• Your Trusted Usenet Provider
  • Secure, Private, Unlimited

Newsgroups Main » Newsgroups Directory » Computers - OS and Platforms » Microsoft windows

InterViews ( comp.windows.interviews )
 
From [email protected] Mon Sep 27 10:37:17 1993
Flags: 000000000211
Path: lear
Newsgroups: news.groups,news.announce.newgroups,comp.lang.c++,comp.graphics,comp.windows.x,comp.windows.misc
From: [email protected] (Sean Eric Fagan)
Subject: CALL FOR DISCUSSION:  comp.graphics.interviews
Organization: Kithrup Enterprises, Ltd.
Date: Sun,  3 Feb 91 21:57:01 PST
Followup-to: news.groups
Keywords: posted

The Interviews mailing list now has 485 names on it, some of which are
aliases to either local newsgroups or local aliases.  Volume on the list is
moderately high (I tend to see about 5-30 messages a day), and from a varied
list of people (i.e., it's not just one person sending out messages).  (I
will send this message out to the mailing list as soon as it gets posted by
Eliot.)

Given that much traffic, I think it is time for a comp.graphics.interviews
newsgroup.  I'm not sure if that should be the name, though (i.e., mayby
comp.windows.interviews, or "iviews" instead of "interviews," etc.); but
that's what a CFD is for, anyway 8-).  The charter would, most likely, be
something along the lines of, "To discuss the Interviews Object-Oriented
Graphics System, including use, porting, announcements, and bugs."

Let the discussions begin...

-- 
Sean Eric Fagan  | "I made the universe, but please don't blame me for it;
[email protected]  |  I had a bellyache at the time."
-----------------+           -- The Turtle (Stephen King, _It_)
Any opinions expressed are my own, and generally unpopular with others.


From [email protected] Mon Sep 27 10:52:07 1993
Xref: rpi news.announce.newgroups:899 comp.windows.x:27564 comp.lang.c++:10071
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,comp.windows.x,comp.lang.c++
Path: rpi!tale
From: [email protected] (Sean Eric Fagan)
Subject: CFV:  comp.windows.interviews
Followup-To: news.groups
Sender: [email protected]
Nntp-Posting-Host: cs.rpi.edu
Organization: Kithrup Enterprises, Ltd.
Date: 25 Feb 91 04:42:28 GMT
Approved: [email protected]
Lines: 30

This is the first CALL FOR VOTES for the creation of comp.windows.interviews.

This newsgroup is intended to replace the InterViews mailing list.  As such,
it will be used for:

	Discussion about the InterViews windowing system, including
	new release announcements, bug reports, future directions,
	porting, implementation details, patches, and general help.
	Status is to be unmoderated.

Although the newsgroup will likely be gatewayed to the mailing list, *for a
short time*, said gateway will disappear after a while, and is not
officially part of the group.

The voting period will run from Sunday, Feb 24, until Sunday, March 24.  To
vote, send email to the following addresses:

	YES: [email protected]
	NO: [email protected]

Although it would be nice if the subject and/or message body clarifies your
position, that is not necessary.  If the address you choose to use does not
work, mail to [email protected], and I will manually file the vote.  Please,
however, only use that as a last resort.

-- 
Sean Eric Fagan  | "I made the universe, but please don't blame me for it;
[email protected]  |  I had a bellyache at the time."
-----------------+           -- The Turtle (Stephen King, _It_)
Any opinions expressed are my own, and generally unpopular with others.

From [email protected] Wed Apr  5 19:28:50 1995
Xref: rpi news.announce.newgroups:1000 news.groups:23798
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups
Path: rpi!bounce-back
From: [email protected] (Sean Eric Fagan)
Subject: RESULT:  comp.windows.interviews passes 240:22
Followup-To: news.groups
Sender: [email protected]
Nntp-Posting-Host: cs.rpi.edu
Organization: Kithrup Enterprises, Ltd.
Date: 31 Mar 91 06:32:17 GMT
Approved: [email protected]
Lines: 276

The proposed newsgroup, comp.windows.interviews, has passed with the above
mentioned totals.  As a result, five days after I see this message in n.a.n,
I shall send out a newgroup message for the unmoderated group.

