• Your Trusted Usenet Provider
  • Secure, Private, Unlimited

Newsgroups Main » Newsgroups Directory » Computers - Non-OS » Programming and languages

Oberon ( comp.lang.oberon )
 
From schaeppe@nessie.cs.id.ethz.ch Sat Feb 13 12:44:57 1993
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,comp.lang.c++,comp.lang.eiffel,comp.lang.misc,comp.lang.modula2,comp.lang.modula3,comp.lang.objective-c,comp.object,comp.os.misc
Path: uunet!enterpoop.mit.edu!spool.mu.edu!uwm.edu!rpi!bounce-back
From: schaeppe@nessie.cs.id.ethz.ch (Christian Schaepper)
Subject: RFD: comp.lang.oberon
Message-ID: <04w38-_@rpi.edu>
Followup-To: news.groups
Organization: Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH), Zurich, CH
Date: Mon, 1 Feb 1993 19:24:28 GMT
Approved: tale@uunet.uu.net
Lines: 51
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:3199 news.groups:65617 comp.lang.c++:37116 comp.lang.eiffel:3404 comp.lang.misc:12782 comp.lang.modula2:6347 comp.lang.modula3:1626 comp.lang.objective-c:1094 comp.object:9620 comp.os.misc:3196

              R E Q U E S T   F O R   D I S C U S S I O N
              -------------------------------------------

This is a Request For Discussion (RFD) for the creation of a newsgroup
for the discussion of issues regarding the Oberon language and system.

GROUP NAME
	comp.lang.oberon

STATUS
	unmoderated

CHARTER
	comp.lang.oberon (unmoderated) will be a newsgroup for discussion
	of all types of issues regarding the Oberon language and system.

RATIONALE
	Due to historical reasons, topics related to Oberon are currently
	being discussed in comp.lang.modula2. Not everyone may be aware of
	this fact and thus miss the discussion related to Oberon. Further,
	readers of comp.lang.modula2 might not like the "abuse" of their
	newsgroup. The creation of comp.lang.oberon solves both problems.

BACKGROUND
	Oberon is really three things:
	- the name of a project started by Proff. N. Wirth and J. Gutknecht
	  (both at ETH Zurich) with the goal of developing a modern and
	  portable operating system for personal workstations
	- a general-purpose programming language (the successor of Modula-2)
	  with type extension as its principal new feature 
	  (The programming language Oberon-2, designed to make object
	  oriented programming easier, is a true extension of Oberon)
	- an extensible operating system, complete with a novel user
          interface and associated software tools

	The Oberon system (including the Oberon compiler) is available as
	freeware via anonymous ftp from neptune.inf.ethz.ch (129.132.101.33)
	(directory 'Oberon') for the following machines:
	IBM PC (386 or better), Macintosh II (Apple), SPARC (Sun),
	DECstation/3100 and 3500, RS/6000 (IBM)
	(You'll also find some docu (including language reports) there)

SCHEDULE
	This RFD was issued on February  1 and will last for 30 days. If
	this RFD is approved, a CFV will be issued on March 4, and
	the voting period will end at 11:59 (MET), March 25.
-- 
+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| Christian Schaepper, Zurich, Switzerland      schaeppe@nessie.cs.id.ethz.ch |
|                  DECnet (HEPNET/SPAN): EZINFO::SCHAEPPER (57413::SCHAEPPER) |
+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------+

From cschaepp@iiic.ethz.ch Thu Mar 11 11:33:16 1993
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: Christian Schaepper <cschaepp@iiic.ethz.ch>
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,comp.lang.c++,comp.lang.eiffel,comp.lang.misc,comp.lang.modula2,comp.lang.modula3,comp.lang.objective-c,comp.object,comp.os.misc
Subject: CFV: comp.lang.oberon
Followup-To: poster
Date: 11 Mar 1993 01:25:24 -0500
Organization: Dept. Informatik, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH), Zurich, CH
Lines: 37
Sender: tale@rodan.UU.NET
Approved: tale@uunet.uu.net
Message-ID: <1nmm0kINN57m@rodan.UU.NET>
NNTP-Posting-Host: rodan.uu.net
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:3339 news.groups:67875 comp.lang.c++:39323 comp.lang.eiffel:3497 comp.lang.misc:13001 comp.lang.modula2:6611 comp.lang.modula3:1706 comp.lang.objective-c:1143 comp.object:10023 comp.os.misc:3257

                      C A L L   F O R   V O T E S
                      ---------------------------

This is a Call For Votes (CFV) for the creation of comp.lang.oberon.

