• Your Trusted Usenet Provider
  • Secure, Private, Unlimited

Newsgroups Main » Newsgroups Directory » Computers - Non-OS » Miscellaneous software

SHAZAM econometrics ( comp.soft-sys.shazam )
 
From [email protected] Sat Feb 13 12:44:35 1993
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,sci.econ
Path: uunet!enterpoop.mit.edu!spool.mu.edu!uwm.edu!rpi!bounce-back
From: Diana Whistler <[email protected]>
Subject: RFD: comp.econometrics.shazam
Message-ID: <[email protected]>
Followup-To: news.groups
Organization: shazam.econ.ubc.ca
Date: Mon, 1 Feb 1993 19:24:02 GMT
Approved: [email protected]
Lines: 15
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:3198 news.groups:65616 sci.econ:14991

This is a Request for Discussion for the creation of a newsgroup.
The general purpose of the newsgroup is for the exchange of ideas
among users of the SHAZAM econometrics computer package. 
SHAZAM Version 7.0 was released in January 1993.

The proposed name of the group is : comp.econometrics.shazam

It is proposed that the group will be unmoderated.

It is intended that the activities of the group will be:
  - discussion of problems with the use of SHAZAM and how
    to solve them.
  - sharing of how SHAZAM can be used to program econometric
    estimation and testing algorithms.
  - stimulating research and application of econometric methodology.

From [email protected] Mon Mar 29 20:36:56 1993
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: Diana Whistler <[email protected]>
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,sci.econ
Subject: CFV: comp.soft-sys.shazam
Followup-To: poster
Date: 26 Mar 1993 10:52:07 -0500
Organization: UUNET Communications
Lines: 43
Sender: [email protected]
Approved: [email protected]
Message-ID: <[email protected]>
NNTP-Posting-Host: rodan.uu.net
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:3372 news.groups:68529 sci.econ:16247

                CALL FOR VOTES  (CFV)

Proposed Newsgroup : comp.soft-sys.shazam

Type: Unmoderated

Description: Discussion about the SHAZAM econometrics
             computer program.

Charter: The purpose of comp.soft-sys.shazam is to offer 
         general discussion about the statistical and
         econometric features of the SHAZAM program. The
         discussion may include problems with the use of
         SHAZAM and how to solve them. For example, the use
         of SHAZAM for programming estimation and testing
         algorithms could be shared. There are SHAZAM users
         in 63 countries.

Intended audience: Users of the SHAZAM program.

Voting period: March 26, 1993 through April 25, 1993 

How to Vote: To vote in FAVOR of the newsgroup creation of
             comp.soft-sys.shazam send a message to:   
                  [email protected]
          
             To vote AGAINST the proposal send a message to:
                  [email protected]

             Please use the following format:
              Subject: [Yes/No]
              I vote [Yes/No] for the creation of comp.soft-sys.shazam.
              [Last name], [First name], [E-mail address] 

Comments: The purpose of comp.soft-sys.shazam is similar to the
newsgroup comp.soft-sys.matlab that discusses the use of the
matlab software.
Positive support was expressed during the RFD period.
The name proposed in the RFD period (comp.econometrics.shazam)
has been changed to comp.soft-sys.shazam to be consistent with
other newsgroup names.



From [email protected] Wed Apr 28 18:55:31 1993
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: Diana Whistler <[email protected]>
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,sci.econ
Subject: RESULT: comp.soft-sys.shazam passes 175:17
Followup-To: news.groups
Date: 27 Apr 1993 16:40:45 -0400
Organization: ubc.ca
Lines: 205
Sender: [email protected]
Approved: [email protected]
Message-ID: <[email protected]>
NNTP-Posting-Host: rodan.uu.net
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:3519 news.groups:70956 sci.econ:16710

The following gives the vote tally resulting from
the Call For Votes for creation of the newsgroup
comp.soft-sys.shazam.


NUMBER OF YES VOTES = 175
NUMBER OF NO  VOTES =  17
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
          YES VOTES

