• Your Trusted Usenet Provider
  • Secure, Private, Unlimited

Newsgroups Main » Newsgroups Directory » Computers - Non-OS » Society

Privacy (M) ( comp.society.privacy )
 
From [email protected] Sat Apr  4 03:07:23 1992
Xref: rpi news.announce.newgroups:1815 news.groups:39077 alt.privacy:3224 comp.org.eff.talk:6796 alt.society.civil-liberty:3407
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,alt.privacy,comp.org.eff.talk,alt.society.civil-liberty
Path: rpi!bounce-back
From: Dennis G. Rears <[email protected]>
Subject: RFD:  comp.society.privacy
Followup-To: news.groups
Sender: [email protected]
Nntp-Posting-Host: cs.rpi.edu
Date: Fri, 14 Feb 1992 14:25:35 GMT
Approved: [email protected]
Lines: 71

   This is a updated Call for Discussion for the creation of a new newsgroup 
with the name:

    comp.society.privacy  

The original CFD went out several months ago.  Most of the comments were
favourable, the only disagreement was whether it should be named
comp.privacy or comp.society.privacy.  Because of the sentiments that were
stated, I am proposing the name to be comp.society.privacy.
  One question that was raised is what the relationship between CSP
and alt.privacy.  There is no relationship between the two groups.  

---------------------Original CFD-----------------------------
  This newsgroup will be moderated and be gatewayed to an Internet
Mailing List.  I propose myself as the Moderator of this newsgroup. I am
currently moderator of the telecom-priv ([email protected])
Internet mailing list.  The telecom-priv mailing list will be folded
into this newsgroup.

   The discussion will center around the effect of technology upon
privacy.  All to often technology is way ahead of the law and society as
it presents us with new devices and applications.  Technology can enhance
and detract from privacy.  For example cryptologic methods can enhance
privacy but sophisicated microphones can detract from it. 
   Topics include but are not restricted to:

	o Telecommunications - Caller-Id, ANI, monitoring of 
phones calls (cellear/cordless), tracking people's locations through use of 

	o Cryptology - enhances citizens rights to safeguard their
information.

	o Data Bases - Big Brother is here but it is not just the Govt,
It is also Corporate America.  The advent of mailing lists has now
reach an extremely high level.  Consider the Social Security Number.

	o High Tech Surveillance Devices - ranging for sophisicated (SP) bugs,
viewing devices, and audio devices.

	o The boon in video cameras and private citizens taping events;
e.g. Rodney King episode.  Video as well as Photographic information can
be forged.  

	o  The effect of technology on privacy in the legal arena (e.g
admissibilty in court of items produced by new and old technology).

	o Misc - National Identifier Numbers, Bar coding currency, electronic 
toll devices mounted on Autos, etc.  

  This group is not intended for the overall issue of privacy, (e.g
should a rape victim have their name published).  

  Currently privacy issues are discussed in many newsgroups but only how
the privacy issue affects that one topic.  There is a need for a single
newsgroup.  The Internet mailing list telecom-priv
([email protected]) was created a year ago to discuss
Caller-Id after the that topic was bounced from comp.dcom.telecom.
Telecom-priv was expanded to include all issues of privacy dealing with
telecom equipment.  
   I am proposing that this group be moderated to keep a high signal to
noise ratio.  Moderation of a newgroup means different thing to different
people.  The moderation that I propose will filter out all administrative
requests, test messages, non-tech/privacy items, and excessive flames.
Nothing is censored. 

Dennis
-- 
			Dennis G. Rears
MILNET:   [email protected]     UUCP:  ...!uunet!fsac1.pica.army.mil!drears
INTERNET: [email protected]    USPS:  Box 210, Wharton, NJ 07885
Phone(home): 201.927.8757	   

From [email protected] Sun Apr 19 22:02:40 1992
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:2229 news.groups:48987 alt.privacy:3638 comp.org.eff.talk:7887 alt.society.civil-liberty:4094
Path: uunet!uunet!uunet!not-for-mail
From: "Dennis G. Rears " <[email protected]>
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,alt.privacy,comp.org.eff.talk,alt.society.civil-liberty
Subject: RESULT:  comp.society.privacy passes 189:16
Followup-To: news.groups
Date: 15 Apr 1992 12:22:18 -0400
Organization: UUNET Communications
Lines: 230
Sender: [email protected] (David C Lawrence)
Approved: [email protected]
Message-ID: <[email protected]>
NNTP-Posting-Host: news.UU.NET

  Voting on comp.society.privacy (Moderated) closed on April 13.  The
newsgroup passed  189 to 16.  My thanks to everyone who voted.
The following is the charter for the group:

comp.society.privacy	Effects of technology on privacy (Moderated)

   This newsgroup is to provide a forum for discussion on the effect of
   technology on privacy. All to often technology is way ahead of the
   law and society as it presents us with new devices and
   applications.  Technology can enhance and detract from privacy.
   This newsgroup will be gatewayed to an internet mailling list.