DISCUSSION
	A Request For Discussion (RFD) was issued on February 1.
	The name, status and charter of the new group were accepted.

GROUP NAME, STATUS and CHARTER
	comp.lang.oberon (unmoderated) will be a newsgroup for discussion
	of all types of issues regarding the Oberon language and system.

VOTING
	The voting period will begin when this CFV is posted. It will 
	end at 11:59 (MET), April 1, 1993. According to the Usenet
	rules, in order for the group to be created, at least 2/3 of
	the votes cast must be YES votes, and there must be at least
	100 more YES votes than NO votes

	Votes must be sent to the following address:

		cschaepp@iiic.ethz.ch
	
	You may simply "reply" to this posting. The subject line should
	be an unambigous YES or NO vote (e.g. "I vote ( YES | NO ) on
	the creation of comp.lang.oberon as proposed"). Conditional
	statements (e.g. "I would vote YES, if ...") will be considered
	as comments as will votes posted to the net instead of being
	mailed to the above address. Please include your full name if
	your mailer doesn't do this for you.

SCHEDULE
	This CFV was issued on March 11, and the voting period will
        end at 11:59 (MET), April 1, 1993.

                   Thank you for your participation!

From cschaepp@iiic.ethz.ch Thu Apr  1 16:00:50 1993
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: Christian Schaepper <cschaepp@iiic.ethz.ch>
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,comp.lang.c++,comp.lang.eiffel,comp.lang.misc,comp.lang.modula2,comp.lang.modula3,comp.lang.objective-c,comp.object,comp.os.misc
Subject: RESULT: comp.lang.oberon passes 237:17
Followup-To: news.groups
Date: 1 Apr 1993 10:07:55 -0500
Organization: Dept. Informatik, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH), Zurich, CH
Lines: 273
Sender: tale@rodan.UU.NET
Approved: tale@uunet.uu.net
Message-ID: <1pf0gbINNfgn@rodan.UU.NET>
NNTP-Posting-Host: rodan.uu.net
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:3423 news.groups:68981 comp.lang.c++:40795 comp.lang.eiffel:3557 comp.lang.misc:13156 comp.lang.modula2:6834 comp.lang.modula3:1761 comp.lang.objective-c:1173 comp.object:10310 comp.os.misc:3318

                            comp.lang.oberon
                             R E S U L T S

Here are the results of the CFV on the creation of the comp.lang.oberon
newsgroup.

	votes cast:	254
	yes votes:	237 (93.3%)
	no votes:	 17 ( 6.7%)

The requirements for group creation are met and the new newsgroup can be
created after a waiting period of 5 days. During this waiting period the
net has a chance to correct any errors in the voter list appended below.

Thanks to anyone who cast a vote!

