• Your Trusted Usenet Provider
  • Secure, Private, Unlimited

Newsgroups Main » Newsgroups Directory » Science and Technology » Medicine

Dentistry ( sci.med.dentistry )
 
From ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu Tue Nov 10 15:46:52 1992
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:2906 news.groups:59666 sci.med:48505
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,sci.med
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu (Alec Ellsworth)
Subject: RFD: sci.dent
Followup-To: news.groups
Approved: tale@uunet.uu.net
Sender: tale@uunet.uu.net (David C Lawrence)
Organization: Marquette University - Department MSCS, Milwaukee, WI
Date: Tue, 10 Nov 1992 17:53:51 GMT
Message-ID: <BxIHpr.H4@uunet.uu.net>
Lines: 26

		New Group Proposal
	I propose that we begin discussion about a new 
mainstream newsgroup named sci.dent. It will be unmoderated
and has as its main objective to allow internet users (dentists,
dental students, researchers, and patients) the opportunity
to discuss Dentistry and any dental related issues. Included in 
this forum would be the issues of dental research, patient/dentist
interaction, new technology in dentistry, infection control
discussion/answers, legislation issues in dentistry, question
and answers, medico-legal issues, and any other related dentistry
discussion.

The hope I have in proposing this new newsgroup is purely one
of opening up lines of communication between patients/dentists/
researchers/dental students. This would allow more people to
have a forum for discussing their specific concerns in this
area. I appreciate any and all comments, and support in this
beginning on the Internet for the dental community and its
patients.

Thank you for your time,
-- 
Alec Ellsworth                           "Medicine will cure death      
Marquette University Dental School        and government will repeal 
ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu              taxes before Steve will fail."
                                                          --Guy Kawasaki 

From ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu Mon Dec 14 20:24:45 1992
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu (Alec Ellsworth)
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,sci.med
Subject: CFV: sci.med.dentistry
Followup-To: poster
Date: 11 Dec 1992 10:32:42 -0500
Organization: Marquette University - Department MSCS
Lines: 77
Sender: tale@rodan.UU.NET
Approved: tale@uunet.uu.net
Message-ID: <1gacaqINNlrr@rodan.UU.NET>
NNTP-Posting-Host: rodan.uu.net
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:3046 news.groups:62917 sci.med:50373

This is a formal Call For Votes for the formation of a new Usenet 
newsgroup, sci.med.dentistry, as described below. The RFD for this 
group was originated by Alec Ellsworth  (ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu) 
and was posted in news.announce.newgroups on November 10, 1992. 
Discussion in news.groups and sci.med has been generally favorable 
(although light) except for the originally proposed name sci.dent. 
No objections to the creation of the group or its charter have 
been expressed.
 
The newsgroup will be constituted as follows:
 
sci.med.dentistry                Discussion of dentally related topics
(unmoderated)
 
 
CHARTER: 
 
The main objective  of sci.med.dentistry is to allow internet users 
(dentists, dental students, researchers, and patients) the opportunity
to discuss Dentistry and any dental related issues. Included in 
this forum would be the issues of dental research, patient/dentist
interaction, new technology in dentistry, infection control
discussion/answers, legislation issues in dentistry, question
and answers, medico-legal issues, and any other related dentistry
discussion.
 
VOTE ADDRESS:
 
All votes for or against the formation of this newsgroup 
sci.med.dentistry should be sent to ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu.
 
VOTE FORMAT:
 
Votes should carry a subject line confirming the voter's intent, 
either "I vote yes on sci.med.dentistry" or "I vote no on 
sci.med.dentistry" as appropriate.  Variations in subject line 
format will be accepted as long as the intent is clearly expressed. 
If the vote carries an empty subject line the message 
body will be inspected for confirmation of voting intent.
 
VOTES SENT AS REPLIES TO THE CFV:
 
Votes sent as replies to the originator of this CFV 
(ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu) will be counted as 
"yes" or "no" votes according to their subject line or message body.
 
AMBIGUOUS VOTE RESOLUTION:
 
Ambigous votes -- those whose subject lines do not make clear the 
voter's intent, or whose subject line clashes with the vote address --  
will, where possible,  be returned to their senders for clarification. 
Ambiguous votes which cannot be returned to their senders or for 
which no clarification is provided will be identified in vote 
mass acknowledgements and in the final vote tally.
 
