• Your Trusted Usenet Provider
  • Secure, Private, Unlimited

Newsgroups Main » Newsgroups Directory » Computers - OS and Platforms » Microsoft windows

Garnet user interface ( comp.windows.garnet )
 
From [email protected] Sun Jun  7 15:12:55 1992
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:2403 news.groups:52127 comp.windows.misc:3540 comp.lang.lisp:7304 comp.human-factors:2191
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,comp.windows.misc,comp.lang.lisp,comp.human-factors
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: [email protected] (Brad Myers)
Subject: RFD: comp.windows.garnet
Message-ID: <[email protected]>
Followup-To: news.groups
Sender: [email protected] (David C Lawrence)
Organization: School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon
Date: Thu, 4 Jun 1992 19:14:04 GMT
Approved: [email protected]
Lines: 27

I propose that the garnet-users mailing list be turned into a new
Internet newsgroup.  Garnet is a user interface development
environment (which might also be called a toolkit, interface builder, user
interface management system (UIMS), etc.) for X/11 and Common Lisp.
The motivation to forming the group is that it is getting to be a
quite large mailing list (about 300-400 people) and there seem to be
many people interested in the system who would like to browse the
discussions, but not get all the mail.

I propose that the new group be named comp.windows.garnet (to be
parallel with comp.windows.interviews, since interviews is a similar
kind of system to Garnet).  This group will be for the discussion
about bugs, features, and questions about Garnet.  I propose that it
NOT be moderated.  The current traffic on the garnet-users mailing
list is about 2 or 3 messages per day, but the number of Garnet users
continually increases so the volumn might increase also. 

More information on Garnet is available from me.

Thank you for your consideration,

Brad A. Myers
-- 
School of Computer Science                      (412) 268-5150
Carnegie Mellon University                      FAX: (412) 681-5739
5000 Forbes Avenue                              [email protected]
Pittsburgh, PA  15213-3890

From [email protected] Wed Jul  8 15:17:20 1992
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:2509 news.groups:53903 comp.windows.misc:3623 comp.lang.lisp:7551 comp.human-factors:2333
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,comp.windows.misc,comp.lang.lisp,comp.human-factors
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: [email protected] (Brad Myers)
Subject: CFV: comp.windows.garnet
Message-ID: <[email protected]>
Followup-To: poster
Sender: [email protected] (David C Lawrence)
Organization: School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon
Date: Wed, 8 Jul 1992 17:52:24 GMT
Approved: [email protected]
Lines: 45

One month ago I proposed that the garnet-users mailing list be turned
into a new Internet newsgroup called comp.windows.garnet.  There was
minimal discussion, and all comments were positive.  Therefore, I
would like to now call for a vote.

On the matter of creating a new internet newsgroup called comp.windows.garnet:

	To vote YES, send mail to [email protected]
	To vote NO,  send mail to [email protected]

The contents of your message will be ignored and can be empty.

All votes must be received by August 6, 1992.

As per the rules, if there are more than 100 yes votes than no votes
by that date AND at least 2/3 of the total number of valid votes
received are yes votes, the newsgroup will be created.

NOTE: Even if the newsgroup is created, we will still maintain an
e-mail distribution for those who cannot access the newsgroup.

Description:

Garnet is a user interface development environment (other terms
include toolkit, interface builder, user interface management system
(UIMS), etc.) for X/11 and Common Lisp.  The motivation to forming the
newsgroup is that it is getting to be a quite large mailing list (about
300-400 people) and there seem to be many people interested in the
system who would like to browse the discussions, but not get all the
mail.

The new group be named comp.windows.garnet (to be parallel with
comp.windows.interviews, since Interviews is a similar kind of system
to Garnet).  This group will be for the discussion about bugs,
features, and questions about Garnet.  It will NOT be moderated.  The
current traffic on the garnet-users mailing list is about 4 or 5
messages per day, but the number of Garnet users continually
increases.