YES votes:
"A. Evers" <wbtt001@dutrun2.tudelft.nl>
aburke@BIX.com
adcmail!jasons@uu4.psi.com (Jason Smith)
Adrian Howard <adrianh@cogs.sussex.ac.uk>
aki@bnlux1.bnl.gov
alane@wozzle.linet.org (J. Alan Eldridge)
Alexander Tuninga <tuninga@statistik.tu-muenchen.de>
altmann@swe.uni-linz.ac.at
"(Andreas Garzotto)" <garzotto@swssai.uu.ch>
"(Andreas Margelisch)" <magi@swssai.uu.ch>
andrew%srsuna@srsuna.shlrc.mq.edu.au (Andrew McVeigh)
ATJBF%ASUACAD.BITNET@CEARN.BITNET (John Foster)
Barry Allebone <barry@frost.bain.OZ.AU>
Barry Cornelius <Barry.Cornelius@durham.ac.uk>
bbking!kgs@VFL.Paramax.COM
ben@nj8j.blackwlf.mese.com (Ben Coleman)
Bernhard Leisch <K3096E0@edvz.uni-linz.ac.at>
Bert Bos <bert@let.rug.nl>
biff@biff.jpunix.com (Dwight Everhart)
Bill Wallace <wewallac@watsol.uwaterloo.ca>
borchert@mathematik.uni-ulm.de (Andreas Borchert)
Boris Nordenstroem <boris@vis.inf.ethz.ch>
brent@rcx1.ssd.csd.harris.com (Brent Benson)
Brian Beattie <beattie@SSD.intel.com>
Brian Excarnate <aslakson@cs.umn.edu>
brueni@csgrad.cs.vt.edu (Dennis Brueni)
Cedric Didier Baechler <cbaechle@iiic.ethz.ch>
"Cheryl Lins" <cheryl_lins@quickmail.apple.com>
"(Christoph MALLOTH)" <malloth@lsesun4.epfl.ch>
claudio@amsoft.net.ch (Claudio Nieder)
Clemens Szyperski <szyperski@ICSI.Berkeley.EDU>
clerc@gla.ecoledoc.ibp.fr
cond@hyperion.lsi-j.co.jp (Yoshiyuki KONDO)
Conor O'Neill <conor@inmos.co.uk>
<Crelier@cs.inf.ethz.ch>
cspt@giraffe.ru.ac.za (Pat Terry)
Curlen H. Phipps <phipps@cis.ohio-state.edu>
CZSORO@zcvx00.decnet.ascom.ch
d90-awe@nada.kth.se
David Derbes <derbes@uhuru.uchicago.edu>
"David M. Brumley" <dmb@srl.cacs.usl.edu>
David.Sims@UC.Edu (David Sims)
Denisov  Andrey <andy@isi.itfs.nsk.su>
Dennis Michl <dmichl@iiic.ethz.ch>
Dirk Muysers <muysers@capsogeti.fr>
dm_devaney@pnlg.pnl.gov
Dmitry Sagatelyan <Dima@growth.msk.su>
dnord@cs.gmu.edu (David J. Nordstrom)
Douin Jean Michel <douin@cnam.cnam.fr>
dov@menora.weizmann.ac.il (Dov Grobgeld)
eberhard@vptt.ch
Edin Hodzic <dino@ready.eng.ready.com>
elidriss@enserb.u-bordeaux.fr ((Elho) ELIDRISSI)
epl@world.std.com (Edward P Luwish)
eric blair hanneken <hanneken@cis.ohio-state.edu>
Eric Stechmann - SP <els@puck.zycad.com>
erv@everest.tandem.com (E. Videki)
euzebio@dcc.unicamp.br (Marcos J. C. Euzebio)
ezavada@rucs2.sunlab.cs.runet.edu
"(Fernando D. Mato Mira)" <matomira@ligsg15.epfl.ch>
fld@informatik.uni-bremen.de (Guenter Feldmann)
foulques@email.teaser.com ( dominik  latouche)
<Franz@cs.inf.ethz.ch>
frings@mathematik.uni-ulm.de (Astrid Frings)