Ahlskog, Peter,	[email protected]
Albertson, Kevin,      [email protected]
Alexander, Donald L.,   [email protected]
Allison, Michael, [email protected]
Altonji, Joseph  [email protected]
Aly, Hassan  [email protected] 
Andrea, John    [email protected]
Armitage, Elizabeth, [email protected]
Aroca-Gonzalez, Patricio, [email protected]
Asche, Frank   [email protected] 
Atkinson, Linda  [email protected]
Baker, Alan, [email protected]
Banaian, King, [email protected]
Barsky,Robert,   [email protected]
Bartholdy, Jan,  [email protected]
Beetsma Roel [email protected]
Bellamy, David, [email protected]
Bera, Anil [email protected]
Berck,Peter, [email protected]
Berk, Jonathan, [email protected] 
Bernabe, Manolito, [email protected]
Boholm, Johan, [email protected]
Bowden, Roger J., [email protected]
Boyd, Jeremy,    [email protected]
Bradley, James, [email protected]
Buchanan, Craig  [email protected]
Cameron, Trudy     [email protected]
Capps, Oral  [email protected] 
Carter, Colin, [email protected]
Casterline, Gary, [email protected]
Chalfant, Jim, [email protected]
Chi leung, Chan. [email protected]
Christian, Jason, [email protected]
Coelli, Tim, [email protected]
Courchane, Marsha,  [email protected]
Crawford, David  [email protected]
Cullum, Mike    [email protected]
Cunneen, Matthew, [email protected]
Davis, Byron,  [email protected]
Dixon, Bruce L.  [email protected]
Dixon, William J.  [email protected]
Donnelly, William, [email protected]  
Dowla, Asif, [email protected]
Drass, Kriss, [email protected]
Duncan, Karen, [email protected] 
Dupont, Diane,    [email protected]
Eales, James, [email protected]
Edgington, Kathy      [email protected]
Edwards, Mary E. [email protected]
Endo, Kaoru, [email protected]
Evans, Lew, [email protected]
Ferguson, Brian   [email protected]
Fisher, Timothy, [email protected]
Flamm, Kenneth S, [email protected]
Forseille, Colette,  [email protected] 
Fox, Kevin, [email protected]
Freedman, Ruth, [email protected]
Fry, Julie   [email protected]
Fry, Tim,      [email protected]
Gang, Ira, [email protected]
Garbaccio, Richard, [email protected]
Giles, David,   [email protected]
Giles, Judith, [email protected]
Gill, Clare  [email protected]
Gomme, Paul, [email protected]
Gow, David, [email protected]
Grafton, Quentin, [email protected]
Grant, Jim  [email protected]
Gray, David,  [email protected] 
Griffiths, William, [email protected]
Groenewold, Nicolaas, [email protected]
Hall, Anthony, [email protected]
Hallahan, Charlie    [email protected] 
Hammond, Christopher J.   [email protected] 
Harrington, Julie, [email protected]
Harris, Richard, [email protected]
Harrison Robin      [email protected]
Heggman, Kaj   [email protected] 
Heien, Dale,  [email protected]
Heutte, Fred, [email protected]
Hill, Robert,   [email protected]
Jackman, Simon  [email protected]
Jolly, Desmond [email protected]
Joutz, Fred,    [email protected]
Kalwani, Sharan,  shan@techops.cray.com 
Kearns, Paula_S.   KEARNS@msu.edu
Kenyon, Peter  kenyon@mururoa.ecom.unimelb.edu.au
Klassen, Melvin,  KLASSEN@UVVM.UVIC.CA
Kohli, Ulrich, KOHLI@uni2a.unige.ch
Lafontaine, Francine, laf@umich.edu
Levy, David DLEVY@GMUVAX.GMU.EDU
Lorenz, Bernhard, lorenz@nestroy.wu-wien.ac.at
Lu, Wen-Ting   wenlu@are.berkeley.edu
MacKinnon, James, mackinno@qucdn.queensu.ca
Martinello, Felice, fmartine@spartan.ac.brocku.ca
Martines, Joao   jmartine@magnus.acs.ohio-state.edu
Mason, Karen O.   masonk@ewc.bitnet
Maurice, Sebastian A.  556722@acadvm1.uottawa.ca
McBride, Mark, mcbride@sba-laws.sba.muohio.edu
McLaren, Keith,   KEITHMCL@vaxc.cc.monash.edu.au
McRae, Robert, mcrae@acs.ucalgary.ca
Meeker, William wqmeeker@iastate.edu
Millard, Stephen, smillard@merle.acns.nwu.edu
