• Your Trusted Usenet Provider
  • Secure, Private, Unlimited

Newsgroups Main » Newsgroups Directory » Computers - OS and Platforms » Microsoft dos

Desqview ( comp.os.msdos.desqview )
 
From [email protected] Mon Sep 27 10:46:54 1993
Xref: rpi news.announce.newgroups:885 news.groups:22009 comp.sys.ibm.pc.misc:8101 comp.os.msdos.apps:1199 comp.os.msdos.misc:1293
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,comp.sys.ibm.pc.misc,comp.os.msdos.apps,comp.os.msdos.misc
Path: rpi!tale
From: [email protected] (Bob Kusumoto)
Subject: CFD:  comp.os.msdos.dv
Followup-To: news.groups
Sender: [email protected]
Nntp-Posting-Host: cs.rpi.edu
Organization: University of Chicago
Date: 21 Feb 91 02:52:19 GMT
Approved: [email protected]
Lines: 56

Since I haven't heard anything about the previous CFD and never saw a
followup CFV for a desqview group, I'd like to announce a call for
discussion over a desqview group.

Basically, this group should be able to discuss the Desqview program and
user problems using Desqview, or additional programs that help desqview,
namely QEMM and QRAM.  Currently, questions about problems with Desqview,
QEMM, and QRAM are spread accross a number of different news groups,
ranging from comp.sys.ibm.pc groups and comp.so.msdos groups, to some other
groups like comp.protocols groups.  A central newsgroup to discuss problems
using either the DV, QEMM, or QRAM programs and upcoming information about
new releases such as Desqview/X would help users a lot.

This group should be unmoderated.

A few questions that should be answered before a call to votes:

a) whether such a group should be created.
b) what the group should really be called.
c) if the charter should be limited even more.

A) Should this group be created?

Considering the number of messages that I've seen about QEMM problems or
help with getting some program to work under desqview, a group like this
should exist.  In addition, there's some interest in the upcoming
release of Desqview/X and I'm sure many people would like to know more
about the program and hear from people who've gotten it to work.  These
kinds of discussions would benefit from a central newsgroup to post to.

B) What should the group be called?
C) What should the scope of the group be?

I'm partial to comp.os.msdos.dv, although it can probably fall under
a couple other names depending on the scope of the group.

We could call it comp.windows.dv or something similar and limit the
topics to the Desqview program and Desqview386 (DV+QEMM) or DV+QRAM.
A spin off group might be created, comp.windows.x.dv to talk about
Desqview/X.  comp.os.msdos.dv seems like a good name if people needed
help with specific problems that aren't limited strictly to the
desqview program (maybe comp.os.msdos.qd, but I don't like the idea of
attaching a commercial company (Quarterdeck) to a newsgroup name).
The choice of names would in some ways, limit the scope of the discussion
in the group.

any thoughts? (followups to news.groups)

Bob
-- 
   Bob Kusumoto                               | I just come from the land of
Internet:  [email protected]       | the sun/ from a war that must
Bitnet:    [email protected][.bitnet]  | be won in the name of truth.
UUCP:  ...!{oddjob,gargoyle}!chsun1!kusumoto  | - New Order, "Love Vigilantes"
-- 
    (setq mail '("[email protected]" "uupsi!rpi!tale" "[email protected]"))

From [email protected] Wed Apr  5 19:27:43 1995
Xref: rpi news.groups:23518 news.announce.newgroups:981 comp.os.msdos.apps:1502 comp.os.msdos.misc:1623 comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware:7365 comp.sys.ibm.pc.misc:9327 comp.windows.ms:11257
Newsgroups: news.groups,news.announce.newgroups,comp.os.msdos.apps,comp.os.msdos.misc,comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware,comp.sys.ibm.pc.misc,comp.windows.ms
Path: rpi!bounce-back
From: [email protected] (Bob Kusumoto)
Subject: CFV:  comp.os.msdos.desqview
Followup-To: poster
Sender: [email protected]
Nntp-Posting-Host: cs.rpi.edu
Organization: University of Chicago
Date: 25 Mar 91 03:41:21 GMT
Approved: [email protected]
Lines: 38

This is a call for votes on the creations of the group:

		comp.os.msdos.desqview

This will be an unmoderate group dedicated to discussion of DesqView product
and related products, such as QEMM and QRAM memory managers.  Topics such as
how to get such and such a program to work under desqview, the new version
of desqview coming out called DesqView/X, or how to get QEMM or QRAM to behave
properly are just some of the areas this group will cover.