frode@toaster.SFSU.EDU (Frode Odegard)
FSSPR@acad3.alaska.edu
geser@ares.informatik.uni-ulm.de
gesswein@pcpool1.informatik.uni-ulm.de
ggw@wolves.Durham.NC.US (Gregory G. Woodbury)
grabert@mathematik.uni-ulm.de (Matthias Grabert)
"Greg (G.T.) Stovall" <gstovall@bnr.ca>
<Griesemer@cs.inf.ethz.ch>
gsc@coombs.anu.edu.au (Sean Case)
Guenter Dotzel <100023.2527@CompuServe.COM>
guenter@prism.gatech.edu (Brian Guenter)
<Gutknecht@cs.inf.ethz.ch>
gwg@salmon.aux.apple.com (Gene Garbutt)
halpin@vsg1.dsg.dec.com (Stephen E. Halpin)
Hans Eberle <eberle@src.dec.com>
Hans J. Froehlich <froehlich@swe.uni-linz.ac.at>
"(Hansjakob Emch)" <hajo@swssai.uu.ch>
hartmut@oberon.nbg.sub.org (hartmut Goebel hartmut Goebel)
Hasse Haitto <haitto@nada.kth.se>
<Hausner@cs.inf.ethz.ch>
hausutzu@chamber.in-berlin.de (Utz-Uwe Haus)
"Heberto Ghezzo" <heberto@christie.Meakins.McGill.CA>
<Heeb@cs.inf.ethz.ch>
<Heuberger@cs.inf.ethz.ch>
<Hiestand@cs.inf.ethz.ch>
holger@lsd.nbg.sub.org (Holger Mitterwald)
HSSEMMIB%CPHKVX.BITNET@CEARN.BITNET
"J. Adrian Zimmer" <jazimmer@cs.UND.NoDak.Edu>
jaime@afs.com
Jarmo Pussinen
jds@cs.UMD.EDU (James da Silva)
jeffo@uiuc.edu (J.B. Nicholson-Owens)
"Jeffrey R. Brown" <jeffrey.r.brown@inst.medtronic.com>
jerry.bujas@itc.univie.ac.at (Jerry Bujas (gst))
jjan@cs.rug.nl (Beeblebrox)
"Joachim Michely" <michely@deliah.nemeter.dinoco.DE>
joel@pa.dec.com (Joel McCormack)
"Jon. Hallett" <J.J.Hallett@ecs.southampton.ac.uk>
Jordan Henderson <jhenders@SEI.CMU.EDU>
jordan@uniblab.aero.org (Larry M. Jordan)
Josef Templ <templ@inf.ethz.ch>
jpg@ee.edinburgh.ac.uk
jpussi@cs.joensuu.fi (Jarmo Pussinen)
Jyrki J Wahlstedt <jwa@vipunen.hut.fi>
kardaras@ecn.purdue.edu (George S Kardaras)
katcher@netcom.com (Jeff Katcher)
"Kevin R. Coombes" <krc@wam.umd.edu>
kluge@avalon.physik.unizh.ch (kluge daniel)
knapp@cs.purdue.edu (Edgar Knapp)
Kristian Butorac <butorac@informatik.tu-muenchen.de>
krumke@cs.albany.edu (Sven Oliver Krumke)
ksackett@cs.uah.edu (Karl R. Sackett)
laffra@watson.ibm.com (C.Laffra)
larry@titan.tsd.arlut.utexas.edu (Larry Maturo)
lchen@ponder.csci.unt.edu (Lee Li-Jen Chen)
lendecke@namu01.gwdg.de (Volker Lendecke EIFFEL)
lima!lima-3!reh@uu5.psi.com (Rich Hoffarth)
longjohn@adnovum.ch (Stefan Wengi)
<Ludwig@cs.inf.ethz.ch>
lvin@vucnit.voronezh.su
lytras@avalon.physik.unizh.ch (Apostolos Lytras)
maartenb@na47sun05.cern.ch (Maarten Ballintijn)
mani@ppvku.ericsson.se (Markus Nikolopoulos)
Manuel Eduardo Correia <mcc@ciup1.ncc.up.pt>
Marc Brandis <brandis@inf.ethz.ch>