More information on Garnet is available from me.
-- 
Brad A. Myers                           School of Computer Science
Carnegie Mellon University              (412) 268-5150
5000 Forbes Avenue                      FAX: (412) 681-5739
Pittsburgh, PA  15213-3890              [email protected]

From [email protected] Thu Jul 16 12:00:32 1992
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:2528 news.groups:54256 comp.lang.lisp:7590 comp.human-factors:2381 comp.windows.x:55865
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,comp.lang.lisp,comp.human-factors,comp.windows.x
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: [email protected] (Brad Myers)
Subject: 2nd CFV: comp.windows.garnet
Message-ID: <[email protected]>
Followup-To: poster
Sender: [email protected] (David C Lawrence)
Organization: School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon
Date: Wed, 15 Jul 1992 22:15:41 GMT
Approved: [email protected]
Lines: 46

This is the second Call for Votes (CFV) for the new newgroup
comp.windows.garnet.  All votes so far were automatically answered.
If you voted and did not receive a response, then please mail again.

On the matter of creating a new internet newsgroup called comp.windows.garnet:

	To vote YES, send mail to [email protected]
	To vote NO,  send mail to [email protected]

The contents of your message will be ignored and can be empty.

All votes must be received by August 6, 1992.

As per the rules, if there are more than 100 yes votes than no votes
by that date AND at least 2/3 of the total number of valid votes
received are yes votes, the newsgroup will be created.

NOTE: Even if the newsgroup is created, we will still maintain an
e-mail distribution for those who cannot access the newsgroup.

Description:

Garnet is a user interface development environment (other terms
include toolkit, interface builder, user interface management system
(UIMS), etc.) for X/11 and Common Lisp.  The motivation to forming the
newsgroup is that it is getting to be a quite large mailing list (about
300-400 people) and there seem to be many people interested in the
system who would like to browse the discussions, but not get all the
mail.

The new group will be named comp.windows.garnet (to be parallel with
comp.windows.interviews, since Interviews is a similar kind of system
to Garnet).  This group will be for the discussion about bugs,
features, and questions about Garnet.  It will NOT be moderated.  The
current traffic on the garnet-users mailing list is about 4 or 5
messages per day, but the number of Garnet users continually
increases.

More information on Garnet is available from me.

Brad A. Myers
-- 
School of Computer Science                      (412) 268-5150
Carnegie Mellon University                      FAX: (412) 681-5739
5000 Forbes Avenue                              [email protected]
Pittsburgh, PA  15213-3890

From [email protected] Fri Aug  7 20:55:51 1992
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:2606 news.groups:55142 comp.human-factors:2492 comp.lang.lisp:7723
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,comp.human-factors,comp.lang.lisp
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: [email protected] (Brad Myers)
Subject: RESULT: comp.windows.garnet passes 220: 18
Message-ID: <[email protected]>
Followup-To: news.groups
Sender: [email protected] (David C Lawrence)
Organization: School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon
Date: Fri, 7 Aug 1992 23:34:22 GMT
Approved: [email protected]
Lines: 246

The vote to create comp.windows.garnet passes 220 yes to 18 no.  Here are 
the votes:

YES votes:

1. "Dan Corkill, COINS, UMass 413/545-0156" <[email protected]>
2. "Josef G. Schreiner" <[email protected]>
3. "Kai-Mikael J\d\d-Aro" <[email protected]>
4. "Kurt Indermaur" <[email protected]>
5. "Martin J. Zaidel" <[email protected]>
6. "Penner Robin" <[email protected]>
7. "Randy Fischer" <[email protected]>
8. "The TDL Fopra" <[email protected]>
9. "Ulrich Schaefer" <[email protected]>
10. 408)922-2768 <[email protected] <Don Bennett          >
11. <[email protected]>
12. <[email protected]>
13. <[email protected]>
14. [email protected]
15. Alan Ruttenberg <[email protected]>
16. Alan Teague <[email protected]>
17. Alberto Riva <[email protected]>
18. Alejandro Caro <[email protected]>
19. Alok Mathur  <[email protected]>
20. [email protected]
21. Anne Judith Rose <[email protected]>
22. B C Desai <[email protected]>
23. Bala Srinivasan <[email protected]>
24. Bill Bohrer <[email protected]>
25. Bill Poutinen <[email protected]>
26. Billy Joel <[email protected]>
27. Bob Jackson <[email protected]>
28. [email protected] on Wed, Jul 15, 1992 11:37 AM
29. Brent Benson <[email protected]>
30. Bryan M Kramer <[email protected]>
31. [email protected] <[email protected]>
32. [email protected]
33. Ceri Hopkins <[email protected]>
34. Charlie Lindahl <[email protected]>
35. Cheuk-San Wang <[email protected]>
36. Chris Esposito <[email protected]>
37. Chris Richardson <[email protected]>
38. Christophe MERTZ "CR2A" <[email protected]>
39. Chuck Grant <[email protected]>
40. Clifford Ritchie <[email protected]>
41. Conrad Poelman <[email protected]>
42. Dan Cerys <[email protected]>
43. Dan McCrobie <[email protected]>
44. [email protected]
45. Dave Brooks <[email protected]>
46. Dave Love <[email protected]>
47. Dave Pugmire <[email protected]>
48. David Axmark <[email protected]>
49. David M Chelberg <[email protected]>
50. Denis Anthony <[email protected]>
51. Denys Duchier <[email protected]>
52. Detlef Schwier <[email protected]>
53. Dipankar Gupta <[email protected]>
54. Don Hopkins <[email protected]>
55. Donald Beaudry <[email protected]>
56. Doug "D." Dankel <[email protected]>
57. Edward K. Lee <[email protected]>
58. [email protected]
59. Erick Gallesio <[email protected]>
60. Erik Altmann <[email protected]>
61. Fernando Mato Mira <[email protected]>
62. Frank R Smith <[email protected]>
63. [email protected]
64. George Kutty <[email protected]>
65. Glenn S. Elias <[email protected]>
66. Gordon Buxton <[email protected]>
67. Guido Knappe <[email protected]>
68. Gyesung Lee <[email protected]>
69. Harri Ilmari Poyhonen <[email protected]>
70. Harris, Jed <[email protected]>
71. Herbert Damker    <[email protected]>
72. Howard Beck <[email protected]>
73. Hubertus Hohl <Hohl@informatik.uni-stuttgart.de>
74. Ian Rogers <ianr@cogs.sussex.ac.uk>
75. Ignacio.Trejos-Zelaya@prg.oxford.ac.uk
76. Ingemar Hulthage <hulthage%gilligan.usc.edu@usc.edu>
77. Ivan Tou <tou@CS.UCLA.EDU>
78. James Ault <aultj@rpi.edu>
79. James Landay <landay@parc.xerox.com>
80. James Salsman <bovik@delta.eecs.nwu.edu>
81. James Tizard <james@ringo.ssn.flinders.edu.au>
82. Jeff Dalton <jeff@aiai.edinburgh.ac.uk>
83. Jeff Putnam <jefu@akbar.nmt.edu>
84. Jim Davis <davis@cs.cornell.edu>
85. Jim Mayer <mayer@wrc.xerox.com>