The voting will start midnight CST on Monday, March 25, 1991 and
continue through 23:59 CST on Thursday, April 25, 1991.  No votes will
be accepted outside this period.

All votes for the creation of this newsgroup as named and defined should mail
your votes to:

	[email protected]

while all votes against should be mailed to:

	[email protected]

Only votes emailed to these addresses will be accepted.  Please place the
following in the subject line to confirm your vote:

	comp.os.msdos.desqview: YES vote
	comp.os.msdos.desqview: NO vote

Unlike the old Chicago saying, "vote early, vote often", you only get one
vote.

Bob
-- 
   Bob Kusumoto                               | I just come from the land of
Internet:  [email protected]       | the sun/ from a war that must
Bitnet:    [email protected][.bitnet]  | be won in the name of truth.
UUCP:  ...!{oddjob,gargoyle}!chsun1!kusumoto  | - New Order, "Love Vigilantes"

From [email protected] Mon Sep 11 16:16:19 1995
Xref: rpi news.announce.newgroups:1085 news.groups:25405 comp.os.msdos.apps:1853 comp.os.msdos.misc:1932 comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware:8628 comp.sys.ibm.pc.misc:10926 comp.windows.ms:12533
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,comp.os.msdos.apps,comp.os.msdos.misc,comp.sys.ibm.pc.hardware,comp.sys.ibm.pc.misc,comp.windows.ms
Path: rpi!bounce-back
From: [email protected] (Bob Kusumoto)
Subject: RESULT:  comp.os.msdos.desqview passes 219: 30
Followup-To: news.groups
Sender: [email protected]
Nntp-Posting-Host: cs.rpi.edu
Organization: Chapin Hall Center for Children
Date: 27 Apr 91 04:55:01 GMT
Approved: [email protected]
Lines: 275
Status: RO
X-Status: 

comp.os.msdos.desqview group passed 219 YES votes to 30 NO votes.  Several
votes were disqualified (all YES votes) due to a) not sending to the proper
address, b) looked like a bounced mail message, or c) came in too late.
Two YES votes were counted (listed at the end of the YES acks) and could be
disqualified if they are really the same person.  This shouldn't really matter
since there are more than enough YES votes over NO votes to create the
group.

comp.os.msdos.desqview will be an unmoderated group devoted to the Quarterdeck
product DesqView and related products (such as QEMM and QRAM, two memory
managers used frequently with DesqView).  Topics of discussion can range
>from how to fine tune desqview for such and such a product and getting
the memory managers to work correctly, to discussions about upcoming updates
such as the long awaited DesqView/X product.

Voting started midnight CST March 25, 1991 and continued until midnight
CDT April 25, 1991.