People who voted NO were:

Monisha Guglani <[email protected]>
Timothy VanFosson <[email protected]>
"David B. Lewis" <[email protected]>
"Craig E. Ward" <[email protected]>
David Robinson <[email protected]>
"Sam Hill Cabal, DS" <[email protected]>
[email protected]
[email protected]
David James <[email protected]>
[email protected]
Jacob Ellis <[email protected]>
[email protected]
Larry Gillespie <[email protected]>
Palmer Davis <[email protected]>
"Shannon D. Appel" <[email protected]>
[email protected]
Kim DeVaughn <[email protected]>
John Lacey <[email protected]>
Neil Rickert <[email protected]>
Arthur David Olson <[email protected]>
[email protected]
Leonard Peirce <[email protected]>

People who voted YES were:

Sean Eric Fagan <[email protected]>
Ed Vielmetti <[email protected]>
Kevin Thompson <[email protected]>
"Hernan Astudillo R." <[email protected]>
[email protected]
Jef Poskanzer <[email protected]>
"Paul H. Kenyon" <[email protected]>
Gary Bridgewater <[email protected]>
Laurent Ghys <[email protected]>
Norbert Kiesel <[email protected]>
[email protected]
David Myers <[email protected]>
Harald Tveit Alvestrand <[email protected]>
Bob Miner <[email protected]>
Dick Schoeller - ZKO2-3/R56 - DTN 381-2965 25-Feb-1991 0919 <[email protected]>
Hubertus Franke <[email protected]>
Jonathan Leech <[email protected]>
"Arthur J. Butler" <[email protected]>
Vick Khera <[email protected]>
Michael Schwartz x1-6820 <[email protected]>
Mary Leland <[email protected]>
Erik Lundevall <[email protected]>
Dag Bruck <[email protected]>
David Wald <[email protected]>
Tom Ekberg <[email protected]>
[email protected]
Havard Eidnes <[email protected]>
Ben Reytblat <[email protected]>
"David Z. Creemer" <[email protected]>
Michael  Rendell <[email protected]>
"LT. BILL NACE" <[email protected]>
[email protected]
Mark Linton <[email protected]>
James da Silva <[email protected]>
Boris Putanec <[email protected]>
"Leslie A. Walko" <[email protected]>
Tim Prinzing <[email protected]>
Stephen Bellantoni <[email protected]>
"Richard H. Miller" <[email protected]>
Robert Collins <[email protected]>
Chip Salzenberg <[email protected]>
"D. Scott Baeder" <[email protected]>
"Lars P. Fischer" <[email protected]>
Brian M Kennedy <[email protected]>, [email protected]
"Brian R. Smith" <[email protected]>
Bill Leonard <[email protected]>
[email protected]
Michael Gengenbach <[email protected]>
Vern Paxson <[email protected]>
Dave Nichols <[email protected]>
Lindsay Schachinger <[email protected]>
Jay Lark <[email protected]>
"Ronald B. Adams II" <[email protected]>
"Glenn P. Parker" <[email protected]>
Curt Kohler <[email protected]>
Doug Bloebaum <[email protected]>
Dan Pierson <[email protected]>
Per Abrahamsen <[email protected]>
Kandiah Sribalaskandarajah <[email protected]>
[email protected]
John Chen <[email protected]>
Bob Peterson <[email protected]>
Steven Carrow <itd.nrl.navy.mil!carrow@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
gloucester.dab.ge.com!vita@ucscc.ucsc.edu
nrtc.northrop.com!kkenny@ucscc.ucsc.edu
Paul Eggert <twinsun.com!eggert@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Georg Schmid <obelix.luftfahrt.uni-stuttgart.de!schmid@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Scott Stanton <lurch.stanford.edu!stanton@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
otc.research.otca.oz.au!grahamd@ucscc.ucsc.edu
"Jeff Humphrey (Jeffus" <rucs2.sunlab.cs.runet.edu!jhumphre@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Neville  Cole <sirius.uvic.ca!ncole@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
greenwich.dab.ge.com!vanita@ucscc.ucsc.edu
Arturo Perez x6739 <relay.cs.net!aperez%caribe.prime.com@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Jean Marc Reynaud 4-6239 <uwm.edu!mrsvr!master.mrisi!reynaud@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
uunet.uu.net!enewton@ucscc.ucsc.edu
OOSE Project <sunrise.fiu.edu!oose@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
"Dr. Raimund K. Ege" <scs.fiu.edu!ege@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
"George W. Green" <cod.nosc.mil!ggreen@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Jim Muth <ocsmd.ocs.com!jim@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
"Sanjay S. GIRIMAJI" <cmsun.nrl.navy.mil!girimaji@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Joshua Osborne <eng.umd.edu!stripes@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Gregory Brail <cs.brown.edu!gjb@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Scott Schwartz <groucho.cs.psu.edu!schwartz@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