VOTING PERIOD:
 
Votes will be collected for a period beginning when this CFV 
is approved for publication in news.announce.newgroups and 
ending at 23:59 GMT on Sunday,  January 10, 1993. Votes 
arriving at the voting address after the expiration of the 
voting will be discarded.
 
You may change your vote at any time before the expiry of the 
voting period by simply submitting a new vote. The last vote 
to be cast by any given individual  before the end of the voting 
period will be counted; earlier votes cast by that individual will be 
discarded.
 
And remember, it's one person, one vote.
 
Thank You All
-- 
Alec Ellsworth                           "Medicine will cure death      
Marquette University Dental School        and government will repeal 
ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu              taxes before Steve will fail."
                                                          --Guy Kawasaki 

From ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu Sun Dec 20 09:59:51 1992
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu (Alec Ellsworth)
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,sci.med
Subject: 2nd CFV: sci.med.dentistry
Followup-To: poster
Date: 18 Dec 1992 20:59:33 -0500
Organization: Marquette University - Department MSCS
Lines: 77
Sender: tale@news.UU.NET
Approved: tale@uunet.uu.net
Message-ID: <1gtvm5INN439@news.UU.NET>
NNTP-Posting-Host: news.uu.net
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:3075 news.groups:63539 sci.med:50798

This is a second formal Call For Votes for the formation of a new Usenet 
newsgroup, sci.med.dentistry, as described below. The RFD for this 
group was originated by Alec Ellsworth  (ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu) 
and was posted in news.announce.newgroups on November 10, 1992. 
Discussion in news.groups and sci.med has been generally favorable 
(although light) except for the originally proposed name sci.dent. 
No objections to the creation of the group or its charter have 
been expressed.
 
The newsgroup will be constituted as follows:
 
sci.med.dentistry                Discussion of dentally related topics.
(unmoderated)

 
CHARTER: 
 
The main objective  of sci.med.dentistry is to allow internet users 
(dentists, dental students, researchers, and patients) the opportunity
to discuss Dentistry and any dental related issues. Included in 
this forum would be the issues of dental research, patient/dentist
interaction, new technology in dentistry, infection control
discussion/answers, legislation issues in dentistry, question
and answers, medico-legal issues, and any other related dentistry
discussion.
 
VOTE ADDRESS:
 
All votes for or against the formation of this newsgroup 
sci.med.dentistry should be sent to ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu.
 
VOTE FORMAT:
 
Votes should carry a subject line confirming the voter's intent, 
either "I vote yes on sci.med.dentistry" or "I vote no on 
sci.med.dentistry" as appropriate.  Variations in subject line 
format will be accepted as long as the intent is clearly expressed. 
If the vote carries an empty subject line the message 
body will be inspected for confirmation of voting intent.
 
VOTES SENT AS REPLIES TO THE CFV:
 
Votes sent as replies to the originator of this CFV 
(ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu) will be counted as 
"yes" or "no" votes according to their subject line or message body.
 
AMBIGUOUS VOTE RESOLUTION:
 
Ambigous votes -- those whose subject lines do not make clear the 
voter's intent, or whose subject line clashes with the vote address --  
will, where possible,  be returned to their senders for clarification. 
Ambiguous votes which cannot be returned to their senders or for 
which no clarification is provided will be identified in vote 
mass acknowledgements and in the final vote tally.
 
VOTING PERIOD:
 
Votes will be collected for a period beginning when this CFV 
is approved for publication in news.announce.newgroups and 
ending at 23:59 GMT on Sunday,  January 10, 1993. Votes 
arriving at the voting address after the expiration of the 
voting will be discarded.
 
You may change your vote at any time before the expiry of the 
voting period by simply submitting a new vote. The last vote 
to be cast by any given individual  before the end of the voting 
period will be counted; earlier votes cast by that individual will be 
discarded.
 
And remember, it's one person, one vote.
 