the following people have voted YES:
"C. Carlson" <[email protected]>
"Carl M. Kadie" <[email protected]>
"Chris Webster" <[email protected]>
"James D. Burnell, WVU Student" <[email protected]>
"Jim - MLO5-2/A12 - node MAST::" <[email protected]>
"JOHN R. LEWIS, PH.D." <[email protected]>
"M.S. JANSSON" <[email protected]>
"Michael K. Carmel" <[email protected]>
"Scott A. Laird" <[email protected]>
[email protected] (Parik Rao)
<[email protected]>
<[email protected]>
<[email protected]>
[email protected]
Alan McAdoo <[email protected]>
alberta!agt!agt-gw!jboryne (Jim Borynec)
[email protected] (Jose Alberto Fernadez R.)
Allan Poindexter <[email protected]>
[email protected] (Aahzmandius)
[email protected] (Gregory K. Ramsey)
[email protected] (Alan Collard)
Andy Newcomb <[email protected]>
[email protected] (Andrew Rossmann)
[email protected] (Shannon D. Appel)
[email protected] (Erwin Eder)
[email protected]
[email protected] (arthur rubin)
[email protected]
[email protected] (Ross Bannerman - infotech)
[email protected]
Billy Yow 283-4009 <[email protected]>
Blair Capes <[email protected]>
Bob Sloane <[email protected]>
[email protected]
[email protected] (Bryan L. Allen)
[email protected]
[email protected] (Luc Bussieres)
[email protected] (Kenny Adams)
[email protected]
[email protected] (The Scarlet Pimpernel)
[email protected] (Brett Wuth)
[email protected] (ccdps)
Charlie Kestner <[email protected]>
Christopher Bryden <[email protected]>
[email protected]
[email protected]
Colin Perrott <[email protected]>
[email protected] (Chip Salzenberg)
[email protected] (Ron Craig)
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]
Darren Reiniger <[email protected]>
[email protected] (David Baer)
David Boyer <[email protected]>
David Neal Miller <[email protected]>
[email protected]
[email protected] (David Dyck)
[email protected] (D. Curtis Deno)
[email protected]
[email protected] (David Deitch)
[email protected] (Derek Foster)
Don Hosek <[email protected]>
[email protected] (Duane L. Rezac)
[email protected]
[email protected] (Iain O'Cain/10000)
[email protected] (Chris Faylor)
[email protected]
[email protected] (Forrest Gehrke)
[email protected]
[email protected] (Flint G Waters)
[email protected] (Josep M. Fontana)
[email protected] (Jon Forrest)
[email protected]
[email protected] <[email protected]>
Gary Brainin <[email protected]>
[email protected] (Gary Hagensen)
[email protected] (Georg Feil)
[email protected]
[email protected]
Glenn Forbes Larratt <glratt@uncle-bens.rice.edu>
grantham@math.lsa.umich.edu
Gregg Kishida <gkishida@sloth.eng.uci.edu>
GREVE%DBNPIB5.BITNET@UCHIMVS1.Uchicago.EDU
gt2327c@prism.gatech.edu
halcyon!ralphs@sumax.seattleu.edu (Ralph Sims)
harold@groucho.dev.uga.edu (Harold Pritchett)
hartnegg@sun1.ruf.uni-freiburg.de (Klaus Hartnegg)
HARTWD%SLUVCA.SLU.EDU@UCHIMVS1.Uchicago.EDU
hgv@anubis.network.com (Harry G. Varnis)
IACWSW%ASUACAD.BITNET@UCHIMVS1.Uchicago.EDU
Iain_Cockburn@mtsg.ubc.ca
id8rld06@fiu.edu (Michael N Johnston)
iga@vector.msk.su (Igor V. Semenyuk)
irfan@pluto.dss.com (Syed Mohammad Irfan Ashraf)
James Drew Paterson <pater@ee.ualberta.ca>
james f clark <clark-j@cis.ohio-state.edu>
James Hammond <jhammo@uwovax.uwo.ca>
James Mehl <jmehl@brahms.udel.edu>
james@splinter.coe.northeastern.edu (James Jones)
jasmin@ireq.hydro.qc.ca (Claude Jasmin)
jasonc@leland.stanford.edu
Jay Maynard <jmaynard@thesis1.med.uth.tmc.edu>
jbrandt@daimi.aau.dk
Jeff Sicherman <sichermn@beach.csulb.edu>
jerry@cindy.Altos.COM (Jerry Gardner)
Jim Celoni <celoni@cunixf.cc.columbia.edu>
Jim Golden <Jim_Golden.CSUMAIL@qmbridge.calstate.edu>
Jim Stoner <jts@se-sd.sandiego.ncr.com>
jlawson%emily.UVM.EDU@griffin.UVM.EDU (Jim A Lawson)
jmiller@UCSD.EDU (Jeff Miller)
John Valentich <valentic@thesis1.med.uth.tmc.edu>
John_Omielan@mtsg.ubc.ca
jpd@pc.usl.edu (Dugal James P.)
jpn@genrad.com (John P. Nelson)
jvp@genrad.com (Jim V. Potter)
jwhite@com2serv.c2s.mn.org (Jeff White)
kelley@flowcyt.cyto.purdue.edu (Steve Kelley)
kendall@bsu-cs.bsu.edu (Stephen P Kendall)
Kevin Crocker <uunet!cs.athabascau.ca!kevinc@gargoyle>
