mellon@uunet.UU.NET>
YY Tim Myers <tmyers@oucsace.cs.ohiou.edu>
YY Tom Yates <madhatta@plume.mit.edu>
YY UHAH013@VAX.RHBNC.AC.UK
YY Zach Kessin <zkessin@chaos.cs.brandeis.edu>
YY a_rubin@dsg4.dse.beckman.com
YY agsxv@cncsiris.inre.asu.edu (Sridhar Venkataraman)
YY alanb@vexcel.com (Alan Baxter)
YY amdcad!osc!jgk@uunet.UU.NET (Joe Keane)
YY analyst@netcom.com (David Sternlight)
YY andy@ccwf.cc.utexas.edu (Andrew Hackard)
YY andy@homebase.vistachrome.com (Andy Finkenstadt)
YY aralph@cix.compulink.co.uk
YY arielle@taronga.com (Stephanie da Silva)
YY aurs01!aurw9c!benningf@mcnc.org
YY awestrop@nyx.cs.du.edu (Alan Westrope)
YY b-gross@uiuc.edu
YY balog@bandit.psc.edu
YY barlow@icecube.pinedale.wy.us (John Perry Barlow)
YY bhv@areaplg2.corp.mot.com (Bronis Vidugiris)
YY bigelow@cs.unr.edu (Robert Bigelow)
YY blake@pro-party.cts.com (Blake Farenthold)
YY ceg@pnet51.orb.mn.org (Chris Galas)
YY charest@ai-cyclops.Jpl.Nasa.Gov (Len Charest)
YY chip@chinacat.unicom.com (Chip Rosenthal)
YY chisnall@cosc.canterbury.ac.nz (The Technicolour Throw-up)
YY coganman@ocf.Berkeley.EDU (Andrei Cogan)
YY coleman@bi.twinsun.com (Mike Coleman)
YY creare!creare.com!kwg@Dartmouth.EDU (Kent Goeking)
YY david@ruc.dk (David Stodolsky)
YY dpassage@postgres.berkeley.edu
YY duggan@cc.gatech.edu (Richard A. Duggan)
YY eck@saul.cis.upenn.edu (Brian Eck)
YY emv@msen.com (Edward Vielmetti)
YY esther@eff.org
YY farbrent!ajr3@ms.uky.edu
YY fredbox!system@uunet.UU.NET (George W. Hayduke)
YY gberigan@cse.unl.edu (Life...)
YY greg@gallifrey.ucs.uoknor.edu (Greg Trotter)
YY gritton@oregon.et.byu.edu (Jamie Gritton)
YY hatzm%9.21.dnet@gte.com (WIN 3.1, ahhhh much better!)
YY heinay@groucho.chemie.fu-berlin.de (Vera Heinau)
YY hirai@cc.swarthmore.edu (Eiji Hirai)
YY howard@hal.com
YY huff@MCCLB0.MED.NYU.EDU (Edward J. Huff)
YY ian@airs.com (Ian Lance Taylor)
YY infoage!bradcox@hsi.hsi.com (Brad Cox)
YY jamie@vax.ftp.com (Jamie O'Keefe)
YY jbuck@ohm.Berkeley.EDU (Joe Buck)
YY jeffh@taurus.apple.com (Jeff Holcomb)
YY jfritz@rdrc.rpi.edu
YY jh@cadre.com (Joe Hartley)
YY jh@nbn.com (John Harkin)
YY jhawk@panix.com (John Hawkinson)
YY john@iastate.edu
YY jonm@microsoft.com
YY jp@darkstar.com (J Petersen)
YY jra@bonito.wti.com (Jim Atkinson)
YY jsblau@panix.com (Jonathan Blau)
YY kc@netcom.com (Dameon D. Welch)
YY kmc@netcom.com (Kevin McCarty)
YY kragh@cyberia.mi.org (Kragh J. Hertel)
YY lelam%kuwait@Sun.COM (Len E. Elam)
YY lleonard@hayes.com
YY malloy@nprdc.navy.mil (Sean Malloy)
YY matwood%klages@cs.utah.edu
YY mc/G=Brad/S=Hicks/OU=0205925@mhs.attmail.com
YY mcb@presto.ig.com (Michael C. Berch)
YY michaelb@mars.cse.fau.edu (Michael Rogero Brown)
YY mike@uel.com
YY muir@CSI.COM (David Muir Sharnoff)
YY news@wolves.Durham.NC.US (The Wolfe of the Den)
YY news_for@ae.ge.com
YY peterson@csc.csc.ti.com
YY phil sutherland <philsuth@mycroft.dialix.oz.au>
YY pierre@kaboom.PRPA.Philips.COM (Pierre Uszynski)
YY pmcgw!personal-media.co.jp!ishikawa@uunet.UU.NET
YY pshuang@Athena.MIT.EDU
YY rick@CRICK.SSCTR.bcm.tmc.edu (Richard H. Miller)
YY rogue@cellar.org
YY romero@stat.tamu.edu (Ron Romero)
YY rsnyder@fergie.dnet.ge.com (Bob Snyder)
YY ruman@meroot.eng.uci.edu (ruman)
YY russell@alpha3.ersys.edmonton.ab.ca (Russell Schulz)
YY rv@cs.brown.edu (rodrigo vanegas)
YY sethb@fid.Morgan.COM (Seth Breidbart)
YY shrdlu@willow.sdd.trw.com (Lynda L. True)
YY simona@panix.com (Simona Nass)
YY slick@netcom.com (Martin Veneroso)
YY smith@ncoast.org (Phil Smith)
YY sorensen@spl.ecse.rpi.edu (Jeffrey Sorensen)
YY spm2d@ash.cs.Virginia.EDU
YY srogers@tad.eds.com (Steve Rogers)
YY sst@Athena.MIT.EDU
YY ssteele@eff.org
YY tale@uunet.uu.net
YY tar@math.ksu.edu (Tim Ramsey)
YY tijc02!pjs269@uunet.UU.NET (Paul Schmidt)
YY til!erik@uunet.UU.NET (Erik Horstkotte)
YY tinsel@uiuc.edu
YY tom_limoncelli@Warren.MENTORG.COM
YY tsdavies@mailbox.syr.edu (Real life?  Ha!)
YY ulmo@netcom.com (Brad Allen)
YY walsh@cs.umass.edu
YY warnold@nomad.urich.edu (William W. Arnold)
YY weber@rhrk.uni-kl.de
YY ygoland@SEAS.UCLA.EDU (The Jester)

 
USENET FACT: Flaming
Flaming is the hostile interaction between multiple Usenet users.