86. Joe Konstan <konstan@elmer-fudd.cs.berkeley.edu>
87. John Gibbons <johng@zeus.research.otca.oz.au>
88. John Richards <eczjr@mips.ccc.nottingham.ac.uk>
89. John Sambrook <john@amc.com>
90. Jon Lieb <jlieb%pollux.usc.edu@usc.edu>
91. Jonas Lowgren <jlo@ida.liu.se>
92. Jose E. Hernandez <jeh@windrider.llnl.gov>
93. Josh Fisher <jfisher@hplabsz.hpl.hp.com>
94. Jost Krieger <x920031@rubb.rz.ruhr-uni-bochum.de>
95. Juergen Christoffel <jc@slim.gmd.de>
96. Juergen Theis <juergent@rwthi3.informatik.rwth-aachen.de>
97. Jutta Degener <jutta@cs.tu-berlin.de>
98. Karen York Kietzke <ky@VARICOSE.VENARI.CS.CMU.EDU>
99. Keith Decker <Decker@Themis.CS.UMASS.EDU>
100. Kenneth J Meltsner <meltsner@chipman.crd.ge.com>
101. Larry Stone <lcs@icad.COM>
102. Len Charest <charest@ai-cyclops.Jpl.Nasa.Gov>
103. Lorraine Normore <lfn23@cas.org>
104. Lynda L. True <shrdlu@willow.sdd.trw.com>
105. M.A.Bell@compsci.liverpool.ac.uk
106. Marilyn S Bunzo <msb@freud.arc.nasa.gov>
107. Mark Feblowitz <mdf0%shemesh@gte.com>
108. Mark Shirley <shirley@parc.xerox.com>
109. Mark.Kantrowitz@GLINDA.OZ.CS.CMU.EDU
110. Mark_Sherman@transarc.com
111. Markus Stumpf <stumpf@informatik.tu-muenchen.de>
112. Martin Sjolin <marsj@ida.liu.se>
113. Martin Stein <martin.stein@munich.ixos.de>
114. Marty Hall <hall@aplcen.apl.jhu.edu>
115. Masahiro HORI <HORI@TRL.VNET.IBM.COM>
116. Masayuki Kuwada <kuwada@soliton.ee.uec.ac.jp>
117. Matthias Ressel <Ressel@informatik.uni-stuttgart.de>
118. Mattias Werner <mawe@informatik.uni-Bremen.de>
119. Michael Clarkson<mike@malte.ensmp.fr>
120. Michael Froehlich <mfr@informatik.uni-Bremen.de>
121. Michael Sannella <sannella@cs.washington.edu>
122. Michael Twidale <mbt@computing.lancaster.ac.uk>
123. Michael Wirth <mcw@cs.rice.edu>
124. Mike Cornelio <cornelio@nebula.decnet.lockheed.com>
125. Mike Wray <mjw@hplb.hpl.hp.com>
126. Mustafa Uysal <uysal%trbilun.bitnet@BITNET.CC.CMU.EDU>
127. N F Drakos <nikos@cbl.leeds.ac.uk>
128. Oliver Dehning <dehning@helios.tnt.uni-hannover.de>
129. Omar Patino-Siliceo <omar@talnext.cc.vanderbilt.edu>
130. PLASSCHE@NICI.KUN.NL
131. Patrick Logan <plogan@std.MENTORG.COM>
132. Paul Dourish <Dourish@europarc.xerox.com>
133. Paul Harvey <pwh@Cs.Nott.AC.UK>
134. PeiYu Huang <huangp@wasser.Colorado.EDU>
135. Peter E. Jones <peterj@swanee.ee.uwa.oz.au>
136. Peter Halvorson <peter%fission@gatech.edu>
137. Peter Mikes <mikes@sherman.llnl.gov>
138. Philippe Marchal <Philippe.Marchal@ecrc.de>
139. Ping Luo <ping@ISI.EDU>
140. R J Williams <rodw@cbl.leeds.ac.uk>
141. RB Feenstra <rbfeens@cs.vu.nl>
142. Raja Sooriamurthi <raja@pygmy.cs.indiana.edu>
143. Rajan Parthasarathy <rp29+@andrew.cmu.edu>
144. Ralph Hill <rdh@thumper.bellcore.com>
145. Ramesh Vaidhyanathan <vaidhyan@ecn.purdue.edu>
146. Raymond Lang <lang@cs.tulane.edu>
147. Richard Eaton <eaton@cs.cornell.edu>
148. Richard Hesketh <rlh2@ukc.ac.uk>
149. Robert Goldman <goldman@rpal.rockwell.com>
150. Robert.Schnelbach@ISL1.RI.CMU.EDU
151. Roman Weissgaerber <roman@ece.tuwien.ac.at>
152. Rudolf Keller <keller@marlowe.crim.ca>
153. Russell G. Almond <statsci!almond@uunet.UU.NET>
154. Russell Ritchie <russell@gssec.bt.co.uk>
155. SNERG Library <snwiz@cs.Buffalo.EDU>
156. Sanjiva Weerawarana <saw@cs.purdue.edu>