Kevin Jameson <jameson@jade.cpsc.ucalgary.ca>
Kevin Martin <sigma@ipl.rpi.edu>
kfitzger.llnl-epd@handoff.llnl.gov (Kirk Fitzgerald)
Klaus Ruff <klaus@sequent.com>
kmcvay@oneb.wimsey.bc.ca (Ken McVay)
Kresten Krab Thorup <krab@iesd.auc.dk>
Kurt Ernulf <UPSKE%SEGUC11@gd3090.gd.chalmers.se>
kxb@math.ksu.edu (Karl Buck)
lae@enos.HQ.Ileaf.COM (Larry Enos x5572)
lfk@eastman1.MIT.EDU (Lee F. Kolakowski)
ljwilson@utkux1.utk.edu (L. Jack Wilson)
lsuc!array!rob@cs.toronto.edu (Rob Marchand)
lsuc!ontmoh!rwh@cs.toronto.edu
lwm@vuse.vanderbilt.edu (Lloyd W. Massengill)
markj@amc.com (Mark Johns)
MARRIN%SSCvax.CIS.McMaster.CA@UCHIMVS1.Uchicago.EDU
martelli@cadlab.sublink.org (Alex Martelli)
Martin.Scharnke@comp.vuw.ac.nz
mcastle@cs.umr.edu
mcclure@sun1.is.battelle.org
mds@cs.duke.edu (Mark David Shattuck)
merlin@ieee.org (Burt Juda)
mh@ms.appstate.edu (Mark Harris)
Michael Barton <ccmjb%buacca.BITNET@UCHIMVS1.UCHICAGO.EDU>
Michael Golan <mg@Princeton.EDU>
Michael J Flory <mjf@cunixb.cc.columbia.edu>
Michael J Harlow <u855203@bruny.cc.utas.edu.au>
Mike Foreman <foreman@hp-ses.sde.hp.com>
mindlink!Jono_Moore (Jono Moore)
mog7121@uxa.cso.uiuc.edu
Morris.Orzech%QueensU.CA@UCHIMVS1.Uchicago.EDU
mrgnstrn@nexus.yorku.ca (Stephanie Morgenstern)
msb@ecemw7.ncsu.edu (Mark S. Basel)
mtheil@quink.in-berlin.de (Matthias Theil)
Nenad Ciric <nenadc@ifi.uio.no>
neuman%kean.ucs.mun.ca@UCHIMVS1.Uchicago.EDU
noelroy%kean.ucs.mun.ca@UCHIMVS1.UCHICAGO.EDU
ofer@genius.tau.ac.il (Ofer Lapid 4X6OJ)
OPDOC%UVMVM.BITNET@UCHIMVS1.Uchicago.EDU
Pete Stern <stern@ims.alaska.edu>
peterson@choctaw.csc.ti.com (Bob Peterson)
Phil Kemp <kemp@chinook.convex.com>
PIM%HROEUR51.BITNET@UCHIMVS1.Uchicago.EDU
psmith@ecn.purdue.edu (Paul F Smith)
Ralf.Brown@B.GP.CS.CMU.EDU
raymond!terry@galaxia.newport.ri.us (Terry Raymond)
rdp1!uncw!blancha@uunet.uu.net (Chris Blanchard)
reid@ctc.contel.com (Tom Reid  x4505)
Rene van den Assem <Rene.van.den.Assem@tnofel.fel.tno.nl>
REZAC@kuhub.cc.ukans.edu
Rich Wales <wales@CS.UCLA.EDU>
Richard H. Miller <rick@crick.ssctr.bcm.tmc.edu>
Robert A. Burrow <rburrow@alchemy.chem.utoronto.ca>
Robert John Knaack <rjk@csd4.csd.uwm.edu>
Robert S larson <rlarson2@uxh.cso.uiuc.edu>
robert@ireq.hydro.qc.ca (Robert Meunier/Hydro-Quebec/QC/Canada 514-652-8516)
Roger Fulton <roger@wrq.com>
Ron Dippold x5528 C-137 <RDIPPOLD@DRZEUS.QUALCOMM.COM>
Ron Efrati <rony@shum.huji.ac.il>
rose@cs.wisc.edu (Jody Foster)
rreiner@nexus.yorku.ca (Richard Reiner)
rubble!chris (Chris Nitsopoulos)
rubin@visual1.jhuapl.edu (Don Rubin)
rv401@foster.actrix.gen.nz (Damian)
s897052@otto.bf.rmit.OZ.AU (King TING)
s907396@minyos.xx.rmit.OZ.AU (Miramar [Eugene Mok])
sandia!marms@unmvax.cs.unm.edu (Mike Arms)
sboucher@info.polymtl.ca (Stephane Boucher (PFE))
SCEF0003%WSUVM1.BITNET@UCHIMVS1.Uchicago.EDU
Scott Barnes <sba8_ltd@uhura.cc.rochester.edu>
Shaun Case <shaunc%gold.gvg.tek.com@RELAY.CS.NET>
Shelby Brumelle <brumelle@unixg.ubc.ca>
sigurgoj@tharkas.is (Sigurgeir Jonsson)
spit@neuro.duke.edu  (Michael Burdick)
splin@robotics.berkeley.edu (Steven Lin)
srg!godbey@uunet.UU.NET (Nick Godbey x4525 Home 268-8538)
STUECKLE%DFRRUF1.BITNET@UCHIMVS1.Uchicago.EDU
techsup!admin!FREDG.DSD-1@rwsys.lonestar.org (FREDG)
Ted Richards <lsuc!isgtec!ted@cs.toronto.edu>
telxon!garyh@uunet.UU.NET (Gary Helander)
teradyne!barajas@zehntel.com (Albert Barajas)
Terje Th|gersen <thoger@lise.unit.no>
Terry Guswell <P08415@prime-a.poly-south-west.ac.uk>
tjc@acsu.buffalo.edu (thomas j corsalini)
Tony Nicholson <SYSNETT@cc.newcastle.edu.au>
Tony Wilson <wilson@issun3.stc.nl>
toye@sunrise.stanford.edu (George Toye)
tran@sun-valley.stanford.edu
utdoe!contact!aardvark@zoo.toronto.edu (joe)
valley@gsbsun.Uchicago.EDU (Doug Dougherty)
Vampires R Us <keith@uhunix.uhcc.Hawaii.Edu>
w8sdz@rigel.acs.oakland.edu (Keith Petersen)
wagner@chepil.weru.ksu.edu (Larry Wagner)
WARNOCK@STARS.GSFC.NASA.GOV (Any noun can be verbed)
westk@cgrb.orst.edu (Ken West - Entomology)
WOC Bob Powers <uunet!IA-NGNET.army.mil!bob@gargoyle.Uchicago.EDU>
xanadu!thelema!STella@uunet.uu.net
"Norman Miller" <nmiller%dixiecup.UUCP@uhasun.hartford.edu>
nmiller@mstr.hgc.edu (norman miller)