NO Votes:


Carl Edman <[email protected]>
Otto Tennant <[email protected]>
Harald Nordgard-Hansen <[email protected]>
[email protected]
"Austin G. Hastings" <[email protected]>
Richard Commander <[email protected]>
[email protected]
Michael Peirce <[email protected]>
Christopher Ward <[email protected]>
[email protected]
"Life..." <[email protected]>
Phil Agre <[email protected]>
Timothy VanFosson <[email protected]>
"V. Balaji" <[email protected]>
[email protected]
Carl Rigney <[email protected]>

Yes Votes:

[email protected]
Alan Gilbertson <[email protected]>
[email protected] (Alex Reid)
[email protected]
andrew farmer <[email protected]>
Andrew M. Dunn <[email protected]>
Andy Sherman <[email protected]>
Arthur Rubin <[email protected]>
B. Gabriel Helou <[email protected]>
B.J. 20-Mar-1992 1117 <[email protected]>
Barbara Tongue <[email protected]>
Barry Lustig <[email protected]>
Ben Delisle <[email protected]>
Ben Gross <[email protected]>
Bennett Berson <[email protected]>
Berry Mobley <[email protected]>
Bill Seward <[email protected]>
Bill Stewart <[email protected]>
[email protected]
Bob Hofkin <[email protected]>
Bob Peterson <[email protected]>
Bob Yazz <[email protected]>
Brian Barr <[email protected]>
Brian Hanafee <[email protected]>
Brinton Cooper <[email protected]>
Bruce Freeman <[email protected]>
Captain Caveman <[email protected]>
Carl M. Kadie <[email protected]>
Charles Fee <[email protected]>
Charlie Mingo <[email protected]>
Chris Galas <[email protected]>
Conor O'Neill <[email protected]>
Cristy <[email protected]>
Dan Ford <[email protected]>
Daniel Veditz <[email protected]>
Dave Andrews <[email protected]>
Dave Niebuhr, BNL CCD, 516-282-3093 <[email protected]>
Dave Walker <[email protected]>
David Deans <[email protected]>
David E. Martin <[email protected]>
David Filiatrault <[email protected]>
David Lesher <[email protected]>
David Muir Sharnoff <[email protected]>
David Partain <[email protected]>
David W. Barts <[email protected]>
David Wald <[email protected]>
[email protected] (Carl A. DeFranco)
[email protected]
Donald H. Locker <[email protected]>
Doug Williams <[email protected]>
Dreamer in the Dark <[email protected]>
Ed Costello 8+296-7079 <[email protected]>
Ellen K. Seebacher <[email protected]>
Elliott Parker <[email protected]>
Eric P. Scott <[email protected]>
Erik C. Sowa <[email protected]>
Erik Naggum <[email protected]>
erin smith <[email protected]>
Eugene N. Miya <[email protected]>
Fen Labalme <[email protected]>
FNE683::[email protected]
[email protected]
Gary Ansok <[email protected]>
Gary Heston <[email protected]>
[email protected]
Glenn R. Stone <[email protected]>
[email protected]
Gordon Burditt <[email protected]>
Gordon Jacobson <[email protected]>
Greg Broiles <[email protected]>
Gregory M. Paris <[email protected]>
Gregory W. Edwards <edwardsg@iscnvx.lmsc.lockheed.com>
Henry (H.W.)Troup <HWT@bnr.ca>
Howard Gayle <howard@hal.com>
I, Dubious: TAY2-2/M7, DTN 227-3709  1920 <dubie@tnpubs.enet.dec.com>
James Nau <james@engrss2.unl.edu>
Jamie Mason <jmason2@utcs.utoronto.ca>
Jared Slosberg <jared@garnet.berkeley.edu>
jartz@maestro.mitre.org (John Artz)
Jean Ramaekers <jrama@icsi.berkeley.edu>
Jeffrey M. Schweiger <schweige@taurus.cs.nps.navy.mil>
Jeffrey  Porten <porten@eniac.seas.upenn.edu>
Jim Celoni <celoni>
Joe Keane <amdcad!osc!jgk@uunet.uu.net>
John G Dobnick <jgd@csd4.csd.uwm.edu>
John Higdon <john@zygot.ati.com>
John R. Levine <johnl@iecc.cambridge.ma.us>
John Starta <tosh!starta@asuvax.eas.asu.edu>
John Stracke <dogwood!francis@gatech.edu>
John_David_Galt@cup.portal.com
Joseph Albert <albert@cs.wisc.edu>
Joseph Albert <albert@cs.wisc.edu>
Joseph R. Justice <justice@moeng2.minc.umd.edu>
Josh Blackman <joshb@panix.com>