John Interrante <lurch.stanford.edu!interran@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Ingmarie Jonsson <erix.ericsson.se!ingmarie@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Andrew Davidson <aed@netcom.com>
Steve Watt <steve@wattres.uucp>
Jean-Christophe Collet <axis-design.fr!jcc@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
"Thomas K. Bischoff" <zellweger.ch!bisc@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Burkhard Neidecker-Lutz <nestvx.enet.dec.com!neideck@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Eibo Thieme <rosun1.informatik.uni-hamburg.de!eibo@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
David Fox <allegra.att.com!fox@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Guy Story <allegra.att.com!story@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
David Itkin <enterprise.ucsc.edu!itkin@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
"Douglas S. Rand" <luke.mitre.org!dsr@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
alw.nih.gov!sandy@ucscc.ucsc.edu
cs.rutgers.edu!marantz@ucscc.ucsc.edu
Ronn Brashear <cerc.utexas.edu!ronn@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Tom Batcha <hp-lsd.cos.hp.com!tomb@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Jeremy Wohl <max.physics.sunysb.edu!wohl@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Tom Emerson <griffin.uvm.edu!tree%newton.UVM.EDU@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Eben Merriam Haber <cs.wisc.edu!haber@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
"Mark W. Eichin" <athena.mit.edu!eichin@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Larry Baker <csl.dl.nec.com!baker@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
mithrandir.mcrcim.mcgill.edu!leei@ucscc.ucsc.edu
muon.lcs.mit.edu!brewer@ucscc.ucsc.edu
Garrett Wollman <griffin.uvm.edu!wollman%emily.UVM.EDU@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Bruce Barnett <unclejack.crd.ge.com!barnett@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Stuart Mclean <unix.cis.pitt.edu!mclean@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Sanjay Ghemawat <kaon.lcs.mit.edu!sanjay@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Derk Norton <iag.hp.com!derk@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
uunet.uu.net!nitrex!changw@ucscc.ucsc.edu
Glen Fullmer <ssdt-tempe.sps.mot.com!fullmer@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Clifford Beshers <division.cs.columbia.edu!beshers@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Wayne Caplinger <tcs.com!wayne@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Mike Foreman <hp-ses.sde.hp.com!foreman@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Ron Suliteanu <hpsdeb.sde.hp.com!ron@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
lochness.dab.ge.com!afflerba@ucscc.ucsc.edu
Tim Becker <cs.rochester.edu!becker@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
"Manfred D. Zorn, HGCG, LBL" <MDZorn@lbl.gov>, 
alice.att.com!garry@ucscc.ucsc.edu
patrick barnes <taurus.cs.nps.navy.mil!barnes@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Peter Silva <cid.aes.doe.ca!aspgpas@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Jack D Unrue <ma.ucsc.edu!jdu4855@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Brian Pane <reef.cis.ufl.edu!bp@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
griffin.uvm.edu!ldl%kira.UVM.EDU@ucscc.ucsc.edu
George Wu <tcs.com!gwu@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
"Steven S. Dick" <engr.ucf.edu!ssd@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Daniel LaLiberte <ncsa.uiuc.edu!liberte@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Pierre Mareschal <dragon.ulowell.edu!pmaresch@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Ian Daniel <research.canon.oz.au!ian@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Peter Richardson - NSSS <shiva.trl.oz.au!peter@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
David Chen <tcs.com!dchen@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
ashok b <cat.syr.edu!ashok@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Gary Schiltz <uunet.uu.net!edsdrd!gss@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