Thank You All
-- 
Alec Ellsworth                           "Medicine will cure death     
Marquette University Dental School        and government will repeal 
ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu              taxes before Steve will fail."
NeRD #3859                                               --Guy Kawasaki 

From ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu Wed Jan  6 21:02:08 1993
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu (Alec Ellsworth)
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,sci.med
Subject: 3rd CFV: sci.med.dentistry
Followup-To: poster
Date: 6 Jan 1993 19:35:00 -0500
Organization: Marquette University - Department MSCS
Lines: 77
Sender: tale@rodan.UU.NET
Approved: tale@uunet.uu.net
Message-ID: <1iftrkINN787@rodan.UU.NET>
NNTP-Posting-Host: rodan.uu.net
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:3089 news.groups:63956 sci.med:51497

This is a third formal Call For Votes for the formation of a new Usenet
newsgroup, sci.med.dentistry, as described below. The RFD for this
group was originated by Alec Ellsworth  (ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu)
and was posted in news.announce.newgroups on November 10, 1992.
Discussion in news.groups and sci.med has been generally favorable
(although light) except for the originally proposed name sci.dent.
No objections to the creation of the group or its charter have
been expressed.

The newsgroup will be constituted as follows:

sci.med.dentistry                Discussion of dentally related topics
(unmoderated)


CHARTER:

The main objective  of sci.med.dentistry is to allow internet users
(dentists, dental students, researchers, and patients) the opportunity
to discuss Dentistry and any dental related issues. Included in
this forum would be the issues of dental research, patient/dentist
interaction, new technology in dentistry, infection control
discussion/answers, legislation issues in dentistry, question
and answers, medico-legal issues, and any other related dentistry
discussion.

VOTE ADDRESS:

All votes for or against the formation of this newsgroup
sci.med.dentistry should be sent to ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu.

VOTE FORMAT:

Votes should carry a subject line confirming the voter's intent,
either "I vote yes on sci.med.dentistry" or "I vote no on
sci.med.dentistry" as appropriate.  Variations in subject line
format will be accepted as long as the intent is clearly expressed.
If the vote carries an empty subject line the message
body will be inspected for confirmation of voting intent.

VOTES SENT AS REPLIES TO THE CFV:

Votes sent as replies to the originator of this CFV
(ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu) will be counted as
"yes" or "no" votes according to their subject line or message body.

AMBIGUOUS VOTE RESOLUTION:

Ambigous votes -- those whose subject lines do not make clear the
voter's intent, or whose subject line clashes with the vote address --
will, where possible,  be returned to their senders for clarification.
Ambiguous votes which cannot be returned to their senders or for
which no clarification is provided will be identified in vote
mass acknowledgements and in the final vote tally.

VOTING PERIOD:

Votes will be collected for a period beginning when this CFV
is approved for publication in news.announce.newgroups and
ending at 23:59 GMT on Sunday,  January 10, 1993. Votes
arriving at the voting address after the expiration of the
voting will be discarded.

You may change your vote at any time before the expiry of the
voting period by simply submitting a new vote. The last vote
to be cast by any given individual  before the end of the voting
period will be counted; earlier votes cast by that individual will be
discarded.

And remember, it's one person, one vote.

Thank You All   l
-- 
Alec Ellsworth                           "Medicine will cure death     
Marquette University Dental School        and government will repeal 
ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu              taxes before Steve will fail."
NeRD #3859                                               --Guy Kawasaki 

From ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu Sun Jan 17 14:38:44 1993
Path: uunet!bounce-back
From: ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu (Alec Ellsworth)
Newsgroups: news.announce.newgroups,news.groups,sci.med
Subject: RESULT: sci.med.dentistry passes 118:8
Followup-To: news.groups
Date: 14 Jan 1993 13:28:43 -0500
Organization: Marquette University - Department MSCS
Lines: 148
Sender: tale@rodan.UU.NET
Approved: tale@uunet.uu.net
Message-ID: <1j4bcrINNcq8@rodan.UU.NET>
NNTP-Posting-Host: rodan.uu.net
Xref: uunet news.announce.newgroups:3146 news.groups:64421 sci.med:51904

	      New Group Formation

             Sci.med.dentistry passes 118:8
Here are the results for the vote on sci.med.dentistry which ended
at 23:59 GMT on Jan. 10,1993. 