Jurgen Botz <jbotz@orixa.mtholyoke.edu>
Jyrki Kuoppala <jkp@cs.hut.fi>
Kath Mullholand, UNH Telecom, 862-1031 <K_MULLHOLAND@unhh.unh.edu>
Kathryn Fielding <kat@genisco.gtc.com>
Kelly Derek Deyoe <kd2a+@andrew.cmu.edu>
Kenny Adams <caadams@atlas.cs.upei.ca>
kityss@ihlpf.att.com
Klaus-Peter Kossakowski <kossakow@informatik.uni-hamburg.de>
Laird Broadfield <lairdb@crash.cts.com>
Laura Kirk <kirk@hplmango.hpl.hp.com>
Les Earnest <les@sail.stanford.edu>
lleonard@hayes.com
Lloyd Taylor <lloyd@janus.jhuapl.edu>
louis@andataco.com
Loyd Blankenship <fnordbox!loydb@cs.utexas.edu>
Marc T. Kaufman <kaufman@cs.stanford.edu>
Mark Atwood <matwood%peruvian@cs.utah.edu>
Mark Cheeseman <ycomputr@runx.oz.au>
Mark Schuldenfrei <schuldy@bedford.progress.com>
Mark W. Shumann <catfood@wariat.org>
Martha L. Wilson <mlw@iscnvx.lmsc.lockheed.com>
Matt Blaze <mab@duvel.princeton.edu>
Matthew McGehrin <matthew@graphics.rent.com>
Maxime Taksar <mmt%latour.Berkeley.EDU@ucbvax.berkeley.edu>
MCULNAN@guvax.georgetown.edu
Michael E. Adams <madams@ecst.csuchico.edu>
Michael S. Schiffer <mss2@midway.uchicago.edu>
Mick Farmer <mick@cs.bbk.ac.uk>
Mike Batchelor <mike@batpad.lgb.ca.us>
Mike Batchelor <mike@batpad.lgb.ca.us>
Mike Morgan <morgan@spectra.com>
Mike Riddle <Mike.Riddle@ivgate.omahug.org>
NEELY_MP@DARWIN.NTU.EDU.AU (Mark P. Neely, Northern Territory University)
Nelson Bolyard <nelson@bolyard.wpd.sgi.com>
Nigel Allen <nigel.allen@canrem.com>
Norm <sdc!norm@uu2.psi.com>
OCEANA::JONGSMA <JONGSMA%OCEANA.decnet@benzie.si.com>
owens@cs.uchicago.edu
Pat Rossiter <rossiter_p@kosmos.wcc.govt.nz>
Patty Ericsson <PATTY%SDNET.BITNET@vm1.nodak.edu>
Peter G. Neumann <neumann@csl.sri.com>
Phil Smyth <smith@pyrite.som.cwru.edu>
Phil Weiss <weiss872@snake.cs.uidaho.edu>
Phil Wherry <psw@maestro.mitre.org>
Pierre Dupont <dupont@mdd.comm.mot.com>
prechelt@ira.uka.de
R. Scott Youmans <dogwood!scott@gatech.edu>
Randall Atkinson <atkinson@itd.nrl.navy.mil>
Randell Jesup <jesup@cbmvax.cbm.commodore.com>
Ray Kiddy <kiddyr@apple.com>
Renegade <RKR103@psuvm.psu.edu>
ria@math.ufl.edu
Richard H. Miller <rick@crick.ssctr.bcm.tmc.edu>
Richard McCombs <rick@ricksys.lonestar.org>
Robert F Spence <rfs@kepler.unh.edu>
Robert Shvern <rshvern@gmuvax2.gmu.edu>
Robert Williams Dobson <rwd4f@poe.acc.virginia.edu>
Roger H. Goun <roger@ooblek.zko.dec.com>
Roland F. McKenney <mckenney@bubba.ma30.bull.com>
roy <roy@sol.biostat.med.umich.edu>
Roy Hetherington <SYSTEMRRH@state.systems.sa.gov.au>
Roy M. Silvernail <cybrspc!roy@cs.umn.edu>
rtw@mtuxj.att.com
Scott Coleman <tmkk@uiuc.edu>
Scott Goehring <goehring@mentor.cc.purdue.edu>
Scott J. Kramer <sjk@aura.nbn.com>
Sean Colbath <sean@think.com>
Sean Petty <seanp@undr.org>
Seth Breidbart <sethb@morgan.com>
Stephanie da Silva <arielle@taronga.com>
Steve Cisler <sac@apple.com>
Steve Dever <Steve.Dever@eng.sun.com>
Steve Watt -- KD6GGD <steve@wattres.sj.ca.us>
steven@rivm.nl
Steven J. Edwards <sje@xylos.ma30.bull.com>
Super-User <root@sanger.chem.nd.edu>
SysOp <!system@next32.isnet.com>
s_silverman%W036_NW@mwmgate1.mitre.org
Ted Lemon <lupine!mellon@uunet.uu.net>
Terry Palfrey <Terry_Palfrey@mindlink.bc.ca>
Tim Hruby <Tim.Hruby@p841.f70.n109.z1.fidonet.org>
Tim Wood <sybase!tim@sun.com>
timothy shimeall <shimeall@taurus.cs.nps.navy.mil>
Toby Nixon <tnixon@hayes.com>
Tom Coradeschi <tcora@pica.army.mil>
Uncle Klaus <heilmayr@math.berkeley.edu>
Vaillancourt Jean-Francois <u1746@jsp.umontreal.ca>
Walter Roberson <roberson@nrcbsa.bio.nrc.ca>
Warren R Carithers <wrc@cs.rit.edu>
Wayne Sandrs-Unrein 18-Mar-1992 0929 <SANDERS@dev1.mdcbbs.com>
wex@pws.ma30.bull.com
William Pfeiffer <wdp@airwaves.chi.il.us>
williams@cs.washington.edu
Yaacov Fenster 31-Mar-1992 0739 <fenster@taveng.enet.dec.com>
Yoram Eisenstadter <yoram@panix.com>

