Newsgroup Terms – Auto-cancel bot
A bot that automatically cancels (kills/deletes) messages on Usenet newsgroups that violate certain rules and that way stop their distribution. The internet can be a dangerous place. Some messages on usenet newsgroups are not safe for consumption. Either due to spam issues, legalities, or by the discretion of some ISPs, messages are deleted by these “bots”. Newsgroup moderators often refer to this term for messages that have been removed by the ISPs which in many cases are due to other serious issues such as hidden viruses in otherwise normal looking files. Newsgroup moderators also occasionally put in request for ISPs to have these messages deleted by them.
Back to USENET Terms