Miller, Douglas, miller@are.berkeley.edu
Montalvo,Rafael, rafael.montalvo@um.cc.umich.edu.
Morrison, Greg, morrison@ccs.carleton.ca.
Narain, Urvashi  narain@are.Berkeley.EDU 
Nason, James, userspup@mtsg.ubc.ca
Neff, David, Neff@uafsysb.uark.edu
Netteland, Nils, Nils.Netteland@kredit.nhh.no
Nickerson, David   DNICK@UVVM.UVic.CA
Nishimoto, Jerry, jtnishimoto@ucdavis.edu
O'Regan, John, J_ORegan@csvax1.ucc.IE
Oakley, Lisa, loakley@gmuvax.gmu.edu
Okunade, Albert,  OKUNADEAA@MSUVX1.MEMST.EDU 
Paris Quirino, qparis@ucdavis.edu.
Pearce, Doug, pearce@econbus1.econ.ncsu.edu
Peltola, Jukka M, jukka@primal.ucdavis.edu
Perloff, Jeffrey M.  perloff@are.Berkeley.Edu
Pinkse, Joris PINKSE@VAX.LSE.AC.UK
Pinto, Ricardo PINTO@VAX.LSE.AC.UK
Poirier, Dale, poirier@epas.utoronto.ca
Quinn, Michael mjquinn@pucc.princeton.edu
Rambaldi, Alicia, arambald@metz.une.edu.au
Ramezani, Cyrus, ramezani@cyrus.famres.wisc.edu
Ray, Daryll E.,   DTUGARTE@utkvx.utk.edu
Redish, Angela,   Angela.Redish@mtsg.ubc.ca 
Renzetti, Steven SRENZETT@SPARTAN.AC.BROCKU.CA
Rhee, Hyun-Jae, HYUN@CONVEX.CSD.UWM.EDU
Richardson, Sharon, sharonr@ccs.carleton.ca
Rockerbie, Duane, ROCKERBIE@HG.ULETH.CA
Roennestad,Marie, iosmsr@nlh.nlh.no
Roerstad, Per Kristian, per.kristian.roerstad@ios.nlh.no
Saarinen, Lauri   Lauri.Saarinen@valt.helsinki.fi
Salvador, Ricardo, rjsalvad@iastate.edu
Samuel, John,   samuel@ucs.indiana.edu
Sandvik, Bjorn,  Bjorn.Sandvik@econ.uib.no
Shiba, Tsunemasa  tshiba@shako.sk.tsukuba.ac.jp
Short, Christopher, cshort@abare.gov.au
Sims, John, jsims@efs1.efs.mq.edu.au
Simson, Richard. rsimson@sfu.ca
Small, John, j.small@csc.canterbury.ac.nz
Smith, Forrest   fls@keynes.econ.duke.edu
St Sauver, Joe, joe@oregon.uoregon.edu
Steen, Frode   SNF_FS@DEBET.NHH.NO 
Sullivan, Michael, m.sullivan@csc.canterbury.ac.nz
Sumner,Daniel, dan@primal.ucdavis.edu
Sung, Hai-Yen   sung@are.berkeley.edu
Tessema, Getachew Asgedom, gasgedom@metz.une.edu.au
Thomas, Irena, thomasi@mcmaster.ca
Tirupattur Vishwanath vish@uiucvmd.cso.uiuc.edu 
Torsti, Esko, esko.torsti@cc.helsinki.fi
Ung, Shu   shu900@cscgpo.anu.edu.au 
Vasavada, Utpal,    Vasavada@ers.bitnet
Wahl, Tom, Wahl@WSUVM1.CSC.WSU.EDU
Walboomers, Caspar NICOLE@KUBVX1.EARN
Ward, Bert D.  WARDB@kea.lincoln.ac.nz 
Warner, Kee. krwarner@esprit.uccs.edu
Weidner, Jeff, jeffw@cs.ucla.edu
Weiss, Kenneth R.  ken@primal.ucdavis.edu 
Wekx, Constantijn, mad-2@kub.nl
Wells, Rob, rob.wells@sbl.buslaw.utas.edu.au
White, Ken     userken@mtsg.ubc.ca
Wildner, Sascha, swildner@channelz.GUN.de
Williams, Oral H.  owilli@tombstone.tamu.edu 
Winterbottom, Christopher Q., cqwinterbottom@ucdavis.edu
Winzar, Hume,  winzar@csuvax1.murdoch.edu.au
Wohar, Mark, wohar@unomaha.edu
Wong, Donna, usersnow@mtsg.ubc.ca
Worswick, Chris,  USERWORC@MTSG.UBC.CA
Wright, David, david@cats.ucsc.edu
Wright, Robert, rwright@coombs.anu.edu.au
Wrigley, Danny  dwrigley@waikato.ac.nz
Wu, Dominic  dwu@sfu.ca
Wyatt, Justin, JUSTIN@UNTVM1.BITNET

          NO VOTES

Carr, Dave, carr@otto.cit.buffalo.edu
Cline,  Ernest, cline@usceast.cs.scarolina.edu
Jesup, Randell, jesup@cbmvax.cbm.commodore.com 
Kamlet, Art ask@cblph.att.com
Kulawiec, Rich, rsk@gynko.circ.upenn.edu
Lau, Stephen, lau@ai.sri.com
McGuire, Ed, ed@intellection.com
Moorcroft, Marc, smarry@zooid.guild.org
Olson, Eric  ejo@kaja.gi.alaska.edu
Owens, William, owens@acsu.buffalo.edu
Payne, Chris, crp5754@erfsys01.iasl.ca.boeing.com
Petro, Herbert, hmpetro@mosaic.uncc.edu
Power, Matt, mhpower@athena.mit.edu
Ryan, Sean, fsspr@aurora.alaska.edu
Weissman, Bob, bobw@procase.com
Wohler, Bill, wohler@sap-ag.de
Woodbury, Gregory, ggw@wolves.durham.nc.us

 
USENET FACT: Big-8
BIG-8 hierarchies are the 8 traditional top hierarchies of the Usenet. See the following page for more