the following people voted NO:
"Todd L. Masco" <tm2b+@andrew.cmu.edu>
ado@elsie.nci.nih.gov (Arthur David Olson)
Bill Wisner <wisner@ims.alaska.edu>
cdr@AMD.COM (Carl Rigney)
charleen@ads.com (Charleen Bunjiovianna Stoner)
ctuel@polyslo.CalPoly.EDU (Cliff Tuel)
david@elroy.Jpl.Nasa.Gov (David Robinson)
Dick Dunn <rcd@ico.isc.com>
eleveld@sage.cc.purdue.edu (The Insane Hermit)
hooft@fys.ruu.nl (Rob Hooft)
Ilhamuddin Ahmed <ilham@mit.edu>
jfh@rpp386.cactus.org (John F Haugh II)
Jim Roche <roche@cs.rochester.edu>
jnoh@ddsw1.mcs.com (Jay W. Noh)
ked01@juts.ccc.amdahl.com (Kim DeVaughn)
laura@techbook.com (Laura Gillespie)
mackac@infonode.ingr.com (Audrey C Mack)
MLORD%BNR.CA@UCHIMVS1.Uchicago.EDU
palmer@hsi86.hsi.com (Mike Palmer)
pictel!roadrunner!geiser@uunet.UU.NET (Wayne Geiser)
rducky!jrp@polyslo.calpoly.edu (JIM PICKERING)
rob@genrad.com (Robert S. Wood)
Robert Craig Harman <rcharman@phoenix.Princeton.EDU>
rsk@juniper.circ.upenn.edu (Rich Kulawiec)
rthomson@dsd.es.com (Rich Thomson)
rudolf@curano.imp.com (Rudolf Kuenzli)
Scott Barman <scott@nbc1.ge.com>
Sean Doran <smd@lsuc.on.ca>
shmulevi@cs.tut.fi (Ilya Shmulevich)
supple@ecn.purdue.edu (Murray R Supple)
-- 
   Bob Kusumoto                               | I just come from the land of
Internet:  kusumoto@chsun1.uchicago.edu       | the sun/ from a war that must
Bitnet:    kusumoto%chsun1@uchicago[.bitnet]  | be won in the name of truth.
UUCP:  ...!{oddjob,gargoyle}!chsun1!kusumoto  | - New Order, "Love Vigilantes"

 
USENET FACT: Big-8
BIG-8 hierarchies are the 8 traditional top hierarchies of the Usenet. See the following page for more