No votes:
trier@slc6.INS.CWRU.Edu	   (Stephen C. Trier)
noah@cad.gatech.edu   (Noah White)
herzog@ux5.lbl.gov   (Hanan Herzog)
dag@col.hp.com     (David Geiser)
mwj@beta.lanl.gov   (William Johnson)
emcquire@mother.intellection.com   
owens@cookiemonster.cc.buffalo.edu  (Bill Owens)
ejo@kaja.gi.alaska.edu  (Eric J. Olson)

Yes Votes:
martin@xenox.w.open.de  (Martin Koall)
PIETZSCH@IDICL1.IDI.BATTELLE.ORG  (Kevin Pietzsch)
witt@rainbow.nssl.uoknor.edu  (Arthur Witt) 
Fadi.El_Dabaghi@inria.fr  (Fadi El Dabaghi)
kfl@access.digex.com  (Keith F. Lynch)
ANOWAK@dentistry-po.dentistry.uiowa.edu  (Art Nowak)
Keith@baby.pgd.hawaii.edu  (Keith Horton)
king@drums.reasoning.com  (Dick King)
Dewhirst@kuhub.cc.ukans.edu  (Rob Dewhirst)
patth@Panix.Com  (Patt Bromberger)
zcnj01@hou.amoco.com  (Cecil N. Jones)
russ@wpg.com  (Russell Lawrence)
A1::HSIUNG, Deloris J"%MRGATE.autonet@hac2arpa.hac.com  (Deloris J. Hsiung)
Lisa.A.Tedesco@um.cc.umich.edu  (Lisa A. Tedesco)
eli@cisco.com  (Steve Elias)
ta-psc10@cunixa.cc.columbia.edu  (Shan Cheah)
leon@nematic.chem.ubc.ca (Leon ter Beek)
welch@cis.ohio-state.edu  (Arun Welch)
omnell@u.washington.edu  (Karl-Ake Omnell)
vision@iro.umontreal.ca  (Marc Verreault)
ferguson@gidday.enet.dec.com  (James E. Ferguson)
botteron@bu-it.bu.edu  (Carol Botteron)
craigb@sdd.hp.com  (Craig Bosworth)
ECZ5BXW@MVS.OAC.UCLA.EDU   (Brain Warling)
wegmann@aki.en.open.de  (Frank Wegmann)
braden@lincoln.diag.stratus.com (John Braden)
ts@uwasa.fi  (Timo Salmi)
DENJE@ubvms.cc.buffalo.edu  (John Eisner)
wa142@sdcc12.ucsd.edu  (Craig Whitt)
phoffman@holonet.net  (Paul E. Hoffman)
ed@kronos.com  (Ed Baker)
efs@summa4.MV.COM  (Ed Sinamark)
captain@genie.slhs.udel.edu   
brianf@dws2.ateng.az.Honeywell.COM  (Brain Fleischman)
ballt@ucs.orst.edu  (Teresa Ball)
macridis_g@kosmos.wcc.govt.nz  (Gerry Macridis)
jpreisch@magnus.acs.ohio-state.edu  (James W. Preisch)
krista@ihlpf.att.com  (Krista Anderson)
bjperry@BASE.CS.UCLA.EDU  (Brad Perry)
NYEDA@cnsvax.uwec.edu  (David Nye)
rthomson@dsd.es.com  (Rich Thomson)
krishna@iss.nus.sg  (Krishnamoorthy Subrahmanyam)
UJ8F@IBM3090.RZ.UNI-KARLSRUHE.DBP.DE  (Siegfried Schmitt)
dmctigue@magnus.acs.ohio-state.edu  (Dennis McTigue)
shafer@rigel.dfrf.nasa.gov  (Mary Shafer)
macpost@well.sf.ca.us  (Penny Post)
TM0GLK1%NIU.bitnet@UICVM.UIC.EDU  
tima@CFSMO.Honeywell.com  (Timothy D. Aanerud)
mha@baka.ithaca.ny.us  (Mark Anbinder)
AMCAST01@YSUB.YSU.EDU  (Jody Patrick)
sshws@convx1.lerc.nasa.gov  (Herb Schilling)
ANSON.TIC@commlan.safb.af.mil  (Michael Anson)
carl@udwarf.Tymnet.COM  (Carl Baltrunas)
olsenm@ccmail.orst.edu  (Monte B. Olsen)
pdp@ariel.ucs.unimelb.EDU.AU  (Paul Douglas Page)
stevej@ais.org  (Steve Jovanovic)
wiscombe@climate.gsfc.nasa.gov  (Warren Wiscombe)
W.Paul.Lange@um.cc.umich.edu  (Paul Lange)
JVK01%ALBNYDH2.bitnet@UACSC2.ALBANY.EDU
YUK@CU.NIH.GOV
AFWCP@acad2.alaska.edu  (William C. Phillips)