"David S. Sanderman" <neon.stanford.edu!sandman@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Jamshid Afshar <emx.utexas.edu!jamshid@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Kevin Sheehan {Consulting Poster Child} <sun.com!kevin%fletch.synergy@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Greg Pasquariello <grp@magpie.unify.com>
Rich Plevin <ictv.com!rjp@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Mark Klein <dis.com!mklein@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
ntlp.com!david@ucscc.ucsc.edu
Surapol Pungsornruk <shiva.trl.oz.au!surapol@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Mike Stump <ms.secs.csun.edu!mrs@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
"Deborah L. Copeland" <wam.umd.edu!deborah@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Gordon Cheng <cs.uow.edu.au!gordon@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Ivar Skauge <bsc.no!ivar@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Brian Roe <planet.bt.co.uk!bjr@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
lfcs.edinburgh.ac.uk!gdmr@ucscc.ucsc.edu
Mark Valentine <spider.co.uk!mark@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Greg Sorensen <nmr-r.mgh.harvard.edu!sorensen@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Rein Tollevik <ifi.uio.no!rein@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
ukc.ac.uk!iau@ucscc.ucsc.edu
xanadu.gipsi.fr!marichal@ucscc.ucsc.edu
Steve Madere <mcc.com!steve%pkg@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Jo Are Rosland <ifi.uio.no!jar@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Mike McDonnell <etl.army.mil!mike@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Sandy Wise <pogo.cs.umass.edu!sandy@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
"Peter Mauritius, der blaue" <rz.uni-karlsruhe.de!ry63@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Tom Anderson <hpsadri.hp.com!toma@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Steve Dent <dtc.hp.com!dent@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Thomas Maslen <eng.sun.com!maslen@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Joseph Pallas <alydar.eng.sun.com!pallas@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Paul Calder <uluru.stanford.edu!calder@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
physics.watstar.uwaterloo.ca!hpbrown@ucscc.ucsc.edu
"Scott W. Fischer" <crl.honeywell.com!sfischer@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Steinar Bang <idt.unit.no!steinarb@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Van Henkle <unix.sri.com!tcipro!van@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Sara Leslie <relay.cs.net!saral%cvedc.prime.com@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Joe Keane <ames.arc.nasa.gov!osc!jgk@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Alexander Dupuy <hudson.cs.columbia.edu!dupuy@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
libra.fac.cs.cmu.edu!Philip.Dye@ucscc.ucsc.edu
Jonathan Doughty <uunet.uu.net!adiron!fair!jond@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Yuan-Der Liu <cunyvm.cuny.edu!ytliu%ee.nthu.edu.tw@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Claude Villermain <capsogeti.fr!viller@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Arnaud Le Hors <mirsa.inria.fr!Arnaud.Lehors@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
gold.cs.umanitoba.ca!rafiq@ucscc.ucsc.edu
Sean McLinden <dsl.pitt.edu!sean@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
avalon.dab.ge.com!eldred@ucscc.ucsc.edu
Odd Einar Aurbakken <ifi.uio.no!oea@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
sundae4.dab.ge.com!vaqueriz@ucscc.ucsc.edu
Scott Strool <uunet.uu.net!iex!iexnj!srs@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Murph the Surf <hawk.ulowell.edu!tmurphy@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
John Chapin <arkesden.eng.sun.com!jchapin@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Ray Lischner <dad.mentor.com!lisch@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Rob Cotterill <newcastle.ac.uk!R.N.A.Cotterill@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Leslia Chow <mprgate.mpr.ca!lchow@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Paul Budnik <uunet.uu.net!mtnmath!paul@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Ramsey Haddad <wrl.dec.com!haddad@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Russ Rew <unidata.ucar.edu!russ@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