157. Sascha Wildner <swildner@channelz.GUN.de>
158. Scott Blachowicz <statsci!scott@uunet.uu.net>
159. Scott Simpson <iac!simpson@uunet.UU.NET>
160. Scott_Fahlman@SEF-PMAX.SLISP.CS.CMU.EDU
161. Shon Vick <vick@stsci.edu>
162. Siegfried Schreiber <schreibs@informatik.tu-muenchen.de>
163. Simon Leinen <simon@lia.di.epfl.ch>
164. Skip Egdorf <egdorf@zaphod.lanl.gov>
165. Stefan Koser <KOSER%DULFAW1A.BITNET@BITNET.CC.CMU.EDU>
166. Stefan Vaillant <vaillant@rwthi3.informatik.rwth-aachen.de>
167. Stephen E. Miner <miner@tc.pw.com>
168. Stephen [Steve] Smoot <smoot@roger-rabbit.cs.berkeley.edu>
169. Steve Berson <steven@CS.UCLA.EDU>
170. Steve Talbots <talbots@semadt.metra.fr>
171. Steven.Roth@ISL1.RI.CMU.EDU
172. Thierry Besancon <besancon@titus.polytechnique.fr>
173. Thomas.McGinnis@SEGNO.SOAR.CS.CMU.EDU
174. Tim Bradshaw <tim.bradshaw@edinburgh.ac.uk>
175. Tom Canales <canales@aliceb.llnl.gov>
176. Tom Moore <tmoore@pnfi.forestry.ca>
177. Tom Zheng <tzheng@cs.purdue.edu>
178. Vijay Saraswat <saraswat@parc.xerox.com>
179. Virginia.Peck@SEISMO.SOAR.CS.CMU.EDU
180. Vladimir Bacvanski <vladimir@rwthi3.informatik.rwth-aachen.de>
181. Wolfgang Pohl <pohl@post.inf-wiss.ivp.uni-konstanz.de>
182. Y S Ramakrishna <ysr@eta.ece.ucsb.edu>
183. Yaw "O." Busia <yaw@cs.keele.ac.uk>
184. Ye Huang <huang@lia.di.epfl.ch>
185. abowd@minster.york.ac.uk
186. amra@med.ohio-state.edu
187. anderson@sapir.cog.jhu.edu
188. ayala@informatik.uni-kl.de
189. bvz@cs.utk.edu
190. chuk <chuk@cs.aston.ac.uk>
191. dan pierson <pierson@kukri.enet.dec.com>
192. duncan@zycad.com
193. golding@merl.com
194. gringhuis <hg8@unix.brighton.ac.uk>
195. haitham@chemical-eng.edinburgh.ac.uk
196. jml@lgc.com
197. john blue <jblue@copper.ucs.indiana.edu>
198. john@linus.mitre.org
199. johnson@charming.nrtc.northrop.com
200. joswig@informatik.uni-hamburg.de
201. karl.sierka@labyrinth.com
202. kevin@freya.cs.umass.edu
203. liew@cs.rutgers.edu
204. lynch@ils.nwu.edu
205. meehan@src.dec.com
206. mklein@atc.boeing.com
207. pazzagli@lafayette.cerisi.fr
208. prc <prc@gec-mrc.co.uk>
209. rmd <rmd@gec-mrc.co.uk>
210. robert@cogsci.edinburgh.ac.uk
211. ruman <ruman@meroot.eng.uci.edu>
212. rwk@crl.dec.com
213. salisbur@cs.washington.edu
214. skidmore@europa.asd.contel.com
215. sl@ntsun.edvz.tuwien.ac.at
216. smacalde%ICMSC.USP.BR@BITNET.CC.CMU.EDU
217. tar@ISI.EDU
218. trytten@cps.msu.edu
219. william m perkins <perkins@mksol.dseg.ti.com>
220. yost <yost@adobe.com>

NO Votes

1. Bill Owens <owens@cookiemonster.cc.buffalo.edu>
2. Carl Rigney <cdr@kpc.com>
3. David Barr <barr@darwin.psu.edu>
4. Ed McGuire <emcguire@intellection.com>
5. John G Dobnick <jgd@csd4.csd.uwm.edu>
6. Kim DeVaughn <ked01@juts.ccc.amdahl.com>
7. Leonard J. Peirce <peirce@gumby.cc.wmich.edu>
8. M J Sawar <sawar@cbl.leeds.ac.uk>
9. Paul Sears "Sys Admin" <sears@flower.egr.uh.edu>
10. Richard H. Miller <rick@crick.ssctr.bcm.tmc.edu>
11. Steve Rogers <srogers@tad.eds.com>
12. Sven Heinicke <sven@cs.widener.edu>
13. Ted Koppel <tkoppel%server@carl.org>
14. The Wolfe of the Den <news@wolves.Durham.NC.US>
15. Tim Szeliga <tim@snow.nohrsc.nws.gov>
16. mhpower@stan.mit.edu
17. spm2d@wilbury.cs.Virginia.EDU
18. tgt@cbfsa.att.com

 
USENET FACT: Lurker
A person who reads/browses newsgroups but does not actively post.