Dennis 
-- 
MILNET:   drears@pica.army.mil     UUCP:  ...!uunet!cor5.pica.army.mil!drears
INTERNET: drears@pilot.njin.net    USPS:  Box 210, Wharton, NJ 07885
Phone(home): 201.927.8757	   Phone(work): 201.724.2683/(DSN) 880.2683
USPS:        SMCAR-FSS-E, Bldg 94, Picatinny Ars, NJ 07806

From drears@pica.army.mil Sat Apr  4 03:30:41 1992
Xref: rpi news.announce.newgroups:1930 news.groups:41149 alt.privacy:3345
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,alt.privacy
Path: rpi!think.com!yale.edu!jvnc.net!darwin.sura.net!europa.asd.contel.com!uunet!bounce-back
From: Dennis G. Rears (FSAC) <drears@pica.army.mil>
Subject: CFV:  somp.society.privacy moderated
Followup-To: poster
X-Resent-To: comp.dcom.telecom
Sender: tale@uunet.uu.net (David C Lawrence)
Organization: UUNET Communications Services
Date: Wed, 18 Mar 1992 03:47:14 GMT
Approved: tale@uunet.uu.net

CALL FOR VOTES TO CREATE NEWSGROUP
----------------------------------

Name:	  comp.society.privacy

Status:   moderator
Moderator:  Dennis Rears <drears@pica.army.mil>

Charter:  

   This newsgroup is to provide a forum for discussion on the effect of
   technology on privacy. All to often technology is way ahead of the
   law and society as it presents us with new devices and
   applications.  Technology can enhance and detract from privacy.
   This newsgroup will be gatewayed to an internet mailling list.

Votes:

  Votes should be sent to the address:

                     drears@pica.army.mil

  and may be (but do not have to be) sent by replying to this message.

  Votes should state explicitly whether they are "for" or "against"
  the creation of comp.society.privacy.  Ideally they should contain a
  subject line to the effect of:

   SUBJECT:  I vote YES to comp.society.privacy as proposed
   SUBJECT:  I vote NO to comp.society.privacy as proposed

  The wording does not have to follow these examples precisely but
  it must be unambiguous and unconditional.

  The following will render a vote INVALID:

      - sending it to an address other than the one given above
      - sending it after the voting deadline has passed
      - sending it by a medium other than e-mail
      - posting it to the net
      - qualifying it with a conditional statement such as "I will
        vote for comp.society.privacy provided that..."
      - voting for a proposal with a name or charter other than
        the precise one listed here
      - voting by proxy for someone else

  In the case of duplicate votes from a single user, only the LATEST
  one will be counted.  You may therefore annul a previous vote by
  mailing a new one.