Marcel Waldvogel <marcel@nice.usergroup.ethz.ch>
Mark Skipper <mcs@de-montfort.ac.uk>
Markus Geltz <Geltz@informatik.uni-stuttgart.de>
martin@mathematik.uni-ulm.de (Martin Hasch)
martino@alseng.boeing.com
matt@amex-trs.com (The Libertarian Underground)
"Matthew (M.) Holiday" <holiday@bnr.ca>
Matthias Neeracher <neeri@iis.ee.ethz.ch>
matwood@peruvian.cs.utah.edu (Mark Atwood)
Maximilian Spring <sepp@cs.tu-berlin.de>
mcbreen@wg.estec.esa.nl
mcintosh@ccwf.cc.utexas.edu (aubrey mcintosh)
mdt26@cas.org (Ming-Ding Tsao)
Michael John Haertel <mike@skinner.cs.uoregon.edu>
mich@trl.mei.co.jp
mikeg@psg.com (Mike Gallo)
mjl@cs.rit.edu (Michael J Lutz)
<Moessenboeck@cs.inf.ethz.ch>
Nedorya Alexey <ned@isi.itfs.nsk.su>
neurogen@reks.uia.ac.be (Neurogenetica)
norman@bellcore.com (Norman Ramsey)
Paolo Bucci <bucci@cis.ohio-state.edu>
pareto!steffan@wupost.wustl.edu (Mike Steffan)
Patrick Saladin <psaladin@iiic.ethz.ch>
Paul McRae <mcrae@gaul.csd.uwo.ca>
Paul Prescod <papresco@undergrad.math.uwaterloo.ca>
Paul.Tvete@ii.uib.no
pcroom-user@ntucc-pcroom.ntu.edu.tw
Peter Hertel <PHERTEL@dosuni1.rz.Uni-Osnabrueck.DE>
peter@ficc.ferranti.com (Peter da Silva)
<Pfister@cs.inf.ethz.ch>
"pfterry" <pfterry@MSMail.kgs.ukans.edu>
pjc@luke.ATdiv.Lanl.GOV (Paul J. Channell)
ploesch@swe.uni-linz.ac.at
pomberger@swe.uni-linz.ac.at
pshuang@Athena.MIT.EDU
psp@spectrospin.ch (Panagiotis Spiliopoulos)
pwau@alcbel.be (Patrick Wauters)
R James Noble <kjx@comp.vuw.ac.nz>
Ralf Bauer <nathan@cs.tu-berlin.de>
"Ramon E. Pereda" <rpereda@cs.arizona.edu>
randy@psg.com (Randy Bush)
Ray Jackson <raj@halcyon.halcyon.com>
reinhold@swe.uni-linz.ac.at
"Rett Bull, Pomona College" <RBULL@POMONA.CLAREMONT.EDU>
Richard Hable <K3027E7@edvz.uni-linz.ac.at>
Rick Moore <rickm@gethen.com>
Rik Watson <watson@futurs.enet.dec.com>
"R.J.D.Elias" <R.J.D.Elias@fel.tno.nl>
"(Robb Nebbe)" <nebbe@lglsun.epfl.ch>
Robert Cowell <rgc@stats.ucl.ac.uk>
rod@cosc.canterbury.ac.nz (R. Harries)
Roger Vossler <vossler@csn.org>
rohm@mpimfhd.mpimf-heidelberg.mpg.de (Klaus Rohm)
romu@spectrospin.ch (Roger Mueller)
rose@cs.wisc.edu (Scott Rose)
rschnapp@metaflow.com (Russ Schnapp)
rschoen@mathematik.uni-ulm.de (Reinhard Schoen)
ruess@ares.informatik.uni-ulm.de (Harald Ruess)
sametinger@swe.uni-linz.ac.at
schauler@mathematik.uni-ulm.de (Markus Schauler)
schiffer@swe.uni-linz.ac.at
schramm@prosun.first.gmd.de (Andreas Schramm)
sclafani@netcom.com (Michael Sclafani)
sibrahim@cs.usc.edu (Shahril Ibrahim)
stanglow@mathematik.uni-ulm.de (Werner Stanglow)