smd@occlusal.rutgers.edu  (Stanley Dunn)
Robert.A.Bragamian@um.cc.umich.edu  (Robert A. Bragamian)
bmartine@uchdciux.seci.uchile.cl  (Dr. Benjamin Martinez R.)
al198723@academ01.mty.itesm.mx  (Eugenio Sanchez)
tongth@studsys.mscs.mu.edu  (Thong Tongth)
U14663@UICVM.UIC.EDU  (Richard Murphy)
vectr00c@vax.csun.edu  (Bob Oberwager)
AJB@RCC.RTI.ORG  
LABBEY@Ruby.VCU.EDU  (L.M. Abbey)
rudolph@cs.unc.edu  (Dave Rudolph)
jackw@drbear.COM  (Jack Wilkinson)
pburch@cmb.bcm.tmc.edu  (Paula Burch)
paul@citr.uq.oz.au  (Paul Cumberworth)
AGFARM01@ULKYVM.LOUISVILLE.EDU  (Allan G. Farman)
goppelt@SCFE.NWC.NAVY.MIL  (Digital Dave)
BPASS@ac.dal.ca
phh@de-montfort.ac.uk  (Paul Hodgkinson)
V5377E@VM.TEMPLE.EDU  (Titus Schleyer)
walker%alishaw@hub.ucsb.edu  (Phillip Walker)
chip@tct.com  (Chip Salzenberg)
EKB8596%TNTECH.bitnet@CUNYVM.CUNY.EDU
LAFORME@sscvax.cis.mcmaster.ca
00hlcaldwell@LEO.BSUVC.BSU.EDU  (Harold Caldwell)
berend@contrast.wlink.nl  (Berend)
rick@ofa123.fidonet.org  (Rick Ellis)
pvroby@u.washington.edu  (Paul Roby)
jw@contrast.wlink.nl  (Jan-Willem Stekelenburg)
nrabinow@itsmail1.hamilton.edu  (Nancy Rabinowitz)
skchen@u.washington.edu  (Curtis Chen)
umt400@ibm.rhrz.uni-bonn.de  (Andreas Schuster)
gero@gkminix.han.de  (Gero Kuhlmann)
G.Yanos%UIC.EDU@UICVM.UIC.EDU    
jgnassi@hstbme.mit.edu  (John Angelo Gnassi) 
phil@wubios.wustl.edu  (J. Phillip Miller)
sander@contrast.wlink.nl  (Sander Davidson)
EUREKA%BRLNCC.BITNET@VTVM2.CC.VT.EDU
johannes.beekhuizen@contrast.wlink.nl  (Johannes Beekhuizen)
lan@cs.bu.edu  (Larry Nathanson)
elliot@well.sf.ca.us  (Elliot Fabric)
heslet@ccit.arizona.edu  (L. Heslet)
MJS174@PSUVM.PSU.EDU  (Matthew Jose Smedle)
kayaalp@seas.smu.edu  (Mehmet M. Kayaalp)
david@stat.com  (David Dodell)
botteron@bu-it.bu.edu  (Carol Botteron)
HOGSTEDT@ae.chalmers.se  (Per Hogstedt)
MJQUINN@pucc.princeton.edu  (Michael Quinn)
uvmark!susan@merk.merk.com  (Susan Todhunter)
herbison@erlang.enet.dec.com   
uday@mv.us.adobe.com  (Uday Kurkure)
jamie@cs.sfu.ca  (Jamie Andrews)
James_S._Bright.wbst129@xerox.com  (James S. Bright)
andy@homebase.vistachrome.com  (Andy Finkelstadt)
rick@crick.ssctr.bcm.tmc.edu  (Richard Miller)
kaminski@netcom.com  (Peter Kaminski)
pjb4288@ultb.isc.rit.edu  (Pete - Toonatic - Boulay)
jduncan@jupiter.nmt.edu  (John Duncan)
ndallen@r-node.gts.org  (Nigel Allen)


Thanks to all who voted. I appreciate your responses and time.

Now let's use this new group to discuss the issues and topics
of dentistry as neede. All participants welcome.

Thank you Netters,
-- 
Alec Ellsworth                           "Medicine will cure death     
Marquette University Dental School        and government will repeal 
ellswort@studsys.mscs.mu.edu              taxes before Steve will fail."
NeRD #3859                                               --Guy Kawasaki 

 
USENET FACT: Lurker
A person who reads/browses newsgroups but does not actively post.