Voting period:

  Votes must arrive at the vote-taker's address before 05:00:00 GMT,
  13 April 1992.

Other information:

  Repeat Calls for Votes and mass acknowledgments of votes received
  to date will be posted periodically during the voting period to
  news.announce.newgroups and  news.groups.

  The final results of the vote will be posted directly after the end
  of the voting period.  In order for comp.society.privacy to be created
  there must be at more "yes" votes then "no" votes AND at least 100 more 
  "yes" votes than "no" votes.


From rears@pica.army.mil Tue Sep 12 10:44:36 1995
Xref: rpi news.announce.newgroups:1815 news.groups:39077 alt.privacy:3224 comp.org.eff.talk:6796 alt.society.civil-liberty:3407
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,alt.privacy,comp.org.eff.talk,alt.society.civil-liberty
Path: rpi!bounce-back
From: Dennis G. Rears <rears@pica.army.mil>
Subject: RFD:  comp.society.privacy
Followup-To: news.groups
Sender: tale@cs.rpi.edu
Nntp-Posting-Host: cs.rpi.edu
Date: Fri, 14 Feb 1992 14:25:35 GMT
Approved: tale@rpi.edu
Lines: 71
Status: RO
X-Status: 

   This is a updated Call for Discussion for the creation of a new newsgroup 
with the name:

    comp.society.privacy  

The original CFD went out several months ago.  Most of the comments were
favourable, the only disagreement was whether it should be named
comp.privacy or comp.society.privacy.  Because of the sentiments that were
stated, I am proposing the name to be comp.society.privacy.
  One question that was raised is what the relationship between CSP
and alt.privacy.  There is no relationship between the two groups.  

---------------------Original CFD-----------------------------
  This newsgroup will be moderated and be gatewayed to an Internet
Mailing List.  I propose myself as the Moderator of this newsgroup. I am
currently moderator of the telecom-priv (telecom-priv@pica.army.mil)
Internet mailing list.  The telecom-priv mailing list will be folded
into this newsgroup.

   The discussion will center around the effect of technology upon
privacy.  All to often technology is way ahead of the law and society as
it presents us with new devices and applications.  Technology can enhance
and detract from privacy.  For example cryptologic methods can enhance
privacy but sophisicated microphones can detract from it. 
   Topics include but are not restricted to:

	o Telecommunications - Caller-Id, ANI, monitoring of 
phones calls (cellear/cordless), tracking people's locations through use of 

	o Cryptology - enhances citizens rights to safeguard their
information.

	o Data Bases - Big Brother is here but it is not just the Govt,
It is also Corporate America.  The advent of mailing lists has now
reach an extremely high level.  Consider the Social Security Number.

	o High Tech Surveillance Devices - ranging for sophisicated (SP) bugs,
viewing devices, and audio devices.

	o The boon in video cameras and private citizens taping events;
e.g. Rodney King episode.  Video as well as Photographic information can
be forged.  

	o  The effect of technology on privacy in the legal arena (e.g
admissibilty in court of items produced by new and old technology).

	o Misc - National Identifier Numbers, Bar coding currency, electronic 
toll devices mounted on Autos, etc.  

  This group is not intended for the overall issue of privacy, (e.g
should a rape victim have their name published).  

  Currently privacy issues are discussed in many newsgroups but only how
the privacy issue affects that one topic.  There is a need for a single
newsgroup.  The Internet mailing list telecom-priv
(telecom-priv@pica.army.mil) was created a year ago to discuss
Caller-Id after the that topic was bounced from comp.dcom.telecom.
Telecom-priv was expanded to include all issues of privacy dealing with
telecom equipment.  
   I am proposing that this group be moderated to keep a high signal to
noise ratio.  Moderation of a newgroup means different thing to different
people.  The moderation that I propose will filter out all administrative
requests, test messages, non-tech/privacy items, and excessive flames.
Nothing is censored. 

Dennis
-- 
			Dennis G. Rears
MILNET:   drears@pica.army.mil     UUCP:  ...!uunet!fsac1.pica.army.mil!drears
INTERNET: drears@pilot.njin.net    USPS:  Box 210, Wharton, NJ 07885
Phone(home): 201.927.8757	   

 
USENET FACT: Flaming
Flaming is the hostile interaction between multiple Usenet users.