"Gregory G. Woodbury" <ggw@wolves.uucp>
Gerhard Henning <hidalgo.pcs.com!gerhard@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Hermann Schulze Frenking <hsf@hidalgo.pcs.com>
Todd Shutts <central.sun.com!gdfwc3!todd@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Peter J M Polkinghorne <gec-rl-hrc.co.uk!pjmp@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Ole Robert Hestvik <nac.no!oler%autro1.UUCP@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Chung-Ping Lan <quintus.com!lan@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Ed McGuire <cadfx.ccad.uiowa.edu!emcguire@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
"Kevin L. McBride" <uunet.uu.net!gozer!klm@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Robert Lee <uunet.uu.net!kddlab!nanko.digital.co.jp!rlee@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Nuno Guimaraes <relay.eu.net!inesc!nmg@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
cunyvm.cuny.edu!lwv27%CAS.BITNET@ucscc.ucsc.edu
cs.purdue.edu!dgc@ucscc.ucsc.edu
"Scott E. Johnston" <ads.com!johnston@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Ron Addie - Network Analysis <trl.oz.au!r.addie@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
bacchus.esa.oz.au!david@ucscc.ucsc.edu
Stephanie Bodoff <hplb.hpl.hp.com!stb@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Scott Woyak <uunet.uu.net!edsdrd!sww@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Rod Holland <btc.kodak.com!rjh@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
"mr. news" <ucrmath.ucr.edu!news@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
matt robinson <ucrmath.ucr.edu!yakker@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
"mr. source" <ucrmath.ucr.edu!source@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
"Jerry Schwarz (Compiler" <kpc.com!jss@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Ken Baclawski <corwin.ccs.northeastern.edu!kenb@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Jeff French <meaddata.com!jeff@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Tim Day <ps.ucl.ac.uk!tday@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
John Adair <prism.gatech.edu!ccastje@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
iis.ethz.ch!rumi@ucscc.ucsc.edu
Nick Godbey x4525 Home 268-8538 <uunet.uu.net!srg!godbey@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
cs.rutgers.edu!mende@ucscc.ucsc.edu
Dag Rende <basf.nmpcad.se!dagr@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Rob Kenna <uunet.uu.net!epochsys!rob@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Mark Diamond <luna.dpl.scg.hac.com!mdiamond@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Michel Adar <taunivm.tau.ac.il!michel%techunix.bitnet@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Dan Moen <cyrano.tcs.com!dmoen@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
K Vinod Kumar <shakti.ernet.in!vinod@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Robert Lee <uunet.uu.net!kddlab!nanko.digital.co.jp!rlee@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Rajendra Singh <cs.uiuc.edu!singh@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
vast.eecs.unsw.oz.au!sotirios@ucscc.ucsc.edu
Bob Sutterfield <morningstar.com!bob@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Bor-Jau Hsieh <vuse.vanderbilt.edu!andyh@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
vuse.vanderbilt.edu!drl@ucscc.ucsc.edu
Rod Holland <btc.kodak.com!rjh@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Jean Mehat <litp.ibp.fr!jm@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Rich Salz <bbn.com!rsalz@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Andrew Wilcox <astro.psu.edu!andrew@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Dave Gillett <pa.reuter.com!dgil@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Robert Stabl <unipas.fmi.uni-passau.de!stabl@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
Bernhard Reus <unipas.fmi.uni-passau.de!reus@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
John Vlissides <lurch.stanford.edu!vlis@ucscc.ucsc.edu>
-- 
Sean Eric Fagan  | "I made the universe, but please don't blame me for it;
sef@kithrup.COM  |  I had a bellyache at the time."
-----------------+           -- The Turtle (Stephen King, _It_)
Any opinions expressed are my own, and generally unpopular with others.

 
USENET FACT: Flaming
Flaming is the hostile interaction between multiple Usenet users.