Stefan Esser <se@ParC02.mi.Uni-Koeln.DE>
Stefan Odendahl <sodendah@iiic.ethz.ch>
stefan@fostam.nbg.sub.org (Stefan Stammler)
"(Stelio Tzonis)" <stelio@lysis.ch>
stephan@stack.urc.tue.nl (Stephan Eggermont)
stewartg@ERE.UMontreal.CA (Stewart Gilles)
stritzinger@swe.uni-linz.ac.at
<Supcik@cs.inf.ethz.ch>
swg@mathematik.uni-ulm.de (Franz Schweiggert)
T0FG000 <T0FG@unb.ca>
thacker@src.dec.com
Thomas F. Reid <reid@vtopus.cs.vt.edu>
Thomas Ingold <tingold@iiic.ethz.ch>
"Thomas J. Herbert" <THERBERT@umiami.IR.Miami.EDU>
Thomas Wainwright <tcwain@u.washington.edu>
thutt <thutt@MAIL.CASI.NASA.GOV>
"Todd A. Proebsting" <todd@cs.arizona.edu>
tomk@ee.edinburgh.ac.uk
Tony Sloane <tony@riker.cs.colorado.edu>
Toshinori.Maeno <tmaeno@cc.titech.ac.jp>
troyer@ips.id.ethz.ch
TSOS@uni-duesseldorf.de (Detlef Lannert)
uli@decum.enet.dec.com (uli@decum.enet.dec.com)
Ulrich Hoffmann <uho@informatik.uni-kiel.dbp.de>
ulrich@mips.complang.tuwien.ac.at (Ulrich Neumerkel)
Urs Blum <ublum@iiic.ethz.ch>
vev@vevdec.cs.murdoch.edu.au (Val Veraart)
vilva@viikki21.helsinki.fi (VEIJO VILVA (KEJAL))
"(Vincent Kohler)" <kohler@di.epfl.ch>
wald@mathematik.uni-ulm.de (Bernd Waldbauer)
wald@theory.lcs.mit.edu (David Wald)
walische@mathematik.uni-ulm.de (Hanno Walischewski)
wbirkhol@mathematik.uni-ulm.de (Detlef Birkholz)
wfugmann@mathematik.uni-ulm.de (Andreas Fugmann)
whitney@christie.Meakins.McGill.CA (Whitney de Vries)
WI00227@wipool.wifo.uni-mannheim.de
<Wirth@cs.inf.ethz.ch>
wnj@indigo.hobby.nl (Willy Jacobs)
Wolfgang Pree <wolfgang@amadeus.wustl.edu>
wrc@cs.rit.edu (Warren R Carithers)
x920031@bus072.rz.ruhr-uni-bochum.de (Jost Krieger)
yeung@cse.ogi.edu (Woodrow Yeung)

NO votes:
claude@trc.mew.mei.co.jp (Claude Huss)
emcguire@intellection.com (Ed McGuire)
"Eric J. Olson" <ejo@kaja.gi.alaska.edu>
Igor Metz <metz@iam.unibe.ch>
Marc Moorcroft <smarry@zooid.guild.org>
mhpower@Athena.MIT.EDU
owens@cookiemonster.cc.buffalo.edu (Bill Owens)
peirce@gumby.cc.wmich.edu (Leonard J. Peirce)
Peter Hermann <ph@ica.uni-stuttgart.dbp.de>
"Phil Scadden, Scadden Research" <mdlcpgs@lhn.gns.cri.nz>
rick@crick.ssctr.bcm.tmc.edu (Richard H. Miller)
Roland Kaltefleiter <kaltef@theo-physik.uni-kiel.dbp.de>
srogers@tad.eds.com (Steve Rogers)
Stephen Lau <lau@ai.sri.com>
tchannon@black.demon.co.uk (Tim Channon)
tkoppel@cassandra.cair.du.edu (Ted Koppel)
trier@slc6.INS.CWRU.Edu (Stephen C. Trier)

 
USENET FACT: Kill File
A set of filters setup to determine which user's posts will be read/downloaded or ignored.